We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Ranked #22 of 571 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

From Service all the way to decor of the rooms, this place was brilliant.

Service was upheld with efficiency and great friendliness!

Can not fault anything about this place!

The 'hands on' activities were brilliant with all the elephants.
(If anyone complains about the eleohants being mistreated, please disregard them. These elephants are very well looked after like children!)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bhavesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    213
    48
    31
    32
See reviews for
331
443
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I have ridden and interacted with elephants in Asia and Africa, but this was by far the best experience we have had. That being said, the hotel staff was not very friendly or warm as we had found at our hotel in Ubud. The rooms were clean and adequate, the beds were hard as rocks and the food was nothing to brag about, but that was not what we were there for. I must say the talent show was 5 minutes long and certainly not as in depth as the ones we had seen in Thailand. And the prices in the gift shop.......off the charts. But the up close and personal experience we had with the elephants was fantastic. I love to view animals, but am petrified of having them in my personal space. The handlers sensed my fears, and were so kind and patient with me, encouraging me to sit on the elephant's knee and have my photo taken with them. Loved the safari through the surrounding farmland, and the elephant chauffeur to dinner, but the morning activities were the most exciting. At about 7:00 am, we were able to brush and hose down the elephants. Then, we were given the opportunity to ride the elephants bareback into the lagoon. If you want to do this, go in your bathing suit because you will get wet. I conquered my fears and was able to have a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you take one which includes the elephant chauffeur to dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werhappy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights during July. We had particularly travelled to Bali to experience this unique holiday and although the reviews I read online were fantastic.... This place still exceeded my expectations! Everything was beyond perfect! The staff were tremendous and I am happy to say as an experienced traveller and one who works in the hospitality industry myself, I have never received better service than here! The accommodation was beautiful, the grounds, restaurant, facilities and activities were amazing and so enjoyable!! The food was delicious and the way the elephants were handled and well cared for made me very happy! I would definitely recommend the elephant safari lodge to everyone. Words cannot describe how impressed we were!
Thank you for an amazing holiday! We hope to come again!!!
Jen

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug86_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clontarf
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Word of mouth sells this place. We went because we were told about it and how fantastic it was. To be able to interact with these magnificent creatures, by way of washing them, swimming with them and going on mini safaris is beyond one's comprehension, until you have been there. The fact they have been rescued from Sumatra and have the same keeper-mahout for their life span is a credit to this incredible operation. As for the accommodation side of things, it's impossible to fault. You can stay in rooms that overlook the compound that houses the Elephants, which is fantastic. We stayed in a room overlooking the rice paddies which was equally good. The restaurant is exceptional as are all staff you come into contact with.
We stayed there 5 nights and not once did we have a grievance of any sort. Mind blowing sums it up.

Room Tip: If your concerned about the smell of Elephant excrement, choose a Rice paddy Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Like other reviewers, I had reservations about this adventure...do we exploit these elephants for our own selfish joy? But I wanted my 9 year old daughter to see these amazing creatures. And I chose to believe the park's mission (they rescue these elephants from Sumatra, where man has destroyed their habitat, and our dollars to visit them help those rescue efforts). We did ride the elephants, but honestly - we enjoyed feeding them and touching them much more than the ride. And there are plenty of opportunities for you to get up close and personal with the elephants. The park is clean and beautiful. I saw no signs of mistreatment of the animals. Yes, you will see some chained to their pad, but how else would they keep the elephants from wondering off?

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had a great experience here, everyone was happy and helpful. The Elephants where great, loved the swim with them in the morning. My Husband and I went a lone this time but will have to go back with our kids as they would have loved it to. An experience to remember.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lodge accommodation was beautiful, restaurant excellent. But the elephants were insanely fantastic! We got to ride, swim, feed and wash these beautiful creatures - far more time with the elephants than I ever expected. The elephants seem well cared for and if they have to be in captivity, this park is a great place for them.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room. If we went back, we would spend the extra to get a park view room - they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lillichubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
8.2 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
8.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 196 in Ubud
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
7.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 196 in Ubud
978 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Safari Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Property: Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Address: Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 571 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Safari Park & Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali’s “Most Unique Hotel" & Winner of the 2016 World Luxury Hotel Awards – Best Eco Lodge. Ideal for animal & nature lovers, guests staying at the Elephant Safari Park Lodge arise to the sights & sounds of gentle giants set among lush botanical gardens & jungle. Get up close & personal with Bali's largest herd of 31 Sumatran elephants at the island's premiere interactive & intimate elephant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Safari Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing