We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best services so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #130 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best services so far!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for 4 days and we really enjoyed our stay here. This villa has got the best service team especially their driver, PUJI, who provided us with great traveling tips and advice when we booked the driver's services to various destinations such as Tanah Lot, Gunung Kawi, Batur, Seminyak and Sanur beach. They also provide very punctual free shuttle services to Ubud. We will definitely come back again when we visit Bali next. This place is really like paradise!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowswallow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    78
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
226
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Built literally right into the rainforest this is the perfect escape destination. It's peaceful, relaxing and generally offers something quite different from what you'd expect in Bali. There are only about 7 villas here so it's not overcrowded by holidayers, it almost felt as if you had the place to yourself even though it was full at the time.

The local restaurant (where the room service comes from) is excellent. Unbelievable view and excellent quality food. With 5 mins notice they will drive you to and from. It only takes 1-2m to drive there but you wouldn't want to walk it because of the hills.

As we were pretty much in the jungle it was a lot cooler than other parts of Bali. The only thing that could have made it perfect was if it had a heated pool as the natural landscape prevents it from getting any sun.

For anyone that's interested I timed the drive to Ubud at 19mins.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chippa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Pleasantly surprised at how good this place was for the price we paid. Rooms are a bit dated and could do with a coat of paint but are very spacious and had everything we needed. We travelled with our 2 young children and stayed in the Ganesha suite (as appeared on the website to be the only room with 2 separate rooms). Would recommend staying in Saraswati suite instead - was a bit nicer décor, also had 2 separate rooms and has a better layout (access to bathroom via main bedroom not kids bedroom as in Ganesha).
Staff were very friendly from the moment we arrived and always very helpful. Breakfast had good choices and made quickly and fresh to order.
Pool was chilly but have also found this in other places we've stayed in Ubud.
The gardens and views are stunning. Very peaceful location. Far enough away from Ubud for peace and quiet but close enough to access in about 15 mins (villa run a free shuttle into town every 2 hours).
Only cons were lack of privacy in Ganesha suite as opens out onto walkway to other rooms (so couldn't open curtains unless happy to have everyone walking past looking in) and was very light at night due to path lighting outside - blackout curtains would be a good investment.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Saraswati suite has better layout for family with young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ems010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed three nights in order to relax after three weeks working in Bandung. Difficult to book a villa in Ubad area outside the town but we finally found Villa Sarna and are pleased we did. Only 7 Villas perched on a hillside jungle at various heights. Steps are required for all and they can be steep but the higher views are worth the climb. We were in Krishna at the top and would recommend but my arthritic knees might not agree! Rooms are traditional style and equipped with simply appointed bathrooms and a closet room I would love at home. Breakfast was from a few simple choices but more than adequate. The banana pancakes are worth the try. Dinner can be ordered to be served in your room or the breakfast room but it will come from a local delivery. We had it two nights and found it very fresh and good. We also indulged in a Traditional Balinese massage in our room. Well worth the time and money committed. Staff are generally young and have wonderful smiles and a cheery greeting. English is a challenge and breakfast bacon was a waffle and French fries, fried rice. They will improve with time and exposure. My Bahasa Indonesian is even less. We used the car shuttle for an afternoon in town, a day trip to interests in the area and the shuttle to and from the airport. The drivers knew their business and found the places we requested. A few cons besides language. Towels don't look clean but check and you will see they are a soft grey. Cleanup of dishes and rooms does not seem to be on a regular schedule but it does happen daily. We chose to go to Sari Organic restaurant and it was a much too long hike. A warning would have been appreciated but a motorbike ride was arranged to return us to the car.

Room Tip: 7 villas separated by stairs. Stay high for the view and lower for less climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Absolutely fabulous! Quality all the way around (service, room, privacy, views, breakfast...). The villa's restaurant is great, too. Shuttle to the city is very convenient. We will definitely stay at Villa Sarna again when in Bali.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mission beach australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We revisited villa Sarna again having stayed at the property 18 months ago.
It is understandable why the villa wins awards with the beautiful location and privacy of the 7 rooms.
We feel like this is a private villa not a 5 star hotel with wonderfully professional & extremely friendly staff on call.
We like the privacy and small 'treasured guest' feeling you can get from this small intimate hotel of only 5 rooms and 2 suites.
Cool terraced gardens filled to the brim with dieties, a tiny splash pool with drink and food service continue the feel of a private villa.
Unseen staff appear as soon as you need them and disappear just a quickly.
cool marble floors and large airy rooms are but part of the 5 star feel.
The place feels like a place you may pay $1000 a night in some countries.
The rooms /suites are varied in size and we understand will soon be refurbished- we hope not at the expense of increased rates.

Room Tip: if you can afford it , splash out and try a suite- ganesha or Saraswati as they are much larger with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachester, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed the one night - as just passing through to another pre booked place in the centre of Ubud.
Wished we had of stayed the whole time here tho as it's just adorable. The staff are amazing. So caring, friendly and thoughtful the whole time. When we moved in - they had a heart cake decorated in blue & white icing flower swirls for our 25th wedding anniversary. WOW

The rooms all have the best views of the lush rainforest and immaculate gardens and our room had a spectacular bathroom - marble tucked away behind the bedroom for real privacy.
The place is small - about 15 spaced out bungalows - all private.
The pool is heaven and very clean and deep.
The breakfast to order - complementary with your room as all are in Bali. Really good food.
Complementary shuttle every hour to Ubud and back.
Walks from the resort through delightful back streets in the hills and rice fields - met some wonderfully friendly locals in the fields. A real treat.

Only down side is our room smelt faintly of mould. Hopefully they can fix that up for future guests.
We will stay again when in Ubud Bali

Room Tip: They all have views so who cares.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChookiePoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
7.0 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#135 of 195 in Ubud
81 reviews
3.8 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
#119 of 195 in Ubud
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 195 in Ubud
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Property: Villa Sarna Ubud
Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#72 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#101 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing