We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mason Elephant Lodge
Ranked #24 of 612 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We booked the safari park & lodge using a two night for the price of one coupon late last year. We had a fantastic time and is a must see for animal lovers. The elephants are beautiful.

Our only gripe was the ridiculous taxi fares that the resort charges. Unfortunately due to the secluded nature there are no 20 balineese drivers waiting to give you cheap morning price cab fares so we were forced to just accept it. If you can arrange your own driver from a previous destination I would recommend doing so.

Apart from that, the friendly service is what you come to expect from the balineese people, and the restaurant food is typically ordinary, but doesn't detract from the amazing theatre and experience of being there.

Two nights is definitely enough. Boredom would certainly set in if your stay was any longer as you are quite a distance from civilization. Without a 2 for 1 deal I probably would have felt it to be a little expensive, but still worth the expereince anyway.

Room Tip: use google to find a deal. agoda is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nvanjole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

The service was excellent & our group loved the food. Although the best part was waking up to the elephants off our balcony in the mornings. The elaphant guides were so caring & happy to be there. Very happy to see that this place exists.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms 201-205 for the best views of the es
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

we have bin 30 days in indonesia we stay't for 1 nicht in the elephant park
it has bin the best hotel we had in indonesia
and the service was the best we had
if somebody ask us we recommend this hotel
olso the food is very nice and the beds are perfect
nex time we stay longer and the staf are al very nice peopel

Room Tip: we had the cheapes room and that was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fenix938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My daughter and I spent a night at the Elephant Safari Park at Taro last month and it was fabulous from start to finish. We'd been there before as day trippers, but staying there was something really special. The staff were excellent, welcoming us with a delicious drink and a prepared itinerary. The twin room was very comfortable, with a huge bathroom. We had lunch and a wander around (the gift shop is great) then towards evening, we went out onto our balcony and staff opened a gate in the railings and there was an elephant waiting to take us to the restaurant! They perform a little show, which they seem to enjoy, and then you can go off on a moonlight elephant ride through the jungle. After dinner when we returned to our room a bulb popped when I turned on the lights and this caused all the electricity to go off. When I rang Housekeeping, someone arrived within minutes, checked out the situation and called a maintenance man and the problem was fixed immediately. Very impressive! The next morning we helped to wash and feed the elephants, including 3 adorable babies, before a nice buffet breakfast overlooking the park. Another jungle safari was included, but we chose to relax in the sun and watch the elephants having their swim. It truly was magical - not a cheap stay for a family, but for us worth every penny - a once in a lifetime wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vandg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This was a great experience to interact with elephants in their day to day routines. Getting picked up from my room by elephant , daily talent show and night and day safaris were all apart of the intinerary. my personal pick was the elephant bathing which allowed me to get up close and personal with the animals at what appears to be there favourite time of day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snaphappydanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Getting to hang with the elephants and watch them from your porch is an amazing experience, The rooms and facilities are great here and teh staff was fantastic, giving us every opportunity to spend time with , get close to and get photos with the elephants. Washing the elephants was the most fun. It truly is a blast. Only downside to the restaurant is the buffet. It is a whopping $0 for two for lunch. Order off the menu, the food is not that good either way, so you may as well get what you want and pay half that cost for lunch. That being said, no matter how expensive or average the food, you get to eat it yards away from the elephants and all of the other facilities are outstanding and up to western standards (in fact the bathroom is the size of my kid's room at home!). the park view rooms are just about 15 feet from the elephants, so they are worth getting. It is also worth getting the unlimited package if you are on a short stay as you get to do all the elephant activites as much as you want.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Uniquely different place to stay + relax + new experience

The room very cozy, match with village atmosphere

The food.. hmmm yummy.... two thumbs up for the restaurant manager (Mr. Bagus)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budi_rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
7.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 199 in Ubud
2,108 reviews
8.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
8.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mason Elephant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Elephant Lodge

Address: Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561, Indonesia (Formerly Elephant Safari Park & Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 612 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £93 - £1,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mason Elephant Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali’s “Most Unique Hotel" and Winner of the 2016 & 2017 World Luxury Hotel Awards – Best Eco Lodge. Ideal for animal and nature lovers, guests staying at the Mason Elephant Lodge arise to the sights and sounds of gentle giants set among lush botanical gardens and jungle. Get up close and personal with Bali's largest herd of 31 Sumatran elephants at the island's premiere interactive and intimate elephant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mason Elephant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Mason Elephant Lodge Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing