We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 110!”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #12 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Room 110!”
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed at both Komaneka Tangayudda and Bisma. Both are nice properties but I would highly suggest Bisma if you are deciding between the two. Better location and much nicer grounds. We had a pool suite in Tangayudda and Room 110 in Bisma which is at the very end and has excellent solitude. We were torn every time we left the room, it is outstanding. Wonderful view, long pool and a fabulous indoor/outdoor concept. Definitely worth a spluge. What I did notice what that a spa visit is twice the cost at Bisma and was the most expensive we came across in Bali at 95 USD for an hour massage. Others average 45. Stunning pool at Bisma, but the room pool is too enticing to leave. Breakfast is good, not excellent. Worth noting the excellent art at these hotels. We also did the day tour to the temples and volcano and this is very worth while.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,624
    157
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
398
1,030
65
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Spent three nights in Ubud at the Komaneka Bisma which strangely appears in the specialty lodging category instead of hotel. Since I was not conviced by The FS and the Chedi rates (750 + 20% taxes) for similar options (pool villa with a view) we opted ffor this relatively new hotel (12 months old) 5 mn from Ubud. If you expect sheer luxury you will be disappointed since the Komaneka at bisma falls in the boutique inferior category. The difference ? material quality in the furniture and all the slight detail we are used to in top chain such as four seasons, peninsula or mandarin (altough our stay at the legian from GHM hotels will later prove otherwise). That being said this hotel is a very good option. The hotel in itself is in a very good setting vith a pretty view. Pool villa is very nice. staff ultra friendly . we were so at ease in we add another day to our 2 days stay. But still the hotel fell short on food (we only tried breakfast and room service but it was enough to conlude it was very average) and ambiance (a little too quiet for us). The gyme is a joke too. to sum up, still a solid 13 to 14 out of 20 (I rate FS in general between 17 to 18). A few tips while in Ubud. Restaurant Mozaic, althoug a little expensive (by indonesian standard is a must try if you're foodie. and also a simple lunch in a place 15 minutes driving from Ubud over the rice paddies in the mountain.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Everything about the hotel: staff, grounds, services, rooms, attention to detail.. everything exceed expectations. We only did 2 nights at Komaneka on Jl. Bisma... wish we could have stayed so many more nights! The hotel & staff are absolutely amazing. Already wishing we were back at the Komaneka Bisma.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We had stayed for a few nights at Komaneka MF, but they were full and could not fulfill our request to stay on, no matter how much we pleaded. They kindly offered to show us their Bisma hotel located just ten minutes away by car. I was sold as soon as we stepped into the elegant lobby. The common areas are serenely beautiful but not fussy. The whole property overlooks a lovely palm forest with a river below.

Our room was as large as an apartment in my hometown, with a massive balcony overlooking the palm forest, rice paddies and moonrise. The balcony has two nice loungers (everything with fresh linens) and dining set.

The room has a large and comfortable sitting area with flat panel TV, apple TV music and movies, mini bar and all day cookies. There is a nice desk area where you can use your laptop on the free wireless, while watching TV, and your partner can lounge on the sofa. The bathroom is everything you expect from a swish hotel, and then some. Very spacious and SPOTLESSLY clean.

We did not partake of the SPA services but did have a look and I must say this is the most gorgeous spa I've seen.... three sided rooms with the open side revealing gardens with rock walls and waterfall... heavenly (if a bit of a premium price).

The resort is relatively quiet. One minor drawback was a lack of other people around. On the one hand, we almost always had the lovely pool to ourselves which was a joy, but on the other hand, the great lobby bar would be a bit more fun with some people to meet. For sure the rooms are so nice, you don't need to leave them. but, if you are looking for a party scene this will not be for you, unless you are bringing your whole party with you. There is a beautiful wedding chapel and if you are bringing a party with you, this hotel would make you a perfect wedding, I have no doubt.

The greatest thing (aside from the staff) is the magnificent infinity pool waiting for you. So perfect in it's setting and the harmonious way it blends into the surroundings... you can't see it at all. Believe me, though you can feel all your worries melt away the minute you enter! Fabulous.

The really greatest thing here is the staff. You will be treated like family, only royal family here! So happy, proud, and helpful, you will feel pampered. One day we told our breakfast server that we missed the great French Toast they had at the other hotel, and the next day they made it for us for breakfast... how sweet. We intended to stay 3, maybe 4 nights, and we ended up staying a week. We simply could not leave. And still, I nearly cried when we left. The last morning, I watched a pool attendant spend maybe 40 minutes applying perfectly clean fresh linens on a relatively small number of lounge chairs at the pool. They were immaculate... he applied a rolled towel at the foot of each lounger, and finally got down to that level to make sure they were all aligned in perfect harmony. The care and pride he took in this simple task really personified the level of care and personal attention the staff here take. You won't soon find this type of place at anything near this price.

FABULOUS! GO!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissusKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

This hotel was just great. The service definitely met our requirements in terms of service, location, comfort and accomodation. The staff was so kind and always very helpful. They always advised so good restaurants around and we were never disappointed. I recommend this hotel by far.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojolondon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

- Beautiful resort
- Fantastic hospitality, great staff
- Breathtaking views
- So comfortable & classy rooms, huge with amazing views
- Top quality service
- Beautiful pool

I can't find enough words to recommend this resort. It's heaven.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelleralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

After staying at the lovely Komaneka at Monkey Forest road we were also very lucky to spend a night in a pool villa at Komaneka at Bisma. The view takes your breath away, not a building in sight just palm trees and a beautiful valley. The villa and pool are enormous and very stylish with a large bedroom, separate dressing room and big bathroom with a deep bath and indoor and out door showers. Flowers on the bed and in the bath to welcome us and lovely touches such as a note on of welcome on the bed and bedtime stories each night at turn down. The food is very good and beautifully presented and the main pool is spectacular. Once again it is the staff who really make this hotel exceptional, from the Resort Manager Mr Swabawa and the Room Divison Manager Mr Budiarta, the restaurant, room and spa attendants, to the gardeners, everyone was welcoming and out to make our stay so enjoyable. We used the shuttle once but it is such a nice stroll through the rice rice fields we walked back from the centre of Ubud. We had booked to stay at Maya in a garden villa for 2 nights but only stayed one (villa had a busy, noisy road behind it and was a small dark not well maintained room), and moved back to Bisma and were again welcomed as if it were our first night - flowers on the bed etc. We have stayed in a wide range of accommodation during our 3 trips to Ubud and Komaneka at Bisma and Monkey Forest are our favourite. The Wedding Chapel and reception areas are amazing as are the gardens surrounding the Hotel. Stunning location, stylish Hotel, great staff and service sum it up

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing