We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bungalows in a great location”
Review of Ubud Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ubud Bungalow
Ranked #58 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in the furthest bungalow from the street. The landscaping is absolutely gorgeous and there is a serene and peaceful feel throughout the grounds. The pool looked nice and there were always guests reading by the poolside. The room was wonderfully clean and cool, with a large and comfortable bed. The staff are super friendly and helpful. There's a hearty, complimentary breakfast served every morning, complete with fresh fruit juice. The location is right in the middle of Jalan Monkey Forest, right across from a 24/7 minimart, few minutes walk from lots of great restaurants and shops, about 7 minutes from the Monkey Forest itself.

One issue I had were that the wifi was spotty and sometimes non-existent in my room. The staff were trying to fix the issue by adding an additional router but it didn't really work. Also, be prepared to wake up early if you are a light sleeper because there seem to be some animals in the property in the back of the bungalows - roosters crowing throughout the night and early morning, etc.

Room Tip: Further rooms from the center seem to have wifi issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

stayed here for three nights based on TA ranking and review.
It's a boutique hotel. Service is very decent.
It’s in Ubud area in center of town near by all the attractions within walking distance
even though small pool is quite nice – one side is deep enough to plunge in
what i liked is - staff is there but you hardly notice them
meaning they seem invisible but in a good way
you feel like you are living in your own bungalow
(they don’t try to sell you tour packages)
i liked the rustic look of the place but the place is very clean
rooms are big, beds are very comfortable
lot’s of greenery and garden right outside of the room
rooms are little bit in from the street hance it is pretty quiet
few minor improvements would earn this place a perfect rating
good wifi (it was mostly hit or miss - was not that big of deal but when you are in a new city you are often searching for informations on things to do and where to eat in your tablet pc - a reliable internet is a plus)
hot water at times is inconsistent (but again not a huge deal - water is not that cold to begin with)
serve of fresh brew coffee instead of instant crap would have been good (for me anyway)
Lastly no garlic on scrambled eggs in the morning breakfast haha…..
i would stay here again for the overall value

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neupaneaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was my first trip to Bali and my first hotel for a little roundtrip I had planned. The driver picked me up at the airport as requested and after a short stop, we arrived at the hotel. It was lovely. The road itself was quite busy when I arrived (the busiest I've seen in the week I stayed), but when you enter the location it's all quiet.
The fan in the room was enough to cool it down (was a little bit nervous about this), and the breakfast options were limited but perfect. Good coffee, good juices. The whole staff was extremely friendly.

The only thing to keep in mind are the thin walls. When you are unlucky, you are staying next to some friends who keep talking all night long. So maybe prepare for some earplugs.

The hotel is located on a walking distance of the Yoga Barn (15 minutes), Monkey Forest (7 minutes) and the busy 'touristic busdrop center' (10 minutes). Restaurants are everywhere.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Reisronddewereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights as a couple. Room rate for a Superior AC room was approximately 550,000 Indonesian Rupiah (+15% tax) which is about 47USD. Very comfortable bed and clean rooms though for TV addicts you might be disappointed as there isn't television in the room (Ubud is gorgeous! Don't waste your time watching an animated box) There's a choice of local and western breakfast to choose from which taste pretty ok.

Most drivers who are not from Ubud may not find this place. Tell the driver that it is after Monkey Forest and the landmark you should look for is Circle K convenience shop, which is opposite or Uluwatu clothing shop, located next to Ubud Bungalow.

Highly recommended as the staffs are very helpful, cheerful and the rooms are well kept.

Room Tip: My room was Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Amazing hospitality at competitive prices. Good value. Great location. Attentive hospitality. Wayan, the grounds manager, is generous of spirit and made us feel very welcome. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Second level fan rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a beautifully kept quiet sanctuary in the centre of Ubud. Great value for the price! Everything was clean and comfortable. It was probably the best and the least expensive place we stayed in Indonesia! What stood out the most was the excellent service. I had my luggage delayed for 3 days from my flight into the Bali airport and I was lucky that the staff at Ubud Bungalow continued to call the airport for updates. The staff also always had smiles on their faces. One of the friendliest places I have ever stayed. Thank-you Ubud Bungalow!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karniki403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After travelling for almost two weeks in bali this has to be the most efficiently and well run place.

It is kept very well with beautiful gardens and rooms. The bed was a decent size and although we we concerned it had no air con the fan was actually amazing and was the best nights sleep of the whole trip! I was wary that their was no mosquito net but they have coils to light in the evening which does deter them.

The staff was extremely helpful to arrange our taxi, ensure we had everything ready including leaving tax, and let us use the facilities after check out. The pool is a lovely temperature and they also provide the towels.

Those who need a good hearty food to start the day won't be disappointed...

For the value and attentiveness of the staff I could not fault this place. I would even recommended hiring a scooter from them if you dare drive like the Indonesians!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Charlessmallcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#97 of 199 in Ubud
757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#117 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Bungalow

Address: Monkey Forest St. | Ubud Gianyar, Bali, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#33 Family Hotel in Ubud
#40 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £21 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ubud Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Bungalow Hotel Ubud
Ubud Bungalow Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing