We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immerse yourself into the Balinese flavor”

Bumbu Bali Restaurant
Ranked #363 of 720 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
197 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Immerse yourself into the Balinese flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Not only is the food an attraction, but the whole environment and cultural presentation was awesome. Bumbu Bali is a great place to experience the Balinese with all senses.

Taste: Your taste buds are exposed to all sorts of sweet, spicy, sour, and salty aspects of the Balinese experience. Even the rice comes in all sorts of colors. For the first time, I had a papaya soup! I wonder where did that come from.
Sight: Cultural performance of dances,costumes, and restaurant decorations are great. Loved those cute little girls in traditional headwear and costumes.
Sound: Live performances of the traditional musical group enhanced the experience of being Balinese for the evening.
Smell: The superb food through the open kitchen and the aromatic extravaganza of flowers and oil fills the nostrils.

Go try this out and you will enjoy the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eywchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    37
    22
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cooking course, delicous food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent the last morning of our honeymoon at the half day cooking course led by a local girl at Bumbu Bali. The class began at the local market where we were introduced to the main ingredients to Balinese cuisine and then we carried onto the restaurant to make at least 5 or 6 traditional Balinese dishes. We really liked the small class size, the group participation in the prep/cooking, and the fact that we received a recipe book and apron to take home. We learned a lot about Balinese cuisine and can honestly say, the dishes we made were our best meal in Bali! I highly recommend this course and restaurant!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 7dancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nasi campur tasty but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Visited here twice,the first time might be 3 years ago,that time I tried nasi campur(veggie),huge and tasty!this time visited again,tried their indian food,ordered chapati,very strange cuz they dont offer curry,or if you want curry,must pay. Chapati is very popular in Malaysia,curry is free,without curry a bit hard to finish it.besides chapati,i ordered banana juice,juice pure like many restaurant standard.I dont recommend their indian food,try their local food,price is reasonable here.Bumbu bali in Ubud in fact no connection to Bumbu bali in Tanjung Benoa, but its ok to use bumbu bali as restaurant's name,cuz it means bali seasonings,it is not a trade mark!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great taste Balinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My mom and I had dinner here on our vacation in Ubud. It wasn't so busy at that time, so we got quite a quick service. We had the Nasi Campur and Bebek Betutu which was superb. The food presentations were wonderful. Their taste were great. So authentic. No downside at all. The servers were so friendly and genuinely warm toward us. The location is strategic, near the Ubud Palace and Ubud Market, so it won't be difficult to find them. Overall, such a pleasant dinner experience for us. Surely will visit this restaurant again on our next trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VaniaTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Brilliant Balinese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

To get a full Bali experience, Bumbu Bali is a must-visit restaurant in Nusa Dua. Expertly prepared Balinese food, provided by superfriendly servers, this little restaurant delivers a brilliant culinary experience. I recommend the Sate Compour, Prawn Papaya Salad as starters, and the Pork BBQ in particular. Wonderful dishes.

Please note that the restaurant provides free taxi service from/to your hotel in Nusa Dua, so give them a call.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubai_Adventurer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bumbu Bali Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bumbu Bali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing