We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bungalows”
Review of Ubud Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ubud Bungalow
Ranked #58 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Bungalows”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have stayed at Ubud Bungalows many times. All the staff are friendly and eager to help with any think you may need.
Breakfast is served in a tranquil setting.
The rooms are basic, very clean, great to sit on verandah at night with a drink and listen to the gecko's.
Good location in Monkey Forest Road with many restaurant.

Room Tip: We like the down stair rooms with shower and aircon. Room 10,8 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neryle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    218
    46
    13
    2
See reviews for
84
271
85
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Bali owned, friendly and one of the first guest houses in Ubud. The accomodation is excellent as are the gardens and the swimming pool. Wayan the owner is very attentive and you may find him picking you up at the airport. His staff are helpful and friendly and make sure you have everything you need - do not be shy to ask. Breakfast is tasty and in a beautiful place. I recommend it for people who want to be in a quiet - not party - atmosphere to soak up the culture and environment.

Room Tip: i would get one at the end of the row if you want complete silence. Important you know not to flush...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Wonderful place to stay, great location in centre of Monkey Forest rd close to convenience stores, restaurants, bars,shops, market and of course the monkey forest. Friendly interested staff, good breakfast in an open jungle pavilion, rooms are spacious and in traditional 2 story Balinese style with cross ventilation, rattan cathedral ceilings and fans which kept things cool, pool was cool and relaxing. Wayan the manager/owner is a champ and great to get any info from. They have their own car with driver Agus friendly and obliging plus very competitive rates without the hassle and need to bargain. Honest, safe, clean as a whistle, serviced every day with a smile, mossie coils lit each night (although we never even saw a mossie) just great and we'll definitely be back there.

Room Tip: top story is great if you have no issues with stairs, further down the back past the pool you are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJezHerveyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great location and the staff was super friendly. You can bargain a price so don't just take what is first offered to you. Breakfast was great and the rooms were clean and safe. Central to all of the amenities of Ubud and on a street with very little traffic after 7 pm most nights. The pool is refreshing , not the cleanest pool I've been in but not enough to scare me away. They are doing some renos at the front of the property and the rooms look quite nice so far. A must when visiting Ubud.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Great spacious rooms, with or without air conditioning. Very clean with safe and all the essentials. The rooms are located further in from the monkey road so it is not very busy or noisy as it probably can be in other hotels on the road. Nice breakfast and swimming pool and best of all the staff are all really fun and friends guys who would go out of their way to help out. Very recommended!

Room Tip: Closer to the pool less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed there with my wife in Feb 2013 and we really lucked out. Even it is located on the Monkey Forest Road it is super quiet and a perfect getaway from the trouble around you. The whole place is wonderful due to the stunning garden and the old style bungalows. And not to forget about the pool. Just perfect. If you are looking for a cheap place in the middle of Ubud you can't go wrong with this one. We had the upstairs fan bungalow (Indonesian style) and it was great. Yes, the bathroom is old but very clean. So worked for us. Would always come back.

Room Tip: Upstairs room Indonesian style
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We have stayed at this property 3-4 time in the past few years. We keep coming back because the value and service are great. Just off of Monkey Forest Road, you are in the center of things when you want to be. Off of the road, the property goes well back and you can feel like you are somewhere else all together.
Yes, the rooms are old and have seen the wear and tear of time. I would love it if they could do some improvements to the bathrooms and update the mattresses, but it can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_Designs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#54 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.6 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Bakung Ubud Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Bungalow

Property: Ubud Bungalow
Address: Monkey Forest St. | Ubud Gianyar, Bali, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#33 Family Hotel in Ubud
#40 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ubud Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Bungalow Hotel Ubud
Ubud Bungalow Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing