We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Ranked #19 of 526 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We went to this park (not hotel) as part of a day package with another company. I would not have been happy to pay the entry fee otherwise - what a rip off!! I felt so uneasy the whole time, felt like I was about to fall out of the carriage on top. The handler was constantly kicking the elephant to make him move and when he went to eat some leaves he was hurt with a big metal hook near his eye. I told the handler it was ok for him to eat which was just brushed off. We witnessed a baby elephant chained up and he was obviously distressed rocking side to side and making strange sounds. What a life!! I couldn't wait to leave there and will not return. Don't go there, yes it's a novelty riding an elephant, but at what cost?!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Uandmemakesthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    195
    44
    28
    28
See reviews for
302
410
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fawkner, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We loved our experience at the Safari Park. You are able to get up close and personal with the elephants on a ride and feed them. All the elephants seem to be humanely treated and well looked after. The guides were very friendly and happy to answer your questions. The show was interactive and demonstrated what clever animals elephants are.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xelar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We couldn't believe how available the elephants are. When we visited, there were about 40 of them, several very young. They are rescue animals from Sumatra and seem in great health. They are tethered at night, which is a little bothersome, but when you see them splashing in the water and playing with their mahouts, you almost forget about it. We washed them, fed them, swam with them (!) and fell completely in love. The staff is wonderful, the accommodations were fine (good, clean). The elephants come to pick you up for dinner each night. Close to Ubud, the must-see cultural center of Bali. We had a ball, both in town and at the Park. Next time I might devote several days just to the elephants.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter. Everything is a short walk away. Note that the rooms are on the second floor (so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

didn't stay at the hotel, just did the visit during the day and found it clean and well run! Definitely buy the lunch inclusion when booking from your hotel, although the food was pretty average. But, you're not there for the food are you?!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ropate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We all loved it, loved the elephant rides and thought it excellent value for money compared to what else is on offer....we are always wary of anything to do with animals in Bali as often we have found the animals (see Turtle Island review and then DONT GO THERE!!) but this, along with the bird park is clean and humane...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank womblewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights, I chose this place because my sister has always loved elephants and I was taking her to Bali for the first time (my 8th time). The price almost scared me off, we needed 2 rooms because I had my 2 teenagers with me as well, I'm glad it didnt. We dont have a bad thing to say about the place. The food was lovely, we did a la carte for dinner and it cost us less than AUD50 for 4 of us to have 2 courses. The professional photographer followed us around for the 3 days and the disk of all the photos cost around AUD3. I would definately consider going back - a welcome change from the kaos of Kuta. When we arrived they gave us a printed itinerary with our activities already booked for safaris etc. It made the stay stress free.

Room Tip: All the rooms have chauffeur service so it doesnt matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed only one night up at the safari park, but it was truly lovely. I took my mum there for a surprise for her, but i was truly pleasantly surprised as well.

The room was spacious and very clean. Looking out over the park and seeing the elephants playing and walking was just wonderful.

The food was great and my mum didn't want to leave the next day - she bathed the elephants and was so excited to be picked up by the elephants and chauffeur driven(ridden) to dinner.
The only down size is the price, but i guess it does take a lot to look after the elephants

Room Tip: A park view room is just the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
8.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
7.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
7.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
8.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Safari Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Property: Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Address: Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 526 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Safari Park & Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali’s “Most Unique Hotel" & Winner of the 2016 World Luxury Hotel Awards – Best Eco Lodge. Ideal for animal & nature lovers, guests staying at the Elephant Safari Park Lodge arise to the sights & sounds of gentle giants set among lush botanical gardens & jungle. Get up close & personal with Bali's largest herd of 31 Sumatran elephants at the island's premiere interactive & intimate elephant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Safari Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing