We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of Paradise”
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #146 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed here a year ago and had the most amazing experience. It is nestled in amongst the forest, we were greeted by the extremely friendly staff. We were shown to our room which was absolutely amazing, extremely spacious. There are only a few villas here, so it is absolutely peaceful. The gardens are breathtaking and I found myself in absolute heaven!
The food was great and there was a bus to the center of Ubud as part of the hotel.
My only complaint was that even though the weather was worthy of swimming the pool itself was freezing! Too cold to swim in!
Definitely would love to return next time I go to Ubud!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed in the beatiful and spaceous Ganesha room and loved it. Staff is very friendly and caring and the villa is just amazing.
Villa Sarna is located 15minutes North of Ubud just of the main road in a peaceful and quiet surrounding. Very convenient is the complementary shuttle which brings you to the centre and back every two hours.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Flawless meeting at the gate, by a guy who whisked us thru customs (the hotel will arrange that for you) and then a nice drive to the hotel.

We arrived after about 36 hours of travel and were in no way disappointed. We had room service delved very quickly from a restaurant up the street. Inexpensive and amazingly delicious. Drank the good cold bingeing in the minibar and passed out. There is good cable TV for the completely jetlagged. Breakfast starts at 6:30 which also helps.

The grounds are amazing. The staff is unfailingly helpful and nice. Communication was pretty great in English. The pool is wonderful. We came with a 6 and 9 year old and felt rather self conscious about any kid noise, but that's us. We kept them away from the pool while there was a massage happening and as quite as possible the rest of the time.

The room was spacious, good AC, comfy bed and pillows, not so comfy roll outs for the kids. Reasonable Wifi. If you need a constant and fat wifi, look elsewhere or bring your own.

The transport into Ubud was good. Always left on time, always met you just when and where they say they will and will deliver you pretty much anywhere in Ubud you need to be.

All and all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schweee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Villa Sarna has a few positives, but the numerous negatives do not justify the price at all. Might be acceptable for half of what we paid.

Here's what's wrong:

- we stayed in the Ganesha suite, which is DAMP. Really damp. We live in Singapore and we know humidity, and this was taking it to a whole other level. Bedsheets, toilet paper, towels were just under what you'd call wet, and the room and sheets smelled very strongly of mould and humidity. Our clothes in the suitcase were very damp by the end of our stay.

- although the grounds are absolutely charming at first sight, you quickly notice signs of decay. Eg statues where the stone has crumbled and only the interior iron frame is left (which by the way indicates cheap plaster and cement statues, rather than quality items where the stone is carved directly)

- the fittings inside the room aren't worthy of a "boutique villa." The sink is enormous and the tap sits awkwardly, slightly to the side of its center. The soap/shampoo dispensers are really not sexy and the products inside are fluorescent and brash, not soft and refined. The paintings on the walls looked like mass-produced cheap soulless art to me, but I'm not an expert so maybe I can't judge: still it didn't help in my case.

- you're far outside of town. Our driver said "9km which is 25 minutes" although it might have been a bit less at times. It's not exactly a deal-breaker on its own, but arranging your schedule around the shuttle bus times, plus having to call in advance to book (hence massive roaming fees) mean you'll almost certainly have to pay for a cab on a couple occasions.

- the restaurant closes at 9pm: one night another couple had to rush to town on the 9pm shuttle, run to 7/11 to buy some pringles, hurry back for the 9.30 return shuttle and pretty much do without dinner that day. Again, not a big deal on its own if you're organised, but you're on holiday and there will be times where it will ruin your evening.

- breakfast was only so-so

- we had dinner in the room once which was nice enough, but preparing all the dishes at once meant they all arrived at room temperature


Positives:

- the view of the valley is beautiful, as is most of the road to Ubud (and even more so if you go the other way)

- staff were delightful and helpful (but seriously, where in Bali are they not?) and did their best to help with the stink in our room by putting in scented candles and aircon, although that was only partial comfort as it could only help so much in a short period of time, and ultimately was treating the symptoms and not the cause

- drivers are great, resourceful, knowledgeable, friendly and many more nice epithets, especially Rena

- our room was huge


Again, none of the problems are a dealbreaker on their own, but added together (and they really do add up) they made our hotel the part of our day we were least looking forward to. It was NOT the "boutique villa" experience we were looking forward to and the many shortcomings are just inexcusable if you're branding yourself as a luxury place with that little extra thing you can't find anywhere else.

Fortunately we still had a terrific time in Ubud and loved it there.

Room Tip: Don't pick the Ganesha room. Looking into it, there have been reviews complaining about the humi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesuit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

I wanted to take some time to adequately respond to the review that was given; as such a review truly upsets us and our staff that we didn't provide a wonderful experience to everyone.

We are extremely sorry that the guest had to experience such damp conditions in the Ganesha Suite, which is one of our largest and most popular rooms. That week, there was as an extreme amount of rainfall and humidity and we simply tried our level best to air out and dehumidify the room to the best of our ability. As mentioned in the review, that is why our staff did our level best to rectify the situation with scented candles and stronger air conditioning; which the guests were very appreciative of. If the issue was so unbearable, the guest would have asked us to change rooms, which we would have gladly offered but they did not ask at all. I'm can only assume that is the case because they enjoyed the space of the suite and/or the problem was rectified satisfactorily. If available and if space was a primary concern for not asking for the move, we would have happily given two rooms to satisfy the guests' needs without problem. As we have said in numerous review responses, all you have to do is ask. That is what separates us from most hotels in Bali; it's our service and ability to respond to any issues and to go above and beyond to make it right. That is a hallmark of a great boutique hotel, and I believe we do that exceptionally.

Regarding the fittings in the room, I have to respectfully disagree; especially in the case of the Ganesha Suite. I believe it stems from the fact that the guest’s interpretation of a "boutique" villa differs substantially from ours and others in general. I can only glean from most of their responses that they expect "boutique" to mean "new", "modern", "sexy", or "hip." That is not what we are about at Villa Sarna and not the definition of "boutique." Villa Sarna is about re-imagining Old World Balinese culture while having New World comforts. "Boutique" means a smaller and high quality establishment with more personal attention and greater service. And judging by our reviews and Expedia award designations, I believe we have accomplished that.

Regarding our grounds, I believe the guest has seen small cracks/crumbles of a small statue in front of their room and used that to unfairly and falsely characterize the entire grounds of the compound. The flowers and greenery are absolutely beautiful and immaculate kept, and I'm confident to say that our incredible large statues and Buddhas rival and eclipse those of any establishment in all of Bali. The reviews and the pictures do not lie. Our gardeners work round the clock to make sure the grounds are kept very pristine. Our large statues were carved and made by the same famous sculptor who creates the enormous statues at the Airport and Central Ubud, and I doubt he would use anything of inferior quality. In any case, we will still look carefully at every statue and see if anything needs repair, cleaning, or replacement.

Going back to the room fittings, I don't see how having a custom made beautifully stone-carved Balinese oversize sink can possibly be a negative. Regarding the soap/shampoo dispensers, we feel that it is extremely convenient for guests as opposed to opening up tons of plastic bottles. Plus, we feel it is more "green" and better for the environment than to have to dispose of thousands of plastic bottles on an island where recycling is not really a way of life like in modern countries. The quality of the soaps and shampoos are top notch, and we apologize if the color of the soaps is not to your liking. We can easily look into changing the color to more muted tones, as it's not a problem. Regarding the art, we obviously are not going to put expensive pieces of original art in rooms, no hotel does. Everybody knows art is purely subjective in general and I'm sure many people in the world feel as if the artwork of a Picasso or Monet is "soulless" but yet they still fetch millions of dollars. That is just the nature of art.

Regarding our distance from Ubud, again this should be zero surprise for everybody that has read reviews and our responses. We are approximately 15-20 minutes from Ubud central. I've stop-watched it on many occasions. At night, it can even be shorter than this since. Our shuttle service is quite convenient and I disagree that anyone would surely have to take a cab. We are a very small hotel and all we ask is to request a pickup time either when they leave in the morning or call up during the day. The tourist center in Ubud has phones and nearly any restaurant will allow for a local call to be made. Thousands of guests have done this with no problem. And as we've said before, if a guest requests a pickup outside of shuttle timings, please call us and if we by chance have a car available, we will pick you up with no problem.

Regarding the guest who wished to pick up chips at night, all he/she had to do is ask us and we would have gladly went into town when a car was available and picked one up for them. Or we would have accompanied them and waited and brought them back. I again sincerely doubted that the guest asked us. We never wish to make life difficult for any guest and on the contrary, we would have made things extremely simple. We have gotten guests medicines and toiletries etc on many occasions, simply because they asked.

As we mentioned on a previous review, we have extended the last pick up time at night to 10:15pm from the initial 9:30pm. We don't want guests having to rush from dinner early to catch the last 9:30 shuttle. That was inconvenient to many of our guests’ dinner plans, and this should solve all those problems.

Regarding breakfast, we do our absolute best and have quite a good assortment of options from eggs, pancakes, Belgian waffles, nasi goreng, fresh juices etc.

Regarding dinner, if room service ever comes less than desirable whether it food temperature or quality, please let us know and we will make it right for you by either replacing it or not charging. Please just let us know.

We do thank you for your positive comments about our staff and location and we appreciate your stay at Villa Sarna, as we strive to be the best establishment we can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the recommendation of the reviews. We were not disappointed. Villa Sarna is Ubud's best kept secret. We stayed in the Krishna suite, it was gorgeous, beautifully decorated, over looking the the forest. Our Villa was very private, surrounded by magnificent gardens and stone sculptures.
The staff were great, they couldn't do enough for us.We transferred to Villa Sara from a Jimbarran Bay hotel and the driver left our duty free alcohol in the back of the car. A driver was organized to pick it up for us. This was over and above customer service.
The shutte bus into Ubud was very convenient. The drivers were very willing to drop you to where ever you wanted to go. I had organized a 2 hour pampering at a day spa and the driver took me and was waiting when I finished.
We did not fly out until 11pm but we were able to enjoy the day around the pool and were were provided with another villa to get changed and have a shower in. We felt very refreshed. We had one last dinner at the the little restaurant adjacent and were picked up to go to the airport.
Thanks Sarna, for our great conversations, let us know if you want us to write you a fitness program! Boot Camp at Sarna???
Thanks again for making our holiday so special. We will be back!
Jen and Rog, Gisborne, Australia

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abel_jennifer_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband has been to Bali 6 times, but had never stayed in Ubud. We wanted a quick get-a-way. We found this place on Trip Advisor sort of last minute and were pleasantly surprised. We loved the design of the hotel - very private, quiet and amazing landscaping. We liked the hotel food, but do read the other reviews here - there is no restaurant so if you want dinner you can call ahead and have it delivered to your room or eat it in the dining area. Also I am not sure why they have ice cream on the menu since it was always melted by the time it arrived! (Not a big deal - just worth mentioning). The drivers from the hotel are so accommodating, friendly and knowledgable. We learned a lot about Balinese culture on every outing which we found fascinating. I'd definitely suggest doing a few of the tour ideas they have listed.

The hotel employees are great too! We did a snorkel trip and did not bring sunscreen or towels and the hotel made sure that our driver and snorkel guide took care of that for us. One night there was a very bad rain storm in Ubud so the hotel called our driver to warn him since we were en route to Ubud. We thought that was very considerate.

The only real negative I can think of is the climate inside the rooms. It's very humid so the room has a bit of a wet smell. We also had a few lizard friends crawling around behind our TV.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessMarijaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July 2012 for 4 nights at the start of our amazing honeymoon in Bali and we would definitely recommend it. It's a bit of a hidden gem! We had a fab time so here's the summary of the positives and negatives.

Positives
- Service was amazing. All the staff are so friendly and cannot do enough to help you during your stay.
- The spa treatments are amazing and really good value. You can have a 30 min massage for about £15, either by the pool or in your room. We both had a massage the day we arrived, by the pool, which was wonderfully relaxing after our long haul flight and day of travelling!
- There is a free shuttle bus service into and out of town. The drivers are so friendly and they are pretty flexible with where they will drop you in town, always asking us which restaurant we wanted to go to. You need this shuttle as the town is too far away to walk.
- The breakfasts were lovely and you could order as much as you like, freshly cooked. We recommend the banana pancakes!
- The hotel recommended lots of excursions and we were so glad we did these as they gave us some of the best memories of our whole honeymoon. We really recommend the Elephant Park (we did the Elephant Safari ride which was unforgettable) and we combined this with some white water rafting in the morning which was great. We also visited the Safari / Zoo Park (we paid the hotel to drive us there and collect us for a very reasonable price) and this was amazing. We held a baby orangutan and saw white tigers, giraffes, hippos etc all very close up. It was fab.

Negatives
- Yes the hotel is a little further from the centre of Ubud, but they do tell you this when you book and they do offer a free shuttle. For us, we liked it because we had lots of privacy for our honeymoon. Only slight drawback is the last collection time from town is not very late (about 9 / 9.30pm) so if you want to stay out later you'd be better off getting a cab or staying somewhere more central.
- There is no restaurant, only room service from the nearby Kampung Cafe The food isn't amazing and is semi cold by the time it arrives. We recommend just eating out in Ubud, it is much better an more exciting and varied.

Overall, we had a great time and would recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Krishna room and would recommend it for couples. It has a 4 poster bed and is up so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlepinksophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

We would like to thank the guests very much for the review that was given. We are so happy that the guests thoroughly enjoyed their Honeymoon at Villa Sarna and it was an absolute pleasure to serve them. We always strive to provide the best service and experience for all our guests and are constantly improving ourselves.

Regarding some of the issues that were written, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and let us elaborate for further clarification.

- Firstly, we are so glad you enjoyed our location and the privacy that it affords. Yes, the last shuttle timing is 9:30pm from Ubud central. However, as we mentioned many times in previous management responses, we encourage all guests to ask us if they have any special requests whatsoever and we will do our utmost best to fulfill them. In this case, if we have cars available and are able to pick up guests after the last scheduled pick up time, we will do our best to accommodate this. All you have to do is ask and if we are at all able, we will surely go out of our way to do it happily. We are a very flexible hotel and nothing is set in stone when it comes to providing for our guests. Please just ask.

- Regarding the semi cold food from Room service, we are so very sorry that this had occurred. We do not expect guests to settle or pay for sub-par food at all, as everybody deserves the best. We encourage guests to let us know that if they are not 100% satisfied with anything, whether it is food or something else, please let us know asap. We will surely make it right for you right away. We would have gladly replaced the meals with hot and fresh ones or not charged for it. I have already alerted our restaurant and our staff of this immediately, and we will have a very watchful eye on all food service to make sure all guests enjoy the great room service meals that we have to offer.

Thanks so much for the review and looking forward to serving all guests at Villa Sarna very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
6.7 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#78 of 199 in Ubud
331 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#115 of 199 in Ubud
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
5.7 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
5.2 mi away
The Sungu Resort & Spa
The Sungu Resort & Spa
#113 of 199 in Ubud
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#82 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#113 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £37 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing