We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil and Remote” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #128 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tranquil and Remote”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Huge room with breathtaking views of the surrounding countryside. We experienced good service and ate some amazing meals at the restaurant. The resort is small and private and exquisitely manicured. We got to meet all the other guests during our short stay, but equally could have avoided them without much trouble if we had chosen.
A couple of gripes: our walk in wardrobe smelt a bit musty and the some of the fixtures and fittings in the room were a tad dated/ not quite 5 star; the apartments are a 20 minute drive from the (tourist) centre of Ubud. The latter actually worked out well for us as it meant we had true rest and relaxation, but it did make going out for dinner difficult. (There is a free shuttle bus that is as punctual as a Swiss train and runs every two hours.)
These really are minor gripes for me, but may be important to other people. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thereichinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    78
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
226
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just spent a few days at this fantastic retreat - wish we had booked for longer. Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Our stay at Villa Sarna was the highlight of our 10 day vacation! The grounds were very well kept. The gardens and view were so beautiful and made for a tranquil setting. After time in Seminyak and Kuta the peaceful location was welcome. While it is a distance from Ubud, the hotel provides a shuttle every 2 hours which we found perfect for dinner. The drivers were very obliging taking us to which ever location we wanted and picking us up in the same spot. It is near rice terraces which makes it a good place to begin sight seeing. Breakfast was very good.
As for service, it was so good that they went to Ubud in search of Aloe Vera for the sunburn my boyfriend got in Seminyak. When they could not find it the driver called the front desk and asked them to tell us. They came to the pool to tell us and then the driver called himself when he returned. I think they went beyond expectations in all respects.
I would recommend Villa Sarna to anyone and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneLouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in March 2012.
Positives
* Beautiful gardens
* great plunge pool
* The suite had a large master bedroom and lounge ( where they set up 2 folder beds for the kids.)
* breakfast was excellent
* WiFi was available and functioning well
* Computer available with fast connection in lounge area
* Master bed was super huge , very comfortable and had lovely white linen.
* But it is really the staff that make this small hotel :- nothing was too much trouble , they were always friendly and made our stay.
* we ate dinner by the pool each night ( kids too tired to take into Ubud) - service was quick, food was delicious and well priced.

Negative
* The only negative we had was about our actual room - there was a very musty smell that lingered the whole stay and was a result of the severe moisture damage to one wall , mould on three of the four ceilings and evidence of mould on the curtains. If this had not been the case I would have given Villa Sarna 5 stars. I did get the opportunity to look at 2 of the upstairs rooms (for couples not families) and they were beautiful, with great views and none of the issues we had in our room.

we did not find the 20 minutes out of Ubud a hassle at all .

Room Tip: stay upstairs (?brahma suite ) for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank picklesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad that you had a nice stay with us. We just wanted to let the TripAdvisor forum know that we have addressed the moisture damage issue in the Ganesha Suite almost immediately after this stay, broke down the walls, removed the residue and changed all of the curtains. As it is a tropical rainforest environment, this happened in the Ganesha suite but we fixed the problem as soon as we could. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Villa Sarna pleasantly surprised us with their excellent accommodations, staff and services. This was our first trip to Bali, and we feel very fortunate to have chosen Villa Sarna for our lodging. It is small as in intimate, beautifully landscaped, and conveniently located to Ubud. The poolside massages are a must do. Each day started with a great tasting cup of Bail coffee and ended with a nightcap in their quiet and uncrowded lounge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saakhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in January 2012 and absolutely loved it. The food was superb and the staff were so accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Other members of our group were staying at places that were double the cost and they were wishing they had booked Villa Sarna. We stayed in the Shiva suite and it was superb. Villa Sarna is a true haven away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud yet close enough for regular trips into town. The shuttle service is excellent and again nothing was a problem for the friendly staff here. We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely property.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamingSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. We did not regret it as we went to Ubud looking for a serenity. Usually I prefer to stay in a hotel close to local actions and happenings.
The Sarna villa has only seven villas, we stayed at Vishnu, with great view from the verandah overlooking a small valleys covered with many types of tropical plants.

It feels more like a tropical forest private sanctuary than a hotel. It is quiet, relaxing with lots of fresh air.
Service was more than OK, as they only look after seven villas maximum. Basically if you want something, they don't hesitate to provide it for you and they will try very hard.

Maybe it is worth to note that I came here using a rental car, so there will be no problem at least for us in getting anywhere at anytime. The location of this hotel is quite away from Central Ubud, where the action is, it is a 15 minutes drive from the hotel.

If you don't bring a car, you will have to rely on the hotel's shuttle service, which is scheduled every 2 hours for departure from the hotel to Ubud central. But again, since they are managing a small number of guests (7 rooms) and I saw there were more than two minibuses ready for the services, I think the hotel managed this quite well.

There is also free wifi all over the place including the rooms. This is good, at least you are still connected even you are away in a sanctuary :)

There is also a small pool which has been very inviting but too bad I did not use it.

All in all, this place is the place if:
1. you are looking forward to have a relaxing, quiet and slow day while reading a book or even to write one.
2. you enjoy listening the birds chirping and you may never guess, a rooster wakes you up in the morning! Its all feel very natural.
3. you like to have warm, friendly services with personal touch.

Room Tip: Vishnu room was good for us. It has nice verandah with daybed. It has view overlooking the valley. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PakdeGaBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
7.0 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#139 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.8 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
#120 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sungu Resort & Spa
The Sungu Resort & Spa
#96 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Property: Villa Sarna Ubud
Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#72 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#100 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing