We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Ubud Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ubud Bungalow
Ranked #59 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I booked this accomm over the internet not knowing what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised. Great location right in the heart of shopping, bars etc. Staff were friendly, my room was very clean,comfortable and quiet. The gardens are beautiful. Breakfast is set in a fabulous location overlooking a lush tropical ravine. There is a choice of two items on the breakfast menu that vary each day. Always served with a fresh plate of fruit, juice and as much tea or coffee as you like. Try the banana pancakes - best I've had in Bali over the last 20 yrs. Great little hotel if you're on a budget - definitely value for money.
Take your mozzie spray - some of the windows didn't quite close properly leaving gaps. I spread mozzie repellant around the gaps and it did the trick - I saw none!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyJ333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    221
    47
    13
    2
See reviews for
84
275
87
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had contacted Mr.Wayan, the Proprietor of Ubud Bungalows for reserving a room and for transport from the Denpasar airport. But we were overwhelmed to see Mr.Wayan himself receiving us at the Nugurah Rai airport with a great Namasthe. He is a walking encyclopaedia on Bali culture and within the 90 minutes it took him to drive us down to Ubud he had chalked out a detailed itinerary for us - including visits to temples, monuments, palaces, a kecak dance and ... even a royal cremation (which was taking place in Ubud that week).
Once you enter the portals of Ubud Bungalow you walk into a profusion of greenery and small cosy bungalows lined up on one side of the walkway which was strewn with frangipani flowers of white, yellow and pink hues. In fact the fragrance of frangipani dominated our stay there, with the flowers found in all odd places - the bedsheet, wardrobe and even hidden in the face towels!
The room (we had a non-a/c room upstairs) was quite spacious and had all the facilities that a traveller would expect. (Perhaps the plug points need to be fixed, but the man at the desk was ready to do it and even gave us a universal multi-plug ) The sheets are changed every day and the staff cleans up the room meticulously. Our room was next to the swimming pool and had a pleasant view.
The breakfast of fruit juice, fresh fruit, toast, butter, honey and eggs (apart from tea and Javanese coffee) was adequate and was served with love by the waitresses on the verandah next to the swimming pool.
We had hired the hotel car for sightseeing (trip to Pura Besakhi, Kintamani, Goa Gajah, Tirtha Empul etc) and the driver, Kadak was a great help in understanding the local culture and the customs to be followed in the monuments/temples. He drove us down to Kuta at the end of our stay in Ubud.
Ubud Bungalow is located on the Monkey Forest Road, close to the forest on one side and the Ubud Palace on the other. Step outside and you have scores of good quality and economical eating places - ranging from warungs to proper sit-in restaurants. Lots of shops for souvenir and bargain hunters.
The map available at the hotel counter is very informative; but ask for directions to important places like the Palace, Museums, Jl. Raya Ubud (main market place) and Kecak shows.
Mr. Wayan himself was available whenever we wanted to seek his help. Only, you may have to look around closely - a couple of times we found him in uniform working with the staff in transplanting a grown -up tree or in cleaning up the surroundings! That explains the success of the lovely retreat called Ubud Bungalows!
Thank you, Wayan, for making our Ubud stay memorable!! Om Swasthyasthu!!!

Room Tip: 1. Choose an upstair room even if non-ac (a fan was ok for the October weather). It is quieter and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We arrived on the 8th of september 2012 and stayed for 4 nights and again had a wonderful stay. I was surprised to read some not so good reviews as we are coming here for more than 12 years, with great pleasure. After thoroughly reading these reviews i think Maybe expectations are too high, please do not think this is a 4 or 5 star hotel. We know the owner Wayan for more than 12 years and he is very very trustworthy, his service one of the best we ever experienced and his English superb. We usually leave for the gili islands after our stay with Ubud bungalow and leave our major luggage with Wayan and he makes sure that our luggage is delivered to our next hotel stop after our stay on the Gili islands. He also does excellent tours. We had an a/c room, all the a/c rooms have a little fridge (the fan rooms do not) and we had a safe. (not sure weather the fan rooms have one, you might want to check this). There is free wifi!
The breakfast is always coffee or tea, juice, fresh fruit plate, and is added by turn with either banana pancake, egg or toast. Our room had a nice bed with a really great mattress (a must for me because i have back problems), night tables with lites on each side. There is a closet with a safe inside. A table and 2 chairs are on the balcony if you stay upstairs or on the verandah if you stay downstairs. They are extending 4 more rooms direct at the entrance of the garden. Ubud Bungalow has a great staff allthough young but dedicated to the guests. We were checking out around 06.15 to leave for the gilis and one of the staff was so kind and offered to get up early and serve us breakfast at 05.45, so great service! I'll be happy to answer any questions!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErinTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at Ubud Bungalows for 5 nights and would be happy to stay again. The location is great, the property is very pretty, and the staff is wonderful! The pool and breakfast areas are both gorgeous. I'm very happy with everything about this place and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emyliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

What a gem of a find! You are right in the thick of it on Monkey Forest Road, go through the gates of Ubud Bungalows and you are in another world. Quiet, serene, peaceful . The grounds are stunning with plenty of color. We stayed in a bungalow up near reception absolutely lovely. Staff are very attentive and every request was met. Breakfasts were simple and ample. The pancakes with shredded coconut was my favorite . We met many foreigners here and exchanged stories of our countries which was a nice change from meeting fellow countrymen. I would not hesitate to stay here as a solo female traveller as I would feel safe and would be sure to meet up with some interesting people. We required a transfer back to Legian and were driven by Wayan the Manager , what a wealth of information he was. We learnt so much about each village we went through on the way back.
Thank you Ubud bungalows for a great stay and keeping within your culture
Forgot to mention wifi is excellent throughout the whole complex

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gumi, South Korea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed at Ubud Bungalows for 2 nights in a traditional fan room and we loved it!! The room is basic but really clean and spacious. The bathroom could do with some work but it is clean. The staff are so friendly and nice. We booked our fastboat to Gilis through them as well. The pool area is lovely. There is no need for an AC in Ubud so a an room was a great choice and I think the price we payed was fair for the faciilties and location. Very central to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

First of all, we loved staying at Ubud Bungalows. The staff were so sweet and helpful and the generel vibe of the hotel gardens is cool and quiet, even though they had som renevations going on at the time. The pool is very cool and refreshing.

The rooms (we had a 1 level room in a bungalow) are traditional balinese style, beautifully carved door and window. Great feel and a spacious enough for us. The balcony is huge, though the view isn't.

We had A/C - which isn't neccesary at all. Ubud nights are cool and comfortable.
The bathroom is very simple and there are a some ants climping on the walls. No big deal. We are in the "jungle", so bigger creeps were expected. We saw none of that.
There is a fridge in the room, but is was so noisy we had to turn it off.

All in all, we loved Ubud and the surrounding areas, even in high season it didn't seem that cramped with tourists. There is a local and authentic feel to the place.

Ubud Bungalows and the staff were so nice, but next time maybe we will find another hotel a bit further out of town (even though Ubud isn't a party place, they sure do love singing Adele into the wee hours :-)
And with a couple of minor updates or a reduction of the price, this would have been a "5-star"-stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSoJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#54 of 198 in Ubud
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#135 of 198 in Ubud
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#57 of 198 in Ubud
895 reviews
0.6 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Bungalow

Property: Ubud Bungalow
Address: Monkey Forest St. | Ubud Gianyar, Bali, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#33 Family Hotel in Ubud
#40 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ubud Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Bungalow Hotel Ubud
Ubud Bungalow Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing