We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly disappointing”
Review of Ubud Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ubud Bungalow
Ranked #59 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place has all the potential to be a great place to stay - with stylish bungalows and very nice staff, however we unfortunately arrived to what seemed like a skinny plot of land sandwiched between two building sites. I understand this is not their fault but it really did spoil our time here. Heavy machinery, drilling and hammering blew us out of bed every morning, as early as 8am, and didn't stop until it was too dark for them to work. Lie ins or relaxing by the pool was out of the question for our entire stay. Breakfast although good was a very limited selection - we were only there 4 nights and got bored with the menu. The bungalows have shutter style doors which open inwards and you are given a padlock to put through the seemingly flimsy handles to lock the room. If you push the doors in they still open wide enough to see if there's anyone in the room and what's up for grabs. The bathroom was very tired looking but not much of an issue especially being such good value for money. Location excellent.

Room Tip: If you're elderly or have any form of mobility problem ask for a room on the ground floor. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfbayley91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    221
    47
    13
    2
See reviews for
84
275
87
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Ill get straight into it, 2 single beds pushed together is definitely not a king or queen or whatever size bed and I will always knock off a few stars because of it if effort is not made to rectify the situation. I was given a sincere apology and was told that there was nothing they could do about it, that was when I started looking at different hotels, just as I was about to book a different place to stay I went and made double sure there was nothing that could be done to rectify the situation. I was then told that there were other rooms but they were more expensive, I said that was fine and I asked for a discount on the new room and was told no and I just took it anyways.

That was the end of the issues and had a great time after that, they dont sell beer at the hotel but we just went to the bar across the road which wasnt an issue, appart from a little bit narkey when we were trying to sort out the rooms the staff were excellent including the original person I was dealing with.

All in all my actual review is 3 and 1/2... 1 star taken away for trying to justify 2 singles pushed together as a double and half a star taken for not offering a token anything (small discount on the upgraded room which had obviously had not been booked anyway and was going to be empty if we didnt take it) however I can not give 3 1/2 stars so I have to pick between 3 and 4 which is difficult but I will pick 4 because the gardens were lovely, the gully out the back was nice, in the afternoon I heard traditional music being played somewhere from the forest out back, it was in the heart of ubud but not on that great big hill which is good and after we checked out they were nice enough to let me leave my car parked in their small car park whilst we had lunch and went to the monkey forest.

That's my 2 cents

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ace_Silver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Right in the middle of town. Close to everything. Rooms were still super quiet! The gardens are lush and beautiful. Our breakfast was delicious. My husband and I loved the modern style room which was super spacious with great AC! The value for our money was incredible. The people were very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend d this hotel!
Only con, The wifi didn't always work too well...

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Downey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and ended up in two different rooms. (we extended our stay for 1 night)
The first room 16 was large and spacious with a fan, the bathroom in this room was ok but i found the shower head placed to low, the pressure to be minimal and the toilet did not flush very well, having our own balcony was a charm although the stairs getting up to the room are a bit of a mission. We loved the look and fell of the room although we found we were to hot. and then there were the ants!! I've never seen so many of them and they are so big! The geckos i can handle but ant's i'm not a fan of. Our second room was 21 by the pool it was more modern but a lot smaller the shower and toilet were good and the fan over the bed was nice, so was the lack of ants :). The location is fantastic, not to far from monkey forest, food, bars,entertainment and the markets, they were working on the hotel next door but we spent most of our days out so didn't really notice it.The breakfast was nice even though it is the same set of options everyday and the staff were fantastic always friendly and always helpful, The whole look of the place is magical and is good value.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with walking up steep steps get a room on the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jengiraffe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fine place, nice pool with pool bar

very good breakfast and nice location to most common attractions in Ubud

The rooms and simple but clean.

Easy access to the monkey forest by foot and the ubud market.

Lots of restaurants around the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianShaw-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a fabulous place to stay in Ubud, and the best place we stayed in in Bali. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms that was nonetheless charming, spacious, clean, and had a great big veranda. The breakfast was great especially the pancakes! The pool and gardens are gorgeous, and the staff are all so kind, gracious, and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZOE116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Ubud bungalow fits the need of being perfectly location in town but with mature gardens and Balinese style.
Not wanting to have to get transport just to eat we chose UB as it seemed to provide a compromise and it didn't disappoint. Step outside and you have all that ubud has to offer, step in and you are away from the business and taxi calls.

We stayed in a superior room. These are the older ones on the property but have way more style than the modern deluxe block. They are smart but closer to the road and look very exposed due to big glass doors.

Comfortable foamy beds, ac if needed and fan kept us cool. The bathroom is large enough and simply finished.
Noise does carry from above and we did have a family for a few days which woke us up early morning. Recommend you ask for an end bungalow looking over the forest as these seemed the best deal.

The pool is clean but had a funny taste that left your mouth a little dry.

Breakfast is great, served to the table with a choice of 4 options with juice and fruit. Fresh and tasty plus served with smiles.

The only thing that spoils the place right now is the building work that is going on either side of the hotel. Renovations are taking place right opposite the rooms which are visible through the hedge. It does quieten down early and late but spoilt what would have been a peaceful haven from the town traffic.

Overall a perfectly priced option if travelling or rice paddies aren't on your list.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ollyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#57 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#28 of 198 in Ubud
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 198 in Ubud
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#136 of 198 in Ubud
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
0.4 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#55 of 198 in Ubud
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Bungalow

Property: Ubud Bungalow
Address: Monkey Forest St. | Ubud Gianyar, Bali, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#33 Family Hotel in Ubud
#40 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Ubud Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Bungalow Hotel Ubud
Ubud Bungalow Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing