We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural Retreat near Ubud”
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #151 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Villa Sarna was a delightful place to spend 6 nights. The grounds are charming with independent units, housing 1-2 rooms, set at different levels in a terraced garden. Numerous Hindu, Buddhist and Balinese sculptures enhance the ambiance of the hotel. The pool isn't large but it's well maintained and big enough for limited swimming. The staff were lovely people, only too willing to please. Breakfast, although not the abundant buffet of a big hotel, was very satisfactory. My wife's gluten free diet posed no problem.

The free shuttle service means that Ubud is very accessible, some 20-25 mins away depending on the traffic on the main road. Sometimes the drivers will take an alternate back road to avoid traffic. We enjoyed dinners ordered from the restaurant on the other side of the valley, served in our room or by the pool.

We were very happy with the Krishna room which was clean and nicely furnished. The steps to the different levels of the property weren't a problem but wouldn't suit someone with a mobility issue. Ubud seemed very busy and crowded in comparison to this lovely garden retreat. We can recommend the enjoyable bike ride down from Batur and also used a hotel driver for a 5 hour tour of some temples.

Room Tip: We used Krishna and loved it. Being highest up the property, it requires climbing more steps but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scottybnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We chose this place based on other reviews and were very happy with our stay. The staff are wonderful, and the room (at the top level) had a delightful view across the valley. Lots of restful greenery and a beautiful garden (full of Buddhist and Hindu statues, and loads of running water) created a background ambiance designed to relax the senses, especially after the busy market and heat of Ubud. We were encouraged to have our meals wherever it suited us best, so had breakfast at the breakfast room and ordered in some meals to have either in our room or beside the pool. Sometimes we had a meal at the restaurants in Tegalalang, across the valley in the nearby village, but mainly, as needing to rest, had meals brought in via room service. These were made by the same restaurant in the village and cost exactly the same price - although seemed to be a little smaller in size than the ones served at the restaurant (as we tried the same dishes in both places.) It was no problem to have my dietary requirements met with any of meals.
Our focus was to have a rest stop after other travels (to visit the Borneo orangutans) and Villa Sarna was an excellent choice. It was worth it for us to make the extra distance to get there, as the Villa was so restful and the trip was always interesting (its 1 and a half hours from the airport in Denpasar, and a 20 min shuttle service from Ubud) as the connecting roads are full of craft workshops to look at on the way. I wish we had had more time, and a container boat, to do some serious shopping while in Tegalalang. This is where the beautiful Balinese crafts are made, so the furniture, lamps, statues etc were there in abundance, and cheaper than in the markets. We took advantage of both a bicycle trip and a customised tour of the local temples and felt they were both of good value (both offered through Villa Sarna using their own staff). The bike trip is started from a high point up by the volcano lake, and is downhill all the way back to Villa Sarna, with lots of back roads and tracks used through the rice paddies. Great for those of us wanting to go gently in the humid heat! We both enjoyed our stay at Villa Sarna and would happily go again if back that way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anb5547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

On what was literally a flying visit, booked on a recommendation, the Villa Sarna and its friendly team did not disappoint.

Well proportioned rooms, excellent breakfast and service that is subtle yet comprehensive. A truly beautiful and relaxing location, it really is a taste of paradise and one that I'd recommend, without hesitation in visiting.

Room Tip: Small and select - Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

What a delight are these beautiful villas set in magnificent, tranquil gardens overlooking rice terraces and rain forest. The villas are wonderful but what really sets Villa Sarna apart is the people.All of them happy, friendly and respectful. The regular shuttle service to Ubud is great. You can book the drivers who are also friendly and knowledgeable for tours at only $10/ hour.
We thoroughly recommend this
hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Sarna and decided to stay here to to the positive reviews. The facility met and exceeded our expectations. The service at the hotel was warm and accommodating. The hotel consist of separate villa's along narrow walkways. There is someone to assist with all luggage, as carrying this yourself could be challenging.

Breakfast was served on our villa's private veranda, which has binds all around that we could close for privacy. The setting was stunning, where the hotel is set in a "valley" filled with plants and trees. The sounds of nature is amazing in the morning.

As the hotel is quite remote, there is a free hotel shuttle which takes you to various locations in Ubud, and fetches you again. We were dropped and collected at a restaurant on our first night, one which the staff recommended. The driver was even kind enough to stop on the way for us to make some foreign exchange, at a trusted and established operator.

The property is filled with statues, which scared my girlfriend a bit. I found this quite funny. On our last night, we had an airport transfer in the evening only as we were taking an evening flight. The hotel was kind enough to keep our luggage, and drop and collect us in town for us to enjoy our last day, even providing us with a room to freshen up before our flight.

This hotel exceeded our expectations. If we visit Bali again, we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Not all villa's are the same size. Request a more specious one which may have slightly more mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Closedmouthshower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Totally agree with the last 2 posts and cannot fault this lovely haven of tranquility. Staff friendly and happy to do almost anything.
The only reason I haven't given it top marks is because of its remoteness. It really isn't a 10 min. Drive into Ubud, more like 30 min. Sometimes longer. It all depends on traffic.
Had a lovely stay for 5 nightspot in Krishna. Another mention should be the many stairs. Our villa was up the top (for stunning views) so the most stairs. On the plus side, great internet/wifi connection

Room Tip: Krishna is the same size as brahma, don't know why there is a price difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snoozems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hidden away in the rainforest but only a 10 minute trip to the centre of town - by a scheduled shuttle service every 2 hours. Only 7 rooms/suites on the property so we only saw other guests maybe once or twice a day. The pool is stunning, a perfect place to relax with a wonderful day bed next to it. Absolutely perfect place to spend a few days in Ubud.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madeleinell216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
6.7 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#82 of 199 in Ubud
335 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#91 of 199 in Ubud
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#116 of 199 in Ubud
354 reviews
4.4 mi away
Solo Villas & Retreat
Solo Villas & Retreat
#69 of 199 in Ubud
87 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#82 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#116 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £30 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing