We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a divine resort…..an indulgent "home away from home" with the most amazing service!”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #17 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We chose to stay at Komaneka after reading glowing reviews in TripAdvisor - at the time of booking, all 4 of their resorts were actually in the top 6 for Ubud hotels. Initially I was at a loss as to which resort to stay in, but as we were travelling with our two children, and we like to have a private pool villa and 2 separate bedrooms & full bathrooms, we chose the 2 bedroom pool villa at Komaneka Bisma. We actually had the benefit of staying in two of their resorts, because we subsequently moved to the 2 bedroom Bale Daja at Komaneka Tanggayuda for our last two nights. Both resorts are amazing & beautiful in their own unique way.

After reading reviews which talked about the Komaneka family and the benefits of them having four resorts in the Ubud area, I didn't really understand what that meant until we personally experienced it. Staying at one resort means you get to experience the benefits of all, if you so choose. They say that once you stay at one of their resorts, you are part of the "Komaneka family", and whichever resort you go to, you can consider it home. We initially stayed at Bisma for 3 nights, then moved to Tanggayuda for 2 nights, and regularly used the shuttle service to and from their Monkey Forest resort as a base in Ubud town. There is always a hotel shuttle able to drop you within the Ubud area, so the fact that two of the resorts are a little distance from the town centre is never an issue.

The setting of Bisma is simply stunning - the resort itself is incredibly aesthetic, and the tropical jungle backdrop with the constant sound of the flowing river makes you relax instantly. There are meandering pathways which wind their way around the grounds and the outlook over the resort pools or the surrounding countryside from every point was awe inspiring. We met a couple who had stayed at the various Komaneka resorts on 7 separate occasions - they commented that Bisma was their favourite because of the amazing setting which "is instant unwind material" - we couldn't agree more!

Our 2 bedroom villa was beautiful. It consisted of 2 separate pavilions separated by a central courtyard and the pool. One pavilion was single level containing the master suite, and the other pavilion was 2 storey with a huge lounge, dining, kitchen & powder room on the ground floor; whilst the upper floor contained the 2nd bedroom with a large outdoor bathroom. My only critical comments would be that if you have a young family, then you would be better suited opting for a family villa instead (the family villas are 2 storey with both bedrooms within a single pavilion so the children don't feel so separated), and this villa is only appropriate for physically mobile and sober guests - the stairs leading from the villa entrance down to the master suite are extremely steep - you would not want to try them whilst intoxicated! Unfortunately, as may be the case whenever staying in Bali there is a new hotel being constructed next door (construction is less of an issue in Ubud compared to the highly built up areas of Kuta, Legian & Seminyak - but you may still encounter it). As luck would have it, it just so happens that the main construction is situated directly adjacent to the one & only 2 bedroom villa at Bisma. On our first morning we awoke at 8am to the noise of carpentry which was so loud I thought it was on our own villa rooftop. Bisma have actually erected a huge fence which provides excellent visual shielding, however, it doesn't block the noise and this may prove to be an issue for anyone choosing to stay in this villa configuration over the next year. If you have a young family, I would recommend choosing a family villa instead anyway - the floor plan will work better, they are positioned such that construction noise shouldn't be as much of an issue, are more private, and they are cheaper than the 2 bedroom option too. That being said, I would still love to come back and stay in the 2 bedroom villa, but I would wait a year or two until the next door construction is completed.

Our highlight of the Bisma experience was their spa. It is simply the best spa setting we have ever encountered, and we have seen many throughout Asia and around the world. Even my husband who has always been a sceptic was so impressed that he turned my daily treatments into "couples" treatments so he could join in too! The couples treatment rooms are cantilevered over the river with open balconies with comfy lounges and a large spa bath - wonderfully indulgent!! And the therapists are excellent!

The staff at Bisma are AMAZING. We have stayed in fabulous hotel arounds the world with a top level of service, but what Komaneka does is far more than provide good service. The level of personalisation is second to none - from the warm personalised greetings throughout the resort, to the personal menu provided in the villa and at the restaurants advising me which choices would be suitable for my gluten free diet. No detail is overlooked in this stunning resort. More importantly, each greeting or offer of assistance is genuinely and graciously offered. Bisma's Resort Manager, Gengduk, went above & beyond the call of duty to find a solution to a tricky problem of the unacceptable noise levels from the building site next door. All their resorts were close to full occupancy over the Easter break, and as we were travelling with our 2 children and had booked a large villa, the options for relocation were somewhat limited. In what should have been a complete "deal breaker" for which we would have left never to return, Gengduk and his team's gracious hospitality, saved the day and turned adversity into opportunity - they made a huge effort to ensure every other aspect of our stay was perfect and made us feel like truly valued and pampered guests. Ultimately we were moved to the 2 bedroom Bale Daja at Tanggayuda when it became available half way through our stay. And instead, we have vowed to return to both of these wonderful resorts again. We loved the Komaneka experience, and our return visit cannot come soon enough…...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

You definitely get value for money here. Attentive staff, amazing view from a generous sized suite room, and good food and cocktails. At night, the jungle wildlife comes out to sing- truly amazing! Try the cycle tour...we went for two hours with Kasuma on a private tour on mountain bikes through local villages and rice paddies back to Ubud, what an amazing experience. We met happy local villagers, saw amazing scenery and learnt so much from our great tour guide. This hotel has the personal touch.... We are really happy we stayed here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. The best service I've experienced. It's a very romantic place lost amid the Balinese jungle. Special thanks to the staff. Every single person knew my name! The idea with the personal assistant is simply brilliant, they were always happy to help and assist no matter what I asked for. The food is great, the design is unique and authentic. I loved this place! Will definitely come back.
A tip for travelers: Komaneka at Bisma is ideal for romantic holidays or a a honeymoon. Everything oozes romance. The bed is huge!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally great. Perhaps, it's worth taking a villa if you need ultimate privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Really great place to stay - I had a suite room with an amazing view over the forest. Staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to remember your name. Shuttles to town are frequent, and if needed they can drop / pick up from other spots . Would come back again, highly recommended

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank kathdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have spent a great 3 days in the latest hotel of the Komaneka chain. Another great experience . Rooms are spacious with beautifull views. Great restaurant and a lovely pool in the forest. Service can be by times very slow but the staff is super friendly and their smiles tend to win your heart and mind. A great place to stay when you plan to visit Ubud!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guldensporen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After staying here for 3 nights in 2012, we said to ourselves we must comeback to experience this very special place again.
2 years later, we are back at Komaneka Bisa, for 5 nights. We are currently on our 4th night and are compelled to share how wonderful this property truly is.
The service is top notch- the staff are all outstanding, wonderful people who are genuinely happy to see you each time you return. My girlfriend has an allergy to peanuts, and they make this very easy. Each time we sit down to eat, they are aware of the allergy before we even say anything, and ensure everything she eats is prepared nut free and the food is DELICIOUS (a mix of Indonesian and western classics). The breakfast is the best breakfast we have ever had.
Every experience we have had here (dining, spa, cooking classes etc) has exceeded our expectations.
We will absolutely return in the coming years. When you first land in Bali, this is where you want to come to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Can't say enough about this great hotel. The property is absolutely beautiful and the staff are wonderful. On arrival we were asked by our personal assistant if we had any food allegies, of which I do, and from that moment every meal the hotel made for me was made according to my food intollarances. Even at breakfast when I ordered the standard fare from the al a carte breakfast menu I was informed that the hotel kitchen had specially prepared different items for me. Amazing. They also did this for my afternoon tea. The standard rooms at this hotel are more like suites and are very big. A big thank you goes to the resort manager - Gungdek, Made in the restaurant and all their extremely dedicated staff. We will definately be going back in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrspascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,041 reviews
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,097 reviews
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £164 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing