We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crispy”
Review of Babi Guling Bu Oka

Babi Guling Bu Oka
Ranked #266 of 754 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crispy”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

VIsited this restaurant after read good reviews about it. Indeed, a superb crispy pork skin (maybe correct timing). They have three outlets and visited outlet 2,3 at different days. The service was a little bit bad compared to outlet3. Its worth to try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xiaolong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    197
    186
    54
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Babi Guling”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice experience, the Babi Skin should be crispy, but they already prepared earlier,the one I had not crispy...
One of the delicacy food in ubud and ibu oka one of the many recommended for visitor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naturetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Babi guling in Ubud”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is one of the most famous Babi guling eatery in Ubud. It was the only one where I tried the Babi guling. So, I do not know if it was authentic. What I didn't like was the skin was not as crispy as the suckling pork we have in Malaysia. But, it is worth a try.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SiewLanG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capel, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and over rated”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited the restaurant today after many recommendations.
We were very disappointed with everything.
The service was bad. The waitress got our drinks order wrong twice and we had to still pay for the whole lot. The drinks cost more than at the resort we are staying at.
The skin was greasy and chewy, not nice at all.
The meat was sliced with the grain instead of against it which made it stringy and chewy.
The blood sausage was dry and unpalatable.
We won't be recommending this place to anyone

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Based on reviews, this is a must try place. However i was a little dissapointed. I went at 1pm the place was in one of those back roads and when i got there it was really busy! So i thought hmmm must be good.
We ordered the special and the pig skin, however they ran out of pig skin. So we ordered the mix - meat and skin.
To be honest i had much better suckling pig that skin is crispy and meat yummy. This one the meat is chewy and skin is soggy. I wouldn't reccomend this as the best suckling pig place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BelindaKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babi Guling Bu Oka also viewed

 

Been to Babi Guling Bu Oka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing