We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Five Star Resort”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #16 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“True Five Star Resort”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at Komaneka for three nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The staff goes above and beyond to accommodate your needs. Rooms are impeccably designed and well kept. Great pool and loungers. Perfect access to Ubud. Local staff, means lots of culture. Manager greeted us and thanked us for staying directly himself. Spa treatments are the best in Ubud! I have no complaints. We also did the day long picnic tour to Lake Bratan and Tanah Lot - long day, but worth the trip to see the surrounding areas and beautiful temples. Also took a cooking class at Komaneka which was Excellent! If you are looking for a home away from home in Ubud to explore the city, exquisite food, beautiful atmosphere - then chose Komaneka. We could walk to/from downtown Ubud if we wanted to...but if you take the shuttle, there is ALWAYS one available.

Room Tip: Standard room with a balcony has all the nice features of the larger villa's excluding the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_Farm_Animals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,661
    164
    36
    11
    2
See reviews for
407
1,056
70
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livigno, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is great, spacious rooms great view on forest great bathtub and romantic as well in front of huge glass overlooking the Balinese forest.
Great staff, good tours provided by them : the three top picnic.
All in all a true great experience: two minor downs. The restaurant is a bit down scaled and "sad" not enough terrace tables and service there a bit lacking. Example morning toast with no butter or jam ( if you do not ask for it) . TV not working as it should in a prime hotel. Internet quite good but you need to login each and every time. Staff very very good once again. All in all a more than positive experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

During our 2 nights stay , we were pleasantly served. Huge and beautiful room overlooked rice paddies and hills, serene surrounding and friendly staffs were my impression during our stay. Huge balcony in front of our room enabled us to just sit, relax, chill at the lounge chair while enjoying the sunrise/ sunset. You can even do yoga there... But one down point is the hotel's food. They definitely need to improve. I would love to come back someday w my fam.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ysunarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Komaneka Bisma is in a perfect location - near the Camphur River with rice terraces and a beautiful Balinese forest to gaze out on. It was also only a short walk into Ubud centre with the option of a shuttle bus into town. The staff were amazingly attentive and thoughtful and each day on our return from an adventure greeted us warmly - it was like coming home. We stayed in the standard Bisma Suite which was spacious and well appointed with a large balcony overlooking the infinity pool, the rice terraces and the forest. Breakfast was included with many choices including Balinese, American and healthy choices. In the afternoon all guest could participate in a lovely afternoon tea - also included. I fell in love with this place and would return again to enjoy the peace, the lovely accommodation and the incredibly warm and attentive staff . Thank you to everyone there who made our holiday special

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cartref52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 5 nights at Komaneka at Bisma - what an experience - from the service of the staff to the room itself to the setting. We were in the villa and it was really incredible. The private pool is long and deep unlike most plunge pools. The view of the jungle and rice patties is great. We had some issues upon check in, but the manager and front desk staff did everything possible to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The manager seemed genuinely concerned about us. We also visited the spa - I have to say, I've been to many many spas around the world and this one must be the most beautiful spa I've seen - its set above the river and you can hear it as you are getting your treatment. We loved it so much, we went back 3 times during our 6 day stay. I cannot say enough about this resort - highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on on the right side of the hotel that is not on the hotel grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuliya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Before reviewing just a quick word.. I ‘ve stayed in all kinds of place over the years. From dirty old shacks with no showers/toilets to five stars hotels so of course, when I review a place, I don’t do it according to the same standard each time. Depends on many factors.. Some places the offer is quite low so you are happy with something ok. In this present case, the offer in Ubud in terms of accomodations is huge. Lots of choices. So when I select a 300$ + a night hotel, reviewing standards and expectations are at their highest.

So after a few days in Seminyak here we are, arriving in Ubud (lot better than south Bali btw). It is always hard to please everybody in terms of accomodations (wife, parents, kids..) so after spending some time on trip advisor I selected the KOMENAKA Bisma (one of the four branches in town) because of all its great reviews..

The goods:
- Needless to say, great service and staff. The standard is high in Bali.
- Very nice rooms. Great view from the balcony on the jungle and rice fields ( in fact the hotel’s own rice fields which is more like a themed garden. Anyway it looks nice) . Each room includes a small living room area, big bathroom, separate toilet and a “wardrobe room”.
- Very nice lobby. Minimalist and zen. The lobby is on top floor and you have a nice view from it.
- Nice swimming pool that merge well with the environment.
- Location: At first it appears a bit lost in a small lane but in fact it is still very close to city center. 5 mins with the shuttle. And you get a great scenery that you wouldn’t have if you were in some busier area of Ubud.

The bads:
- Beside the rooms and the lobby, the rest of the hotel amenities are not as nice, especially the restaurant (1st and second level). It looks like a 3 star hotel cafeteria. I am not an architect but I think there is a problem with the setup of the hotel. As a customer you should only see some parts of the hotel. Like you shouldn’t have to pass next to the kitchen door to go to the swimming pool. Lots of stairs and ramps to go to the swimming pool so good luck with the baby trolley
- As much as I like the dim lights and candles, the hotel is far too dark, including the rooms. I don’t ask for Broadway, but I am sure it can be brighter.
- Food: We only took breakfasts in the hotel but, as I usually skip lunch when I travel, I care about a good breakfast.. I can’t say it was bad but it is not 5 stars standard. You get to choose between a few formulas. (American/indonesian/ continental..). No buffet. I like to make my own breakfast, Eggs, cold cuts, cheese, pastries... I think this is the main difference between this kind of hotels and the big names (Shangri-La, Four Seasons, Mandarin....) In those, foodwise It is the land of plenty. Lots of waste I guess, but you get what you paid for. Same for the afternoon tea.. Only 2 kind of cakes and one salted dish .. I remember some afternoon teas during previous trips after which I could skip diner. Please don’t make it look that you are under tight budget control and you can’t afford to waste anything especially with those rates for the room.
- About the nice pool: Well it is more of a case of bad luck but we could only enjoy the nice swimming pool half a day. For the rest of the stay it was under reparation and they opened the lower swimming pool instead but it is not as nice.
- TV: only a few channels with half of them not clear.. Once again I don’t go to Bali to stay in front of the TV in my hotel room but I am talking about standard.. If a smaller, cheaper place can have cable with 50 channels (HBO..) why can’t they ? Doesn’t seem logic..

In Conclusion I enjoyed my stay in the hotel but not enough not to consider another place if I had to go back in Ubud.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yac o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It's rare I return to a hotel or resort more than twice. Returning to Komaneka Bisma for the fourth time was a real treat and it is no fluke that I have come here so many times (this was actually the second time in three months!)

When I talk about this place, friends often ask me "don't you get bored going back to the same place?" or "why not try someplace new?" The answer is easy: "I love this resort, the service here is excellent, they practically know me by name now, why would I go anywhere else in Ubud?!"

The hotel staff practically knows me by name now and were so happy -and surprised!- to see me again. It's little touches like this that make the stay and keep me coming back. Staff and service here is simply fantastic and they all are willing to go the extra mile to make your stay great.

There's not much more I can write in this review that I haven't said in my others. The setting, the pool, the spa, the rooms, the food, all is simply fantastic. I look forward to visit number 5, hopefully sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: I always try to get on the top floor to get a better view of the vista/valley the property sits in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQ452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,116 reviews
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 198 in Ubud
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 198 in Ubud
756 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 198 in Ubud
1,915 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing