We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joy of the Elephants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Ranked #21 of 538 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Joy of the Elephants”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Wonderful experience. Accommodation was very stylish & comfortable.
Being able to interact with the elephants so closely was amazing
I was there for four nights in May & am returning in five weeks for another stay
Cannot wait !!
Brilliantly run & the staff were superb

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chookette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    196
    45
    28
    28
See reviews for
308
414
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I had my tour booked by my travel agent and was under the assumption that it was 'Safari' not 'ride and torture animal' type affair.
Firstly I think it is dispicable that the elephants are chained on metre length chains in the hot sun immediately after they have finished their rides. They cannot move, not allowed any interaction or freedom.
Secondly, the guide said that the elephants get sore backs doing over 10 rides a day...for what purpose? So that humans can be jostled about in an uncomfortable chair while the elephant struggles under our weight?!
Thirdly, the guides use what looks to be rock hammers as a way of ensuring the elephants behave themselves and keep moving forward. The very audible thud every time the guide hits the elephant on the head is disgusting.
And lastly, these elephants are trained from a young age where they are starved and chained until they learn that humans are their master. When they have fully grown it is then that the elephant spends the rest of its miserable life towing humans around. The show is not much better, with the guide seen pinching the skin or elephants in order to do tricks correctly.
Overall, I left this place feeling ill that I had paid money to this company only to witness such abhorrent behaviour.
Please avoid such a place on your travels. It is essential that we stop this behaviour as this is something that is not tolerated in Western countries so why drop our morals when we travel to Eastern. It is very sad.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
26 Thank traveller83GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

For those adventurous enough, you could even go swimming with the elephants too! Afterwards, watch the elephants perform tricks, paint and play soccer and go on an elephant trek around the park to complete your visit before checking out at midday. An action packed visit well worth the money spent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This was amazing place we loved the opportunity that we had to interact with the elephants. We rode them, bathed them, rode bare back in the water and feed them. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was really nice. We also really enjoyed relaxing by the pool drinking cocktails. The elephants were my high light of our trip to Bali. It was such an awesome and memorial experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It took me 2 hours to get to the park but it worth the travel. the place is really secluded and although have never been there, the place is very easy to find as there are so many sign on the road. The place is huge with good atmosphere. Staff are very warm and welcomed. I'm a hotelier so warm hospitality is very important.
Place is clean, park is beautiful and ride thru the jungle with view of truly Balinese feeling. The most interesting thing is that each elephant has their own care person and EVA (our ride) is amazing. Most Elephant are amazing and Fajar (cute baby elephant recently born) is the highlited of the day.
Plenty of food option from Gourmet buffet lunch and staff at the restaurant are very friendly, my only suggestion is the toilet and baby changing room is bit smelly and damp, but this is not a major issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I loved this place, the staff were friendly and couldn't go enough for you. Plenty of opportunities to feed the elephants and getting so close to wash them in the morning pretty special. We stayed here for one night and were here 24 hours all together and that was plenty of time to do everything. Although if you come here straight from the airport, as we did, be warned that it takes 2 hours. Little hint - take the fruit from your room to give to the elephants, not only do the elephants get very excited but the staff are very grateful and arrange special pictures for you as a result.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I really regret not staying here for a night - this place is simply incredible and meeting those who were in the hotel they could not stress enough how amazing it had been.

All of the staff in the resort were amazing. They were happy to take the time to explain everything about the elephants to you including how they were taken care of. They were also more than willing to let you feed the elephants and have photos taken with them.

We went for the elephant ride and although this was a great experience, it's probably cheaper to do this in other parts of the world. However, probably one of our best experiences in Bali was meeting the baby elephant. Simply pay $10 at the photo kiosk and an official photographer will come with you inside the area where the 5 month old baby elephant is and take photos while you feed and play with it. The $10 is actually for an A4 print out - we ended up getting quite a few and paying more for these because the photos were so incredible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
8.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
7.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
7.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
8.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Safari Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Property: Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Address: Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 538 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Safari Park & Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali’s “Most Unique Hotel" & Winner of the 2016 World Luxury Hotel Awards – Best Eco Lodge. Ideal for animal & nature lovers, guests staying at the Elephant Safari Park Lodge arise to the sights & sounds of gentle giants set among lush botanical gardens & jungle. Get up close & personal with Bali's largest herd of 31 Sumatran elephants at the island's premiere interactive & intimate elephant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Safari Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing