We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andrew M”
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #138 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Andrew M”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

What a fabulous place to stay. A large, beautifully appointed unit, lovely setting and grounds. Out in the country but with easy access to the best of Bali and really outstanding staff - very friendly and helpful. I couldn't imagine anything better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    78
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
226
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parramatta, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had a wonderful time at the villa. Stayed in the spacious and beautifully decorated Shiva room which had wonderful views of the distant village and rice terraces. In fact, a visit to the village on the other side and a walk through the terraces was a great way to spend a morning. We also went on the bicycle ride organised with Villa Sarna, and that was perhaps the highlight of our holiday. The next day we hired a driver for the day and visited Bedugal and Candikuning as well as temples and the botanical gardens- that was well worth a visit. I suggest going to Ubud only for short visits and spending the rest of the time around the villa. Can't think of a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and you get a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullinge, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Very nice and friendly place, if i going back to Bali i´m definitely going to stay here again. Friendly and helpful staff, the rooms are nicely decorated with nice bed and decoration. The surrounding gives you peace and harmony. Good breakfast and you can chose to eat in your balcony with a view over the jungle.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The best service we got in Ubud, even we move to the ayanna we still miss our room called Brahma villa in Villa Sarna! Only 7 villas there means private like you stay at your home! Thank you guys for everything during our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urslulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in their Brahma room for a few nights & found the room to be nicely furnished, giving a warm & pleasant feeling. The villa only has a few rooms, which keeps the place relatively private. Being away from Ubud town also meant more seclusion. View from the room is beautiful & relaxing, looking out onto a small ravine with greenery everywhere.
Negative points: Bathroom is not as spacious as it should be, since there is no private pool. No tub, breakfast is so-so. Staff are generally ok, but some speak poor english. When we arrived at 1030pm, we waited for a very long time (15-20?min) before being shown to our room. Lastly, a bit expensive overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Yes, as other reviews will indicate, when you choose Villa Sarna, you are within walking distance of, well, nothing in Ubud short of the same restaurant a hilly half-kilometer away that produces food for room service. But when a hotel itself is so attractive, it seems worth it.

Villa Sarna consists of a handful of rooms and suites that are located on a steep slope about 15 minutes drive from central Ubud. For the few days we visited, we made use of the free mini-van to take us into town, and hired inexpensive cabs to bring us back. Some rooms are more private than others: The Arjuna, among the less expensive, offers maximal privacy, though could risk slight mustiness; the Saraswati, which we had booked, had a not-very-well conceived second room that is the result of a clumsy renovation; on reflection, we might have hired the Krishna, located directly above the Saraswati, for greater privacy, less mustiness up on the second floor, and an even better view from the balcony. But no matter: It was all beautiful.

One strains to describe the rich verdant views across the valley where Villa Sarna is located, as well as the fine attention to the gardens surrounding the hotel, its topiary, and its statuary. The highlight, which still manages to be hidden away given the terrain, is the spectacular pool and gazebo one or two levels down in the garden from the rooms.

Service at the hotel was optimal, from an easy check in and check out, to a delicious breakfast served on a small deck perched again in the hills.

While we had no problems at the hotel, it seems obvious that anyone with mobility issues would be challenged by all the stone stairs, stairs which were doubly tricky to navigate in between heavy rains during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThoughtfulGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I recently traveled to Bali for the first time. Villa Sarna was the first place I stayed during my trip. After 26 hours of travel it was like arriving in paradise. The grounds and decor are beautiful. I stayed in the Arjuna villa. It is private, clean and very spacious. I was so happy that there was wifi in the villas as well as the property lounge and outdoor dining room. The staff was wonderful and the food was quite good. The daily transportation to and from Ubud center made it so convenient to stay a bit outside of the busy town. The only reason why I am not giving Villa Sarna an excellent review is because the towels were a bit worn out and my shower leaked. Other than that, I highly recommend staying at Villa Sarna!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedLotusMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for the review that has been given! We are so glad that you had a great time with us. We're so sorry that you experienced a leaky shower and worn towels. We can assure you that the shower has been fixed and new/fresh towels are most definitely always provided! If there is ever any issue, just let our staff know and we'll rectify it immediately. Thanks again and we appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
5.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#102 of 198 in Ubud
143 reviews
3.8 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
#116 of 198 in Ubud
32 reviews
2.9 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#56 of 198 in Ubud
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Property: Villa Sarna Ubud
Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#77 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#106 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing