We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - a real hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Pantulan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Pantulan
Ranked #138 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Carlisle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing - a real hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed at the Pantulan for a long weekend from Singapore. To be honest, we didn't really know what to expect but we were amazed when we got there. The setting and villa itself for very serene and away from the hussle and bussle of central Ubud. We were the only ones there at the time and the staff couldn't have done more for us. They drove us in and out of town, provided with DVDs for the cinema room and cooked a special romantic meal for us by the pool, overlooking the paddy fields. We would definitely highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
19
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

We were invited to stay at Villa Pantulan with a few friends and it was absolutely amazing. The grounds are superb with reflecting pools and nature integrated into the living areas for a feeling that is completely peaceful. The views overlooking the rice fields give you that quintessential Bali experience. It is the perfect distance from Ubud to provide quiet surroundings, but close enough that you can get into town for shopping and a nice dinner with little effort. The staff is there to make your stay as comfortable as possible. As an added bonus they are happy to answer questions about the Bali culture and include you in local ceremonies and events. You can have it all here, quiet relaxing vacation and true cultural experiences.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walruswerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Villa Pantulan is truly a gem. It captures much of the essence of Balinese architecture and integrates it seamlessly with five star western standards. Life at Pantulan is exotic with an amazing view over the rice terraces, a beautiful pool and outdoor bathrooms. The staff are great. They are dedicated and friendly and the chef is great. She responds well to dietary restrictions and makes a variety of Indonesian and western dishes at request.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Shouldn't really be writing this review as we would like to keep the place a perfect secret. It is more of a private five bedroom (all with outdoor bathrooms) luxury villa than a hotel. We had this wonderful villa and equally wonderful staff mostly to ourselves for 5 days. The villa is home to a New York based couple for some of the year and has now been made available to others when not in use by the owners. This magnificent villa is set amongst Lod Tonduh village and ricefields some 5km south of Ubud and you could be a million miles from anywhere, an idealic relaxing hidewaway. We spent most days relaxing by the pool, walking or being pampered by the satff. Made the chef was brilliant and the meals sumptuos and generous. The rooms are very comfortable with outdoor area's to lose yourself around the villa.
Can't express enough how good all the staff were, they were a real delight, always looking to be of service but never hovering about. The Manager spent time with us and took us on a mornings walk through the ricefields of Ubud, this was in his own time and was a great outing. Pantulan is great for couples and small groups 8-10 max wanting something out of the ordinary, to see the real Bali. It reminded us very much of our earlier trips to Bali in the late 70's and 80's, unspoilt, friendly and completely relaxing. the

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Two of my friends/colleagues initially found this place for us to live for six weeks in Bali. It was a little more than I was hoping to spend but they couldn't stop talking about how wonderful it was. Once I arrived I knew that I would have paid much, much more for the experience at Villa Pantulan.

My six weeks at Pantulan were overwhelmingly the best that I had in Bali. I've stayed at several places since then and they haven't come close to the value for luxury that I found there. I was able to work (my job is internet based) very well and live like a rockstar. If I ever design my own home it'll hopefully emulate the experience that I had at Pantulan. I've been working/traveling on the road for 6+ years now and this is by far my favorite place that I've ever called "home".

The staff was A++. Budi, the property manager, took care of any need we could think of at any time. Our internet connection (a necessity for our work) was the best I've experience in Bali (even compared to the internet cafes). Our cook made us the most amazing meals that I've had on any regular basis for a fraction of what we would have paid outside the house.

My favorite thing: the private waterfall in my bathroom. Decadence at it's best :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Villa Pantulan will truly be an experience I'll never forget. My friends and I all feel blessed that we had the opportunity to enjoy it. The space and landscaping there makes you feel as if you're in your own world. Everything is just beautiful..the reflecting pool, the poi ponds and waterfalls, the Buddha garden, the living areas, the rooms, the washrooms...it all feels very balanced and peaceful.

Besides the space itself, the staff there add to the richness of the experience. They were always attentive but not intrusive. Always smiling and willing to engage in conversation. Made, the chef, prepared delicious meals for us according to our schedule and was a delight to be around. Budi, the property manager was top-notch. His english was excellent and he always did his best to accommodate our needs...and we had many!
If you want to have a truly memorable holiday and be taken care of by a wonderful, friendly staff, I highly recommend Villa Pantulan. The only downside is that you'll never want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

I fell in love with this villa the moment I laid my eyes on it! Upon opening the front gate you are transported into a world of bliss and beauty. It's truly breathtaking. The grounds are impeccable with well kept gardens and water features in every corner (even a waterfall in the bathroom.)

Onto my fave part: The swimming pool! It's long (great for laps) and perfect temperature (other pools in Ubud have seemed too hot to feel refreshing.) I loved taking night time swims, looking up at the stars and listening to faint gamelan music drift across the ricefields. The bale next to the pool was lovely for an afternoon nap or morning yoga.

Although it is open-air architecture the bedrooms are spread apart and feel very private. The views from the upstairs rooms (temple garden and lotus) are gorgeous and the sliding glass doors make it even more dramatic. I'm a very picky sleeper, and these beds were perfect.

The property itself is quite magical but it's really the staff that made the difference. I woke up to beautiful food and fresh coffee every morning from Made, the cheerful cook. I always felt safe going to sleep at night, knowing that Wayan or Nyoman were on security, walking the grounds. Piel made driving through Bali less stressful and always had a sweet smile for us. On several occasions, he even lent the men in my group his personal temple clothing so they could participate in Galungan festivities. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, but not intrusive. I really enjoyed all of them. And then there is Budi, the villa manager. I can't give him enough praise. He always went the extra mile for us, and delivered on everything he offered.

I feel so fortunate to have stayed at this property for 6 weeks and highly recommend it, I know I want to come back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calilago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
7.0 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#128 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#109 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#89 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
#119 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pantulan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pantulan

Property: Villa Pantulan
Address: Lodtunduh, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Ubud
#72 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#106 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Pantulan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking an ocean of verdant rice fields and Mount Batukaru, Villa Pantulan welcomes you to a world of enchantment, seclusion, and tranquility. Villa Pantulan has 5 bedrooms, private gardens, living room, library, entertainment room and bathroom, private T-House spa, gourmet kitchen and 25 meters swimming pool. Staffed with 10 people, we will make your stay a memorable one. Villa Pantulan accommodates up to 10 people and is ideal for families, small groups, weddings and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Pantulan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pantulan Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing