We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of paradise”
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #148 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at Villa Sarna for four nights in May and found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Eating breakfast, whilst enjoying a breath-taking view over the rice paddies and tropical gardens was quite special. Our room, Brahma, had a lovely balcony and was very clean and modern. We particularly enjoyed our 20 minute chauffeured trips in and out of Ubud, chatting to the drivers and learning more about Balinese life and culture. We recommend the bike excursion offered by the villa and the in-house manicure/pedicures. We will return with friends.
Older couple from Melbourne Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mloh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

If you're not beach people, but want to experience Bali for all it has to offer, stay at Villa Sarna. My new husband and I just got back from our honeymoon there, and as outdoors people, we LOVED this place! It is the most beautiful and unique place I've ever been too. Just stay away from the room service, but do enjoy the excursions!!

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms in the whole place, so privacy is not an issues, we LoVED that part :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I was here in May and enjoyed the tranquility this Villa offers. There is a lot of greenery in this villa as it is surrounded by a natural forestry and padi fields nearby. As it is on higher land, u can also enjoy the fresher, cleaner and cooler air as compared to those villas near the city centre. Breakfast is great here and I would recommend the Balinese coffee and the banana pancakes. The staff are very friendly too! Rooms are big, clean and well kept.
Great place to stay if u want to be away from the city centre and enjoys lots of greenery.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank cattsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

I was totally immersed in the beautiful greenery and sheer tranquility of the villa. The staff were very hospitable and we received top-notch service throughout our stay. Also, the food was excellent! Even though my friend & I only stayed for one night, it was an unforgettable experience for us both; we can't wait to come back again! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a well-deserved getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed here back in April 2010 en-route to Singapore (a review is better late than never!?). This was our first stop on a round-the-world trip and it did not disappoint. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was a problem and they were always smiling; it was so lovely! It was quiet while we were there, and the place itself is a great size - winding paths, lots of greenery, and every villa is secluded. They had a driver who you could hire for the day - the second part of our stay was in Nusa Dua, and when enquiring the best methods to get there, they said they could drive us on the daily hire rate - he gave us a personal tour of Bali, in an air conditioned car, and he took us right to our second hotel. In addition to which we learnt so much about Bali from him that we would never have known from our Lonely Planet (though still a valued source!). Very impressed and will always remember our stay here. I would definitely recommend. Only slight downside - the breakfasts aren't very big, just toast or chicken sausages (this may have changed by now though).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoOpEr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed in Villa Sarna in Feb 2012.

Villa Sarna didn't give me a good impression right from the start. The journey from the airport at Depansar took about an hour and a half. And then, whilst Villa Sarna was located right in the middle of nowhere, instead of being really quiet, there was a very loud and irritating sound of someone cutting down trees nearby. ALL day. It was exasperating.

We escaped by taking the shuttle to town.

However, as dusk fell and we returned to Villa Sarna, it transformed into a most charming oasis. Apart from the sounds of crickets singing and toads croaking, it was really peaceful and quiet.

Each room in Villa Sarna is a little standalone hut. We had one right at the corner but I had the impression that most rooms were pretty private. There was a bed/ lounge chair right in front of ours which was fantastic.

Our stay was not without its fair share of troubles though. We had the aircon dripping with water one morning. And then an army of ants carried a dead cockroach right by our door on another morning.. and we had no water in our room on our last night in Bali. It was very difficult to brush and wash without any water.. and worse.. it was impossible to go to the bathroom.. And of course, throughout our stay, the tree cutting noises continued every morning and afternoon.

But the peaceful surroundings each evening, the wonderful breakfast every morning.. and the very friendly staff at Villa Sana made it impossible for me to like the place.

The breakfast every morning was also pretty good. Ask for the mini donuts - they are my favourite part of the breakfast every morning.

For more details and photos, pls see:
<a href="http://www.openkitchenconcept.blogspot.com/2012/02/villa-sarna-ubud.html">http://www.openkitchenconcept.blogspot.com/2012/02/villa-sarna-ubud.html</a>

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OpenKitchenConcept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you for the Tripadvisor Review that has been given. We're so glad to know you enjoyed our peaceful surroundings, breakfasts, and the warm hospitality of our staff. That is what we strive for at Villa Sarna. I do want to apologize for and address some of the issues that were encountered during the stay. Most of the issues were beyond our control, but we do all we can to make sure all guests' stays are as wonderful as can be and do whatever we can to rectify any problems that may arise.

Regarding the 1.5 hour trip from the Airport to our hotel, there is no way around that. That roughly is the amount of time it takes from the Airport to our hotel and basically all hotels/villas in Ubud and the surrounding areas. According to the blog, it seems that the guest had a long 12 hour flight and I can imagine how tiring it must be to land after such a long flight and then have to drive another long distance, but that simply is the time it takes for anybody who travels from the airport to Ubud.

Regarding the tree-cutting on one of the days, we apologize for the inconvenience. It is not a regular occurrence at all, and very rarely a neighboring village makes some noise and we try to tell them to keep the volume down as much as possible. But there is only so much we can ask of people on other properties. We are sorry for this, but we assure guests that this tree cutting in the neighboring village is not normal at all. Regarding the cricket and frog sounds in the evenings, most guests actually enjoy and appreciate them, as we are in the middle of nature and is one of the beautiful aspects about our location.

Regarding the ants, as I just mentioned, we are in nature and we cannot control ants from scurrying in the outdoors. As was mentioned in the review, the insects were outside the villa and not inside. All our villas are regularly cleaned and fumigated for such insects, and there are no such issues inside our villas.

With regards to not having water for a short while on one of the nights, we sincerely apologize for that. We are at the mercy of the town water supply and on rare occasions, the town has issues with the water supply and it affects us and neighboring areas. Again, this is a rare occurrence and we do all we can to alleviate such inconveniences for all guests.

We do want to thank the reviewer for their comments and we really appreciate all feedback. Barring the slight hiccups, we are glad that they enjoyed their stay and our hospitality and we welcome them and all guests back very soon in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

AC room was immaculate, comfortable. Great bathroom, nice porch. Nice to have room service for dinner. Breakfast area is scenic and quiet. Staff was helpful and efficient. The prearranged shuttle from the airport, in combination with the customs "expediter" service, worked as advertised. Glad to have such a good restaurant on site, since there is nothing else nearby.

The shuttle to Ubud takes more than the advertised 15 minutes...perhaps 25 in traffic, and it's not a relaxing trip, since they are moving with a sense of urgency. We enjoyed our stay at Villa Sarna but were glad that we balanced our time by also staying at another place right in Ubud, on Monkey Forest Road.

Room Tip: Vishnu room was very nice. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spark_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
6.7 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#76 of 199 in Ubud
325 reviews
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
5.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#90 of 199 in Ubud
365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abirama Ubud Villa
Abirama Ubud Villa
#116 of 199 in Ubud
35 reviews
5.7 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#83 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#112 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £37 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing