We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go for one meal when in Ubud! Beautiful ambiance”
Review of Cafe Lotus

Cafe Lotus
Ranked #278 of 772 Restaurants in Ubud
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Must go for one meal when in Ubud! Beautiful ambiance”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We ate here a couple times while in Ubud because their food was fresh and delicious and the setting was perfect, sitting on pillows on the floor on an open bamboo floor running along a pond filled with lotus blooms. There's an ancient temple positioned on a hill looking down upon the restaurant and the pond and the main street. It's a very secluded and beautiful spot.

As for food, anything they make with salmon and avocado is wildly delicious, as is their honey/lemon/ginger tea. At least one meal ought to be eaten here while staying in Ubud.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mindythelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    872
    632
    298
    222
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cafe Lotus”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the world. Cafe Lotus has a good menu with both Western and Balinese selections. The site of the restaurant, immediately next to a temple, is one of my favorite things about it. The temple is beautiful, with lotus ponds in front of it. At night, small lanterns illuminate the pathways between the lotus ponds and the temple is lit. Fabulous! Food is deliciious and service is good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Artsgal509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were out in Ubud looking for somewhere to have dinner. They were turning people away so we thought that it must be pretty good. I asked for a table but was told there was nothing available when the owner came past and directed us to a table. When we sat down we realised why it was so busy - every night they put on a performance in the grounds of the temple which you can watch whilst having your dinner. What a brilliant suprise! The temple is all lit up and we watched a local ballet group. The food was good and the service also good. But the scenery was by far the best part of our evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilliPepper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting great food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food at Lotus was great- we ordered from the Indonesian options and they were all good. We enjoyed sitting at the low tables looking across the beautiful ponds and surroundings.
Nice for a casual meal with friends, and well priced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We ate lunch there today, the restaurant has a gorgeous overview of the lotus palace and the lotus ponds but despite that this large restaurant was only about a third full. There was not much of a 'feel' to the place although it was pleasant enough. We were seated quickly by attentive waitstaff and given a large food and drinks menu. There looked to be quite a variety of choice for meat and fish eaters but very little available for those that don't partake. We both had the feta pasta with capers and sun dried tomatoes, for 6500 irp and I had a small equil mineral water for 3500 irp, the pasta was ok a decent sized serve, but it was nothing 'special' , I was watching other diners food come out and I felt somewhat let down by the lack of vege food choices. All in all a pleasant enough place but disappointingly nothing out of the ordinary

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovelee1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Lotus also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing