We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and overrated”
Review of Ubud Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ubud Bungalow
Ranked #59 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Overpriced and overrated

We came to Ubud Bungalows with great expectation after having read all the positive reviews. I will try to be as objective as I can in order to justify the poor score I gave:

Positives:
1. Staff at reception very kind and helpful;
2. Very nice garden and exterior of bungalows;
3. Centrally located in Monkeys Road;
4. Clean room (but the sheets had stains);
5. Good wi-fi internet connection;
6. Small but pleasent swimming pool area;
7. Nice terrace with chairs and table.

Negatives:
1. A/C room (where we stayed), poorly furnished, not even a small table to put our staff (one was given to us when we asked);
2. Very basic toilet with shower;
3. The room was infested with very minute ants, especiallt near the sink area.
4. Breakfast very poor with choice given only every other day. The juices tasted like water.
5. We paid IDR 650000 for A/C room per night. The rooms without A/C look better and cost less.
6. Similar hotels nearby cost IDR 400000 per night.

This hotel is a backpackers hotel slightly polished and cleaner. Generally Bali is overpriced and overvalued compared to the rest of South East Asia and I fail to see why. Ubud Bangalows is not an exception to this rule.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank andrewasroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    221
    47
    13
    2
See reviews for
84
275
87
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I returned to Ubud from New York and stayed at Ubud Bungalows a second time. 
Positives:
The location is central on Ubud, Monkey Forest road and within walking distance to many restaurants.
The property is well kept and immaculately clean.
The service is courteous, professional, friendly, and welcoming.
Wayan, the owner can organize an array of activities at your request.
The free breakfast tastes good.
This year there was a safe in our room - very good.
There is free WiFi and a pool.


Worth noting:
-it is recommended that you pay in cash to avoid incurring additional credit card transaction fees from Ubud Bungalow.
-there is a laundromat right across the street next to Circle K.
-bring your own mosquito net. We brought one this year and slept will without any bites this year.
-for those interested in working out, Ubud Fitness is an excellent gym about 8-10 minutes away driving. You can be dropped off there (at a small fee around 20-30,000 IDR)  to get in your workouts.
-there was construction taking place for additional bungalows but it never kept us up or woke us up in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have better WiFi and less early morning noise from animals. There was constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank premile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

These bungalows are ok. They need some update. We used the room with and without AC. The one with AC are a little bit better. Breakfast was really good. We booked for three nights. But due to the wetter we wanted to use only two days the room. They did not charge us anything. Really good!

Room Tip: Choose the one with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Ubud Bungalows - We stayed at Ubud Bungalows for four nights. All of the staff were friendly and warm. Wayan, the owner, was very accommodating. Our room was very nice and the grounds were maintained beautifully. The breakfat was simple but tasty. It sounded like we were in a jungle! We used the hotel as a base of operations as we hired a car & driver. We toured the island for 3 days following an itinerary of sights that Wayan gave us. We saw everything that worth seeing! Wayan will also arrange for transport to & from the airport as well as a car & driver while staying at the hotel. Our stay was very pleasant and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drfdembowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The Ubud Bungalows are second to none when it comes to value for money accommodation in Bali. Wayan and his friendly staff ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible, the rooms are clean and neat, the pool and grounds are beautiful, and the daily breakfasts are more than adequate. I would definitely stay at this centrally located, family-run business again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeroy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I spent most of April at Ubud Bungalows and can only echo other reviewers' favorable comments re this comfortable, clean, value-for-money accommodation with helpful, friendly, polite staff. Plus the Wifi was reliable and the central location really suited me. I'm planning another month there next year!

Alison, Yarrawonga, Australia

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ambcgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The location, room and amenities were quite acceptable, the gardens very well kept. At end of May 2012 they were doing some hefty construction work, which competed only in noise levels to the construction work opposite. Great if you enjoy hammering all afternoon. The staff at the reception counter need a hospitality refresh course.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bilberrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#57 of 198 in Ubud
461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#28 of 198 in Ubud
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 198 in Ubud
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#136 of 198 in Ubud
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
0.4 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#55 of 198 in Ubud
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Bungalow

Property: Ubud Bungalow
Address: Monkey Forest St. | Ubud Gianyar, Bali, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#33 Family Hotel in Ubud
#40 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Ubud Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Bungalow Hotel Ubud
Ubud Bungalow Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing