We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, even lovelier staff”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #12 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
1 review
“Lovely place, even lovelier staff”
Reviewed 2 March 2010

My husband and I recently spent a week in one of the villas at Komaneka Bisma. I was overwhelmed at the physical beauty of the place, from the spacious layout with amazing views to the world class art everywhere. Our villa was stunning with attention paid to every detail, spacious and comfortable. The staff was amazing; I have never experienced such a level of individual attention, all done with a smile, simply extraordinary. I think of my private "tree house" at Komaneka and just wish I could go back tomorrow. The restaurant is very good as well, and the breakfast and afternoon tea outstanding. This place is truly a gem.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atpboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,641
    158
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
399
1,045
66
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
greece,iceland,US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

My review of this hotel is made is just after I had finish to post the review of Komaneka Tangada. The Komaneka at bisma st is much better comphared with our terrible experience on the 1st night.
The hotel was very clean (because of they still pretty new?) , the pool villa very relaxing with more than 10 meters in length private pool. And it was a very healthy resort where everyseen were green, fresh, watering and nature purely. The rice field with soft lantern lighted every evening, very romantic.

My friend who stay at Alam Sari also say the same as mine. I invite them to have dinner at my last night. The F&B Manager , MR BAGUS makes our diner was wonderful and much enjoyable.

matu susma

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkgkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petronas
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2010

this is my first time to Bali, after some mates telling me how beautiful and excited the island of God is. from recommendation of Tripadvisor, I found this hotel and try to reserve the room for 3 nights. the price is quite expensive but it's worth with what we have, see, experience.
I spoke with the hotel's manager, Swambawa and I agree with him that the key point of this successful resort is about the staff and services they provide to all entire guests. It is true that the design, lay out or materials of building can be copied-paste but not for the services. The service is about the personal touch. keep up a good personalize service, Mr Swambawa!
the room is elegant , spacious and we can see all view from any side of the room , even from the bathroom. amazing! everywhere you will see the artwork, a fine art collection owned by the owner who running the gallery as well in their first hotel in monkey forest road.
the breakfast : excellent.... many choices , i like the healthy breakfast, very special and good in taste. every morning i had a different kind of breakfast.
other positive point: shuttle service is free and very flexible, afternoon tea with sweetest is great , make up room twice a day, free wifi all entire the resort ( and we can borrow a notebook from them by free!), any many more
a bit minor point is about the IDD call, they have very limited access but the staff in front desk are love to help reminding you if the line is free.

thanks to Mr Swambawa, juli in front desk and yoga, desak and nengah (spa)
will go back to komaneka at bisma certainly

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARTandME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the property and added another night at the end of our trip so we could end our stay in paradise perfectly! The property is a wonder all by itself - beautiful, amazing art, a lobby that is spectacular and the staff that is attentive, remembers your name from beginning to end and each one is gracious and wants to give you the best service they can.
Our room was the lowest category - all are suites- with a living room, bedroom, great bath with free-standing tub and large shower and plenty of closet space.
They have iTV, so you have a full range of music, movies and entertainment on a flat screen TV. The patio is very large with 2 chaise lounges and a table and chairs. You could just sit on your patio and gaze at the view and spectacular sunsets for the day.
Their infinity pool is wonderful and the spa is an oasis of its own.
The spa has a couples treatment room and both times we had services, we had wonderful people bathing our feet, etc. In that room you overlook a river running just below the rooms, so you have the sounds of water, the birds singing and beautiful gamalon music playing in the background - sensory heaven!
The breakfast that is included with the room was elaborate and filling - you have a choice from many fresh fruits, freshly baked banana bread, eggs, Indonesian breakfast - many choices. The afternoon tea is simple with balinese cakes and tea and fresh fruit picked from the trees on the property.
The staff is incredible and will drive you anywhere you want to go for just a tip. If you go to a restaurant, they will call Komaneka when you are ready and you will be picked up in a few minutes. Obviously we had a great trip - whether you want quiet, a lot of activities, romance, spa treatments or a balance of all, Komaneka was the perfect place for us to have our first vacation in 6 years. If you are in this part of the world, definitely splurge here! It is worth every penny and will give you great memories for years to come!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msfrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlaanderen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Even though this hotel looked a bit “modern” and “contemporary” to my taste, I booked here after reading the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor. Boy was I glad I did; the friendly and welcoming atmosphere is unparalleled, the service is so good and so honest that it made me feel almost embarrassed at times. Nothing is too much asked, in fact most of the time you don’t get the chance to ask; the staff must have a sixth sense to guess what you want at any moment without being the slightest intrusive. Everybody seems to be genuinely interested in your wellbeing. The room, bathroom, and balcony were very big and comfortable (if you find one free and you have a bit of extra cash get one of the villa’s; they really, really nice and cozy), spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The gardens (part of them are a real working rice field complete with a very friendly farmer and his wife) are very spectacular, very romantic. The Spa is exquisitely luxurious.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Komaneka at Bisma is by far the best hotel we ever stayed in so far. If you are looking for a breathtaking view, a peacefull scenary, beautifull accomodation and young dedicated staff with true kindness who bend over backwards to make you feel at home, you should definately visit Komaneka at Bisma.

Room: the rooms are beautifull decorated and huge (88m2) and all have a wonderfull view at the beautifull (hotel owned) sawa and jungle. The rooms have Apple tv which wide selection of movies and music.
The bathroom has a big shower and seperate free standing bathtub and seperate (to be closed) toilet and walk-in closset. You also find a little sofa and desk. Free WiFi connection in the room. Nice bathfoam, hairshampoo, conditionar and bodylotion. Small hairdryer is also available. The rooms are cleaned twice a day.

Balcony: the balcony is also 11 meters wide and about 3 meters deep. It has a diningtabele and to sunbeds on the terras. Every night the candles are lit by the staff.

The Komaneka provides pyjamas every evening, bathropes, straw hats (man and woman), slippers, and umbrella's. There is a lot of attention for details.

Restaurant: we ate in the restaurant several times and we liked most of the dishes very much. But although the hotel is just out of the centre of Ubud, it's still very well possible to eat out. The staff is allways helpfull to take you were you want to go and pick you up again. We ate at Cafe des Artistes a few times. It's just down the road of where the hotel is. (10 minutes walking).

Because the hotel is not in the centre of Ubud it's really quiet. There is no traffic noice. You only hear the birds, water (river), gekko's, frogs etc. etc. In the morning when it was still pleasant to walk I used to walk into Ubud in 15 minutes to the market.

Spa: we twice had the Traditional Balinese Massage (1 HR). It's not cheap (compared to what you pay in local spa's) but we think it's worth it. If you plan to take this massage make sure you have the time because the total treatment takes about 1,5 - 2 hours. We enjoyed it very much. The location of the spa is just beautifull, close to the river and waterfall.

The staff of Komaneka is mainly young people who sometimes still miss some experience but for us that never was a problem. They all really tried and did their best!
Everybody was very friendly and really interested in us. They really made us feel at home.

There is so much more to tell about this hotel but we don' t want to spoil the surprise. So just go there and check it out yourself!!!

We stayed in Komaneka at Bisma for 3 nights before we left for Seminyak.
After arriving in Seminyak and walking around over there we decided to go back to Komaneka at Bisma the same evening. Our room unfortunately wasn't available anymore but the staff arranged a just as nice room for us on the same floor (4th floor) and we stayed for 4 more nights.

We want to thank everybody at Komaneka at Bisma for making our stay the best!
Special thanks to: Mr. Swabawa, Mr Bagus, Wisnawa, Indradewi, Putra, Ketut, Dika and Sitiari.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte-Ramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We went to Bali for our honey moon and we put 2 nights at Komaneka at Bisma. It was an absolutely lovely and restful place, one of the best resorts that we had ever been! We were fully satisfied from the villa room, the pool, the view, breakfast, shuttle service and staff. The atmosphere was great, e.g. having breakfast at the private villa pool side, as well as resting, reading at the sofa bed and surrounded by the sound of waterfall from the rainforest. Warm touch for the night too where they light up the candles at the pool side. Staff were very friendly and attentive, from the managers to the cleaners, we were overwhelmed. Location is good, which is about 15 min walk distance to the town. On the other hand, shuttle service is also provided till late hour.

Strongly recommend the private villa of this resort to the couples, especially those who go there for honey moon. We are looking forward to return to the resort perhaps for anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chongcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,856 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.1 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 198 in Ubud
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing