We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing hotel”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #13 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“an amazing hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

March 2011 - Was booked at Komaneka at Monkey forest for 3 nights 3rd-6th march and upon our arrival were told that due to Nyepi day we would be upgraded to Komaneka at Bisma as its a bigger facility - better for spending the whole day at the hotel (Nyepi Day).

When we were transferred to Bisma - albeit along a slighty bumpy gravel road - we arrived at the most amazing hotel I have ever seen. WOW!.

As soon as you step into the lobby, you know you are about to stay somwhere pretty remarkable.

The room (a Suite room) was very spacious and beautifully furnished. We had twin beds as requested but i believe other suites have a king bed. There is a living room, bedroom (which can be separated by curtains if one so desires), a huge bathroom incl rain shower and the biggest bathtub i have ever laid eyes on, a separate toilet, a luggage room (perfect for storing away your luggage, Safe included) and a gorgeous balcony incl sunbeds plus table and chairs should you wish you dine on your balcony.

The staff are all lovely and always have a smile and seem to have an amazing memory when it comes to names.

we ate breakfast at the hotel each day - one can pick anything from quite an extensive list including freshly squeezed juices of your choice!

Dinner - one night, room service. Food was delicious and mains and desserts arrived separate as requested by us.

Hourly shuttle is also provided for transport into town.

I would highly recommend the Komaneka at Bisma for a stay in Ubud and Hope to stay there again one day.

The only drawback i can see which would turn some travellers away may be the bumpy unsealed road - but hey whats a few minutes on a bumpy road when you are staying somewhere that resembles paradise??

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_8422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,642
    158
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
399
1,046
66
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
279 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This Hotel is tucked away off an unpaved road about 15 minute’s walk from the centre of Ubud. The hotel has a selection of suites and villas. We stayed in a suite that had a huge balcony with views over rice terraces. The suites had a bedroom/living area, a dressing room, and a huge bathroom with a tub for two and separate shower. There were nice touches such as candle lanterns over the bath and on the balcony. You also got a jar of cookies and complementary tea and coffee. During the turn down service petals (in heart shape on the first night) and a bedtime story were placed on the bed. We also got bathrobes and caftan style nightwear. Sun hats, flip-flops and umbrellas were also provided.

We were there on Valentines Day and were given a chocolate cake with a heart on. The hotel is geared up for honeymooners but they are not only clientele.

You can have your breakfast where you want in the hotel. The breakfasts are huge and very good. We had ours in our room on the balcony and in the 1st floor restaurant. The staff were all very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The staff to guest ratio is high. Each time you arrived back at the hotel the staff on the reception desk always said “welcome home.”

The hotel has an excellent spa, a gym and a nice relaxing pool area.

The hotel provides a return shuttle into town. They also have a complimentary trip to see the white herons and rice terraces, which we did and enjoyed.

I got a tummy bug and was given medication and herbal tea. The movie selection that comes as part of the entertainment system came in useful at this time.

I have been to over 100 countries and stayed in few 5 star hotels but this 4 star is the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Note: Stayed December 2009

This is by far the best hotel we've ever stayed at in Bali. The previous hotel we stayed at in Legian for this trip paled in comparison.

Pros:
Romantic
The amazing view
The amazing pool
The lovely suite with everything you could want
90% of the staff are truly wonderful. They were so kind and attentive to our needs, particularly my gluten free diet. I still had my afternoon tea and the Head chef went through the whole menu with me and customised meals as needed and wrote it down for the other chefs so I had not a worry, sadly I do not recall his name. The food was beautiful.
Lovely to walk through the rainforest and around the rice paddies

Cons: The guy on the desk before 6am was totally clueless and not pleasant to deal with on our last day. The fare out in their car is a bit steep so recommend a bit of negotiating.

Magical moments:
Fireflys
Drinking Hatten rose wine in the amazing pool with my partner listening to the sounds of the rainforest
All the special touches

This was truly a special and memorable stay. We never left the hotel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Komaneka Bisma has a lot going for it: the rooms are very good indeed, the views are excellent, the free shuttle bus service is first class and the general hotel staff are both courteous and attentive. The free afternoon teas are almost meals in themselves. But against the many good points are unfortunately several poor points. Thus:

1. The road to the hotel is partly unsealed, with the result that the ride to and from the hotel is often very bumpy. The hotel owners might not be responsible for this, but it detracts from the hotel itself.

2. Although I tried every day, and then many times, to get an outside line on my room telephone, all I ever got was an engaged tone. This is very poor indeed.

3. The various lists in the room (e.g. of mini-bar prices, tv channels and the cost of purchasing room items) were dog-eared and tatty.

4. Although many of the Reception staff were both fluent in English, friendly and very helpful, one or two were not. The poor ones did not give a good impression.

5. The hotel's charge of US$50 for airport-hotel transport is extortionate. Ubud Taxis charge less than half of this for a very efficient and comfortable service.

A really good hotel is one that you definitely want to go back to. Although I will certainly not avoid returning to the Komaneka Bisma in the future, I will certainly first consider other options.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afdickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Just had a 4 night stay and after reading all the reviews on here maybe we were expecting too much. The suites i would describe as comfortable but not luxurious as some describe, yes there are some nice touches but compared to what? we had just come from a 5 star hotel and the difference was obvious. However for the discounted price we paid it was fine. the location is nice and away from the town center but close enough by shuttle for eating and shopping etc. The breakfast routine needs a few tweaks as although you can mix from different menu's it is too controlled for me and at least part of it buffet style would be much better. The staff make the difference and really do enhance your stay and give it a personnel touch but this is not unique to Komaneka but nice anyway. The extra activities are not the best value around.
Again for the price we paid it was fine but if we had paid full price then i would have been disappointed. But would i go back? yes

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Stayed at Komaneka Bisma with partner and friends, and we all thought it was fantastic. The staff go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, and the rooms we all stayed in were all stunning. We were all concerned that the hotel might not be as close to shops and resturants as we would like, but the shuttle service was great and easy to use, and we even walked in a couple of times..
The location and views took our breath away. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brown00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

thank you for the most special stay. a gorgeous piece of tranquility in the midst of Ubud's bustling intensity. the staff was all incredibly professional- learning our names immediately and memorizing all food preferences for breakfast requests. the rooms had all sorts of lovely perks- with little cookies, night shirts, pretty bath salt sachets..... the views from the the lobby and room deck were stupendous. the infinity pool was perfect and a wonderful way to unwind. excellent location. free hotel shuttle to most locations in town.
This was great value for the money and I will highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,863 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.1 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 198 in Ubud
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing