We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon treasure”
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #136 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Honeymoon treasure”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Totally agree with the last 2 posts and cannot fault this lovely haven of tranquility. Staff friendly and happy to do almost anything.
The only reason I haven't given it top marks is because of its remoteness. It really isn't a 10 min. Drive into Ubud, more like 30 min. Sometimes longer. It all depends on traffic.
Had a lovely stay for 5 nightspot in Krishna. Another mention should be the many stairs. Our villa was up the top (for stunning views) so the most stairs. On the plus side, great internet/wifi connection

Room Tip: Krishna is the same size as brahma, don't know why there is a price difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoozems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    78
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
226
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hidden away in the rainforest but only a 10 minute trip to the centre of town - by a scheduled shuttle service every 2 hours. Only 7 rooms/suites on the property so we only saw other guests maybe once or twice a day. The pool is stunning, a perfect place to relax with a wonderful day bed next to it. Absolutely perfect place to spend a few days in Ubud.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madeleinell216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I traveled with my family including a 3 month old and we stayed in the spacious saraswati room. The room had beautiful view of the forested valley through the large glass sliding doors. From the moment we arrived we where very well looked after. The staff accommodated to all our needs. The free wifi and bottled water was a nice bonus. The gardens are very well kept, filled with numerous water features, statues and beautiful night lighting. The villa is not in the noisy busy area of Ubud, which was a big plus for us. A free shuttle bus is provided to Ubud town center or you can hire a driver for as long as you want for about $10 per hr. If you want to see how a tradition balinese town use to be its only a short walk up the road where you can see a small town and the lush green rice paddys.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jofish108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Villa sarna is an offbeat location and perfect for a quiet holiday. It is near the major tourist attractions yet a tad away from hustle-bustle.above all it is located in a green area with limited concrete constructions.

the hotel is small yet has basic modern luxuries built in.

Room Tip: We stayed in saraswati and ganesha suites. they have decent level of privacy and decor..though for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind-Pooja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We read the "terrible"-rated reviews before going ahead and choosing Villa Sarna based on the many better-rated ones. We stayed there for almost a week and were delighted with our stay. I think all you need do to avoid disappointment is understand what kind of place this is.

It's not in Ubud, and it doesn't claim to be. It's near Tegalalang village, but they have a shuttle service to both Tegalalang and Ubud. The advantage of the location is that you are right in the middle of a forested area and very close to rice terraces. If it rains too hard, or you want a day off, it's a great place to just relax. We were there for the "silent day", Nyepi, and enjoyed our day in the hotel.

It's not a super-posh place, and at least our room (Brahma) didn't have a bath tub (no surprises - we checked the photos). It's very comfortable, on the other hand. We had a huge balcony! Service and attitude are very good. I was surprised to see complaints about the breakfast in some reviews. Breakfast is functional, filling and is quite complete. The breakfast area is very nice. It's not an "industrialized" breakfast with 100 options. There are only seven rooms in the hotel.

Being on a hill overlooking a valley means that there are great views. On the other hand, what you do need to be aware of is that there are many, many steps. I had a slightly stiff knee from before, and it complained a bit, but I got used to it.

Dampness can also be a bit of a problem. You will be in the middle of dense rainforest, and you should only be there if you like the idea. There are limits to how much the aircon can dehumidify. Also, there is a constant "birdsong" all the time. If that disturbs you, this is not the right place.

We loved it all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AshishKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

First, this is not in Ubud. For me that's a plus but some may prefer to be in walking distance of Ubud which is why I split my stay between this hotel and one near the town. Otherwise the free hourly shuttle service is fine at about 15 to 20 minutes one way. The road approaching SV is steep. The entrance is literally a hole in the wall so be sure your driver doesn't miss it. The staff on check in are friendly and helpful. The setting is magical and the rooms are large with great views and big balconies. I stayed in Brahma which is not a suite. I believe bigger suites are available. I'd hesitate to call it a villa since there is no kitchen or living room but I had plenty of space for one (or a couple). The only slight problem is the musty odour on entering the room. The split system A/C doesn't fix this so I just opened all the windows. The small pool is pretty and you can get a poolside massage which is very good. There is a mini bar and room service. Staff will also order for you at the restaurant across the valley and deliver to you. Walking to shops will be a problem so ask staff to shuttle you around if necessary. Make sure to arrange a pickup for your onward journey and be clear that this quite a way out of Ubud and you need to allow an extra 30 minutes to be safe.

Bathrooms are clean and modern, furniture and design is rustic and local which is good. Rooms are big and staff are great. The owner and his son introduced themselves to me and we had a nice chat. They come to stay here themselves periodically so you get the feeling that you are a guest in someone's home rather than a hotel guest. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldboyMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

After spending 8 days in Seminyak- we were looking forward to a quiet village life in Ubud.
It was very peaceful, loved the views of the Krishna villa balcony!
The villa was more of a hotel room rather than a villa which was bit disappointing after staying in a villa in Seminyak.
Perhaps a tv program guide for the tv channels would been helpful as spend more time flicking channels as not sure of the tv stations.
Maybe it should be advertised as a hotel rather than a villa.
Staff very attentive, place was clean but it was a very steep walk down the windy road to the nearest town/ shops just up the road from the villa .
Hard walk back as no lights along the steep walk back to villa.

There's a nice walk up the hill from the villa to your right which takes you to beautiful rice paddy fields and local villages-nice walk to see the sunrise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanti222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
3.8 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
5.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#102 of 198 in Ubud
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
#121 of 198 in Ubud
32 reviews
2.9 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#55 of 198 in Ubud
70 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 198 in Ubud
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Property: Villa Sarna Ubud
Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#76 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#105 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing