We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, very accommodating staff”
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #134 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, very accommodating staff”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Yes, this place is not exactly down the street from Ubud's center. The staff is very helpful and accommodating, though, and the setting is so beautiful and serene, I'm pretty sure I would have found it tough to leave even if it were next door to Ubud Palace. The room size, decorations, and amenities were good for the price, the food was good, and the villa's grounds and surrounding area is breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmliem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    79
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
226
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed in the Villa Sarna for 4 nights along with my wife, 2 kids, and mother.

Positives
+property is very well maintain
+villa was very spacious
+hotel drivers are very nice and kind / and good with my kids
+breakfast was good and dining area has a nice view (although depending on the weather there can be bug and fly infestations, for example we had flies in our milk and juice)
+view from the room is great and room was very private
+staff are very friendly and really do all they can (however, as other reviewers have rightly noted, as the owner lives in New York it seems they are not empowered to truly meet the special needs of their guests and respond to issues as they do not get a true picture of the facts)

Negatives
-pool not heated and was too cold for my family to enjoy
-all the villas, in particular the Saraswati, require you to go up many winding staircases and therefore I would not recommend the hotel for families with small children (I was advised the Sarawati was on the first level and not at the top of the property)
-closet was musty smelling and obviously suffering from some water leakage
-Villa Sarna is further from Ubud than advertised (shuttle typically took 30 minutes not the 15 minutes per the website)
-We unfortunately had problems with the hotel on 3 of the 4 nights we stayed. For example:
*The return shuttle to the hotel will only come if you call the hotel. The number we were provided did not work (we were not provided any other numbers). We waited until 15 minutes past the pickup time and resorted to paying for a taxi back to the hotel. When we arrived back at the hotel there were no staff on hand (aside from housekeeping) and we had to spend at least 45 minutes trying to get a hold of the Manager to complain. We were inititially told that there was a problem with incoming calls. Later we were told by the General Manager that all the phone lines in the area were out and all the guests had been advised this (which is not accurate).
*On the second night we returned to our room to find that our lock did not work. After waiting for 30 minutes and havning different staff try different keys, a staff member aventually pried the door open. The lock was repaired another 30 minutes later. In a later email from the owner, he accused my wife of physically breaking the lock (which was not true as witnessed by my entire family and hotel staff.
*On the next night we arrived back at the hotel in te evening to find out that there was no water. The water was turned back on about 2 hours later. There appeared to be an issue with the hotel pump as there was water in the management office and kitchen. Later we were told that it was not the hotels fault however, It was not clear why this was the case. I note from other reviews that this hotel frequently has water issues, whether or not the hotel's fault.
-Whilst we were given some massage vouchers to compensate for our troubles, the overall attitude of the Manager, General Manager, and Owner, appears to be that "we try our best, but will not be held responsible for anything that goes wrong during our stay". Basically its "not our fault"

Overall negatives outweight the positives. Also understand the hotel has only been in business for 2.5 years according to the drivers. As they only have 7 rooms, it seems unusual that they have so many reviews on TA.com (243 as at the time of this review). Many look similar and I am concerned that someone may be fabricating them.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fish_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
I am very surprised to read this guest's response, especially because most of what was written was not true at all and distorted the facts. I would like to respond in complete detail and explain each part of the review and let everybody know what really happened during the guest's stay.

- I agree in that the pool is quite chilly in the morning and there is also foliage that covers a good portion of the pool which blocks some of the natural sunlight. Because of guest demand and reviews to this matter, we are installing a better heating mechanism than is already in place. We should have done a long time ago and we apologize for this. It should be done within a month.

- The Saraswati Room was clearly advised to the guest our e-mail to be several steps up above another one of our rooms and was on the lower level of the Villa. That was clearly written in our e-mail, and that is a reason why the view is so great (as mentioned by guest), as you are high up overlooking nature.

- There is absolutely no water leakage in the closets. We checked this thoroughly in all our rooms. Because we are in a tropical environment, there is obviously a lot of moisture and perhaps the natural all wood closets absorbed some of this moisture. We always air out and dehumidify rooms on a daily basis, but it's impossible to remove 100% of moisture due to the climate.

- The villa is 15-20 minutes away depending on traffic. We have timed it on the clock many times, but I'm sure the guest may have felt it was longer.

Now I would like to respond in detail to what actually happened regarding the shuttle, lock, and water issue. As they say, there are two sides to every story and I feel it is only fair that we tell all Tripadvisor readers our side.

- The guest told us in the morning that they would like to be picked up at 7:30 PM. When they called to reconfirm, they couldn't get in touch with us since most of the phone lines in the town were down for a couple of hours. In any case we sent shuttles before 7:30 to pick them up because we already knew they would be there from their morning request, and we also wanted to make sure to pick up other guests who may have wanted to come back but could not get in touch with us because of phone issues. We picked up other guests at that time in our drop area and even waited a while for these particular guests but they were not there. When they got back to the Villa after taking a taxi, they started screaming and shouting angrily at our manager, who obviously apologized for the phone issue and said that a car actually went back for them. In any case, the manager happily reimbursed them for their taxi fare while profusely apologizing, even though we did everything possible. Even after reimbursement, they were screaming and demanded to have their night comped because of this. Obviously, the guest was trying to take advantage of a situation in which we did our due diligence and corrected the situation. Even so, we want to make our guests happy even when some demands are unwarranted. We offered them free massages which they happily accepted after berating us unfairly.

- The next night after returning from their tour we took them on during the day, they had trouble getting into their room with their key. I'm sure 99.9% of all Tripadvisor guests have had trouble with their keys at hotels in one time in their lives. But staff responded with efficiency and a smile on their face always. Within minutes, our staff used a screwdriver to remove the screws outside the lock to open the door and allow them into the room asap. As guests’ safety and privacy are of our utmost concern, we called a locksmith immediately that night to replace the lock. And as the guest said, it was done within 30 minutes at 9:30 at night! The locksmith said after looking at the lock that the reason the lock broke was because the guest did not turn the key completely before removing the key, and basically yanked it out when it was not supposed to and kept jarring at it. In any case, we fixed the problem immediately and again apologized for any inconvenience they may have had, regardless that they themselves had caused the breakage of the lock. Our staff never accused them but happily did it with a smile, yet the guests still took it out on the staff and demanded greater compensation for their troubles.

- The following evening, there was an issue with the connection with a water supply from the outside coming into the compound. Very rarely does this happen, but when it does, I can imagine how irritating it can be for guests. However, we always do our best to fix the problem that arises, whether it is in our control or not. However, when the water temporarily went out, the reaction and behavior of the guests who wrote this review was shocking and appalling. Without warning or telling us what the problem was, the male guest literally kicked down the door of reception and went into a rage. He ripped papers off the wall of reception, threw them all over the room, and was angrily screaming at our two young receptionists. These innocent girls did nothing to warrant this guest and were literally in shock and afraid for their safety. They had to call our security to come in so that the guest perhaps would not escalate things further. After the screaming stopped and our girls calmed down from this, we immediately got our staff to diagnose the problem and they were able to fix it in less than 20 minutes, not the 2 hours that the guest falsely claims. And after we told them it was now fixed, the guest still refused to go back to his room to test the water and further screamed and demanded further compensation for their troubles. And even after all of these actions towards our staff, we obliged and were just as courteous and gracious to them. That is how our staff is built. They are wonderful people who even in face of extreme situations, they have the strength to move forward and be just as kind and helpful to these guests as they are to every other guest. And we will continue to strive to be the best service oriented hotel we can possibly be.

Lastly, we are extremely offended by the guest’s final comment that he insinuates that our reviews are fabricated. That is the worst kind of accusation that we have ever come across. We have been operating for over 3 years and have had over 2000 guests walk through our doors. 100% of reviews are absolutely genuine and Tripadvisor has gone through extreme lengths to preserve the integrity of their entire site for all hotels and viewers. That is why Tripadvisor is the greatest unbiased forum on the Internet and is such an amazing resource for prospective guests and hotels. I want to thank all Tripadvisor reviewers for reading this long response, and we hope to have you visit us soon at Villa Sarna and have the experience of a lifetime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

What a fabulous place to stay. A large, beautifully appointed unit, lovely setting and grounds. Out in the country but with easy access to the best of Bali and really outstanding staff - very friendly and helpful. I couldn't imagine anything better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parramatta, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had a wonderful time at the villa. Stayed in the spacious and beautifully decorated Shiva room which had wonderful views of the distant village and rice terraces. In fact, a visit to the village on the other side and a walk through the terraces was a great way to spend a morning. We also went on the bicycle ride organised with Villa Sarna, and that was perhaps the highlight of our holiday. The next day we hired a driver for the day and visited Bedugal and Candikuning as well as temples and the botanical gardens- that was well worth a visit. I suggest going to Ubud only for short visits and spending the rest of the time around the villa. Can't think of a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and you get a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullinge, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Very nice and friendly place, if i going back to Bali i´m definitely going to stay here again. Friendly and helpful staff, the rooms are nicely decorated with nice bed and decoration. The surrounding gives you peace and harmony. Good breakfast and you can chose to eat in your balcony with a view over the jungle.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The best service we got in Ubud, even we move to the ayanna we still miss our room called Brahma villa in Villa Sarna! Only 7 villas there means private like you stay at your home! Thank you guys for everything during our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urslulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in their Brahma room for a few nights & found the room to be nicely furnished, giving a warm & pleasant feeling. The villa only has a few rooms, which keeps the place relatively private. Being away from Ubud town also meant more seclusion. View from the room is beautiful & relaxing, looking out onto a small ravine with greenery everywhere.
Negative points: Bathroom is not as spacious as it should be, since there is no private pool. No tub, breakfast is so-so. Staff are generally ok, but some speak poor english. When we arrived at 1030pm, we waited for a very long time (15-20?min) before being shown to our room. Lastly, a bit expensive overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
6.3 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
7.0 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#139 of 198 in Ubud
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
#133 of 198 in Ubud
40 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
#120 of 198 in Ubud
34 reviews
2.9 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#54 of 198 in Ubud
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Property: Villa Sarna Ubud
Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#80 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#105 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing