We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star facilities at minimal rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #130 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“5 star facilities at minimal rates”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked the hotel after reading reviews about many hotels on trip advisor. Being on my honeymoon, I wanted serene, isolated yet easy access to the main market and this hotel proved to be the perfect one. I strongly recommend Arjuna room for the patio. And ofcourse, the cordial and useful staff is a big boon.

Would like to stay again in future.

Details of stay:

Date: Feb 21-23, 2013
Room: Arjuna

Regards
Aniket

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AniYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    78
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
226
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We loved this place. They are located outside the city, but close enough where it isn't an unpleasant trip into the city. They offer a free shuttle and the drivers were very nice (taking us to the store, giving us tips, sharing their story). The mountain bike ride we book thru the hotel was great. One of the guys from the hotel was our guide and he gave us a great tour, even stopping at a family's house for a tour. The torrential downpour at the end of the ride only made it even more memorable.
The kitchen staff there in the morning was great. They made us special food when I was feeling sick.

Room Tip: The Krishna room is where we stayed. Read good reviews about it and it lived up to them. Great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Spent 4 nights here, staff were pleasant, as everyone we meet in Bali are. Room was decent, though you need to be fit if you get the Shiva room! Bathroom was rather pokey, though shower area was very large, water pressure was very low and did not enjoy showering at all. We had trouble finding the place our driver had no idea and several queries on the way did not help, eventually found the villa by chance.We had no idea it was out of town and not the 15mins as advised but 30-35mins, with a shuttle service it made it difficult to just wander off to Ubud for a bit of shopping & lunch before going back to room for a rest before heading out for dinner. Rather spoiled that part of our stay. Had one meal in the "restaurant"and it arrived at villa by motorbike, it was a take out from a restaurant up the road and subsequently entree & main served at the same time and both were warmish. Breakfast was nothing to rave about. A number of negatives and some positives, may pay to ensure that on Asiarooms they clearly mention how far out of Ubud it is as it may suit some travellers but can be very off putting if you are looking for something in walking distance of Ubud central.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK13110301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for the review that was given and I am glad that you enjoyed our amazing staff and pleasant accommodations. Regarding the water pressure, I apologize for this as sometimes as this room is a little high up in the hill, and on occasion, the water pressure is a little light. Again, this is only on occasion because of the height of the villa and the fact that many guests may have been using the water at the same time. It is a rare occurrence, but occasionally it does happen and we apologize for it. We are installing more water pumps specifically for higher rooms such as this, and it should be done within the next couple of weeks for absolute sure. Regarding breakfast and the room service, many of our guests love the food and I apologize if it was not to your liking. Many of our guests as you can see based on this forum praised our breakfasts and restaurant/room service. Taste is obviously subjective, but I'm sorry it was not perfect for the guest's liking.

I am quite confused how one would not know the distance from our Villas to the centre of Ubud. We have been explicitly clear in all websites and review responses that we are 15-2- minutes drive from the town centre during normal traffic and sometimes even under 15 minutes during nighttime when traffic is extremely light. We are only about 8km from the town centre. Being that the reviewer took the time to specifically write a review of our hotel, he/she should have known without a shadow of a doubt the exact time and distance. It is zero surprise of our location and management responses, as shown in many, many reviews and I'm sure the reviewer perused our numerous positive reviews before booking on AsiaRooms. We usually try to take our guests from the scenic route around rice paddy fields, but if they want to get there very quickly, we always honor this request. There are times when there are Balinese religious procession on the road, and that can cause slight traffic delay. Our guests enjoy watching the procession seeing Balinese in their beautiful outfits carrying religious offerings -this culture can only be seen outside the center and rarely in other places in Bali. Most of our guest love the fact that we are away from the hustle and bustle of the center, yet have easy access to the town on our convenient shuttle. If there were a time that the guest wanted to be picked up from the shuttle which is not scheduled, all he/she has to do is ask, and if a driver is available, we would gladly pick them up in an instant anywhere within a half hour from the hotel. We are here to serve our guests so that they can have maximum comfort.

We have mentioned our flexibility and our desire to go that extra mile for guests. That's a great reason why we were selected again as one of Expedia's Insider's Select Hotels of 2013, a rare and distinguished designation given to only 650 hotels out of 150,000 in the Expedia hotel family. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review and for all Tripadvisor readers viewing this response. We at Villa Sarna really strive to the best we can be and give it our absolute all to do everything possible for our guests. We are honored and thrilled that because of you guests, we are able to gain this amazing honor that Expedia has bestowed upon us. We the staff at Villa Sarna are looking forward to taking care of you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This review is a year overdue, but Villa Sarna is still a place I think about often and fondly. The setting is stunning and I love the beautiful statues of Saraswati and Ganesha-- my two favorite Hindu deities. It was definitely one of the most expensive places we stayed, but it was well worth the splurge. We stayed in two different rooms and both were clean, comfortable, and felt opulent with the fresh fruit, wood carvings, textiles, and welcome flowers on our bed that read, "I heart U," in celebration of our honeymoon. We were also treated to a complimentary half hour couples' massage our first evening there. The daily breakfast was delicious and the restaurant/hotel they partner with for dinners was also extremely yummy and was actually one of my favorite meals on our five week Southeast Asian honeymoon! The garden at the dinner place was also so lush and was the place where I witnessed a chicken fly for the first time in my life! Ha!

On our third day, we went on a bicycle tour with Madi (I'm unsure of spelling, I apologize), who was so much fun. He tricks-out scooters and was incredibly kind, genuine, and a blast to hang out with. The bicycle tour was the highlight of our Ubud experience thanks to Madi's adventurous, warm spirit.

Back to massage... I'm a massage-fanatic and during our honeymoon I tried to get massaged on a regular basis. The massages at Villa Sarna were wonderful and all of the staff were so sweet and skilled.

Again, Bali was the most expensive place we stayed, but it was absolutely worth it. If you are able to splurge a bit and stay at Villa Sarna, I cannot recommend it enough. Rent a scooter and explore the music, dancing, rituals, nature, sites, sounds, tastes, and pleasures of Ubud, and then go home to a relaxing and tucked away oasis at Villa Sarna!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl_Ito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The staff and service at Villa Sarna had to be the best in our entire stay in Bali. The staff knew us well by the end of our first day.

Its quiet and secluded, ideal for a romantic getaway.

The cycling tour was one of our highlights of our whole stay in Bali. A local gives the tour and takes you through the rice paddies and even into his own home village.

They even provide free shuttle transport to and from Ubud town - which is a bit far away from the Villa.

Breakfast package is good, food for room service was tasty and reasonably priced too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Arjuna, spacious for two, with a nice big couch outside. Also has a dinner table o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdmundYeung99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIngapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Cosy with only 7 villas, we got attentive staff; sometimes they were a little stretched but never failed to followup.

Really appreciated they didn't push any tours but were happy to help us call and arrange.

Breakfast is a PLUS. watch out for those freshly made donuts/waffles!

Room Tip: Sleep quality depends on how light your ears are for the natural sounds of chickens and geckos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monster695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed in Villa Sarna over Spring Break from the 29 March to 1 April and had an AMAZING time. It was exactly what we were looking for. As other reviews will have written, the place is not in the center of Ubud, but that is actually quite refreshing, because I found the center of Ubud to be quite congested.

The shuttle service the hotel provides is everything you need to move around and many spas will also do pick-up service. Plus, you can hire a driver directly at the hotel, so you are in no way cut off. We hired a driver for a day who took us everywhere we wanted to go, and we also did the bike tour that the hotel arranges, with Cadek, who was very friendly and relaxed.

It was great to spend some peaceful mornings and evenings by the pool side, on the patio of the hotel rooms themselves and in the common areas, all of which are comfortable and tranquil. The breakfasts we had were nothing short of AMAZING and PLENTIFUL and the restaurant near to the hotel was absolutely delicious, with great presentation of the food. The staff at the restaurant even drove us back to the hotel (just 2 minutes away).

Sahiba was the one who we had contact with to arrange the reservation. She was so accommodating and friendly, even over email!

If I go to Bali, I would definitely stay at Villa Sarna and will be recommending it to anyone who is thinking of staying near Ubud. If only it were always so easy to find these hidden gems when one travels!

Room Tip: We really liked the Saraswati Suite because that was the only one available at the time since we boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank votero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
7.0 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#135 of 195 in Ubud
81 reviews
3.8 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
#119 of 195 in Ubud
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 195 in Ubud
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Property: Villa Sarna Ubud
Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#72 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#101 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing