We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #15 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Splendid place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed at Komaneka Bisma for 5 nights, having in mind a quiet, restful holiday.
We would have loved to stay in one of the villa with pool, but none were available so we booked a suite; the room was spacious with a lovely lounge area, the bathroom was great with a stand alone bath and separate shower; and the balcony offered quiet views of the distant jungle and small rice fields.
We arrived at night, the airport pick up was perfect, we were handed a refreshing towel and a drink;
it was lovely to walk into a clean room, candle lit outdoor area, fresh petals on our bed, and clean linen.
(the room was cleaned twice daily, which we thought was great)

The swimming pool area is a great spot to retire after a morning of walking around, it was so fantastic we spent every afternoon swimming, enjoying a few drinks and the peace.

I must agree with other travellers that the restaurant is not brilliant, and we found the wine list a little sad and expensive.
And yes, the hotel is quiet ... which is exactly what we loved about it !!!
It all depends what you are looking for, and in any case there is plenty to do in town, which is very close by;
Breakfast was great, and there is plenty to choose from on the menu; we enjoyed fresh fruit platters every morning; the staff is very friendly, even over friendly at times...

On our last day, our flight back home was scheduled very late and hotel staff allowed us to stay to enjoy the pool after check-out, and before leaving for the airport, they even let us use a room to get changed. Our driver was very good, and very polite.
Thank you for making our holiday perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,591
    153
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
390
1,009
64
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed at Komaneka Bisma for 6 days and really, this must be the ideal spot in Ubud - the hotel sits beautifully and quietly away from the busy-ness of central Ubud; and yet the location is such strategic that within a short walk, you find yourselves along Jl Raya Ubud. Better still, the good people at Bisma would drive you to most parts of Ubud upon prior arrangements.

The rooms are well-equipped even with an Apple TV jam-packed with movies & music of all genres - that's if you'd prefer a quiet day to recuperate from the sunburn/walking or just want to stay in (they'll bring breakfast and afternoon tea to your room!). Strange to say this but staying in for a day is surprisingly pleasant as there's so much to enjoy just within the property itself - the pools, the spa, the gym (yoga mats welcoming you), the library which is pretty well-stocked with art/design books, and the great views from the rooms.

Here are some pictures (SPOILER ALERT!!) http://www.flickr.com/photos/udonhunter/sets/72157622231180633/ for the truly risk-aversed. Otherwise, just go ahead and make the booking - you won't be disappointed.

P.S. No, I wasn't paid to write this. Instead I felt compelled to write after being so well taken care of during our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank udonhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

I have just checked out and am writing from the Malaysia airport lounge. I arrived on the 11th of September to the 15th.This hotel oozes charm is extremely sophisticated and elegant. Position wise its suberb, not in the hustle and bustle of Ubud. A mere three to five minute drive. Should you care to walk ten to fifteen minutes will do and you will pass charming rice fields.

Design wise this establishment is superb. Kudus to the owners. The staff are extremely helpful and consistently go out their way. The word cannot is not part of their vocabulary. Always smiling and eager to please. The rooms are extremely spacious and includes a lounge, separate toilet, huge bathroom and walk in closet and all the latest gadgets. The verandah is spacious and comfortable with views to die for.

In the evening candles are lit all over the resort including your veranda. With only 42 rooms it has a wonderful feeling of exclusivity.

The spa treatments were the best i have ever had well done .

This resort is definitely for honeymooners, romantics , and discerning clientel.

In my opinion an area to be improved is the afternoon tea. I found the offering bland and boring. A butler service is something to think about.

Would i come again, most definitely. This is my hotel of choice for Ubud. In fact i am planning another business trip in April. I reckon i going buy shares in this hotel. I can see a good oportunity here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 04-03-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed at both Komaneka Tangayudda and Bisma. Both are nice properties but I would highly suggest Bisma if you are deciding between the two. Better location and much nicer grounds. We had a pool suite in Tangayudda and Room 110 in Bisma which is at the very end and has excellent solitude. We were torn every time we left the room, it is outstanding. Wonderful view, long pool and a fabulous indoor/outdoor concept. Definitely worth a spluge. What I did notice what that a spa visit is twice the cost at Bisma and was the most expensive we came across in Bali at 95 USD for an hour massage. Others average 45. Stunning pool at Bisma, but the room pool is too enticing to leave. Breakfast is good, not excellent. Worth noting the excellent art at these hotels. We also did the day tour to the temples and volcano and this is very worth while.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Spent three nights in Ubud at the Komaneka Bisma which strangely appears in the specialty lodging category instead of hotel. Since I was not conviced by The FS and the Chedi rates (750 + 20% taxes) for similar options (pool villa with a view) we opted ffor this relatively new hotel (12 months old) 5 mn from Ubud. If you expect sheer luxury you will be disappointed since the Komaneka at bisma falls in the boutique inferior category. The difference ? material quality in the furniture and all the slight detail we are used to in top chain such as four seasons, peninsula or mandarin (altough our stay at the legian from GHM hotels will later prove otherwise). That being said this hotel is a very good option. The hotel in itself is in a very good setting vith a pretty view. Pool villa is very nice. staff ultra friendly . we were so at ease in we add another day to our 2 days stay. But still the hotel fell short on food (we only tried breakfast and room service but it was enough to conlude it was very average) and ambiance (a little too quiet for us). The gyme is a joke too. to sum up, still a solid 13 to 14 out of 20 (I rate FS in general between 17 to 18). A few tips while in Ubud. Restaurant Mozaic, althoug a little expensive (by indonesian standard is a must try if you're foodie. and also a simple lunch in a place 15 minutes driving from Ubud over the rice paddies in the mountain.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Everything about the hotel: staff, grounds, services, rooms, attention to detail.. everything exceed expectations. We only did 2 nights at Komaneka on Jl. Bisma... wish we could have stayed so many more nights! The hotel & staff are absolutely amazing. Already wishing we were back at the Komaneka Bisma.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

We had stayed for a few nights at Komaneka MF, but they were full and could not fulfill our request to stay on, no matter how much we pleaded. They kindly offered to show us their Bisma hotel located just ten minutes away by car. I was sold as soon as we stepped into the elegant lobby. The common areas are serenely beautiful but not fussy. The whole property overlooks a lovely palm forest with a river below.

Our room was as large as an apartment in my hometown, with a massive balcony overlooking the palm forest, rice paddies and moonrise. The balcony has two nice loungers (everything with fresh linens) and dining set.

The room has a large and comfortable sitting area with flat panel TV, apple TV music and movies, mini bar and all day cookies. There is a nice desk area where you can use your laptop on the free wireless, while watching TV, and your partner can lounge on the sofa. The bathroom is everything you expect from a swish hotel, and then some. Very spacious and SPOTLESSLY clean.

We did not partake of the SPA services but did have a look and I must say this is the most gorgeous spa I've seen.... three sided rooms with the open side revealing gardens with rock walls and waterfall... heavenly (if a bit of a premium price).

The resort is relatively quiet. One minor drawback was a lack of other people around. On the one hand, we almost always had the lovely pool to ourselves which was a joy, but on the other hand, the great lobby bar would be a bit more fun with some people to meet. For sure the rooms are so nice, you don't need to leave them. but, if you are looking for a party scene this will not be for you, unless you are bringing your whole party with you. There is a beautiful wedding chapel and if you are bringing a party with you, this hotel would make you a perfect wedding, I have no doubt.

The greatest thing (aside from the staff) is the magnificent infinity pool waiting for you. So perfect in it's setting and the harmonious way it blends into the surroundings... you can't see it at all. Believe me, though you can feel all your worries melt away the minute you enter! Fabulous.

The really greatest thing here is the staff. You will be treated like family, only royal family here! So happy, proud, and helpful, you will feel pampered. One day we told our breakfast server that we missed the great French Toast they had at the other hotel, and the next day they made it for us for breakfast... how sweet. We intended to stay 3, maybe 4 nights, and we ended up staying a week. We simply could not leave. And still, I nearly cried when we left. The last morning, I watched a pool attendant spend maybe 40 minutes applying perfectly clean fresh linens on a relatively small number of lounge chairs at the pool. They were immaculate... he applied a rolled towel at the foot of each lounger, and finally got down to that level to make sure they were all aligned in perfect harmony. The care and pride he took in this simple task really personified the level of care and personal attention the staff here take. You won't soon find this type of place at anything near this price.

FABULOUS! GO!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissusKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing