We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience of a lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #128 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Chantrigne,France
1 review
“An experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

A truly memorable experience. Five star luxury with excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jatbajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    78
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
226
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

For our last days on Bali, we stayed at Villa Sarna. And that was a perfect ending for our vacation! During the drive to the hotel our taxi-driver got a little lost, but when he found it, we felt right at home.
The location was beautiful! The rooms are stunning, cozy and with a great view. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. They help you with everything, and give you a feeling you are very welcome!
And the hotel has a taxi-service to the centre of Ubud, which was great!
Definately, a perfect stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HSTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

I have just returned from a 6 night stay at Villa Sarna with my mum. We had the most amazing time and the staff were exceptional. They were so helpful, friendly and kind and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.
The surroundings are breath-taking with exquisite gardens and statues and there is a real feeling of peace and tranquilty so you can escape the pressures of the real world for a while and be swept away into a place of total relaxation. Having only 7 rooms is definately a positive as the service is so personalised and it felt like a luxurious second home. Whiskey the dog was adorable and is always there to welcome guests and even escort you to your room if you wish. He always walked me to my room when I came home late! :-)
We stayed in the Shiva room, which has a lovely balcony, comfortable beds and a long narrow bathroom with a large shower as well as a large dressing area. Every room is very private and secluded and they are cleaned to perfection everyday.
The villa is about 15mins drive from Ubud but we didn't find that to be a problem at all as the shuttles run every 2 hours with the last shuttle leaving Ubud at 9:30pm. If you want to stay out later a taxi costs around 50, 000 rupiah. (about $6) so no problem at all. Being a little bit out of Ubud was great as it was much more peaceful and scenic.
So a massive thank-you to the team at Villa Sarna, I think it was so amazing because they really do work so well as a team. They helped make our stay absolutely perfect. So a special thank-you to Mr Sarna, Made, Rai, Kumun, Sarah, Kardac, Kade, Ketut, the lovley singing man who cleaned our room, the engineer with the puppies and everyone else at Villa Sarna. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed 5 nights/6days in the Saraswathi suit and it was so much better than we imagined. The pictures on the web just didn’t do the place justice. The entire property was just gorgeous will its landscaping and fountains, and the view we had was unbeatable. Our room was very clean, spacious, and beautifully decorated.
Yes it is a bit far from Ubud (15-20 minutes by car/bike) it was well worth it. They have shuttle to and from Ubud every two hours and we found the drivers can easily be persuaded to pick you up at specific times if you asked them nicely and maybe gave them a small tip. We rented a motorcycle which was rather inexpensive (arranged by the hotel) and that gave us much more freedom to explore.
Villa Sarna had once been a private villa and perhaps that’s why we found that certain aspects of it were still not run like a usual hotel. The staff were all too happy to accommodate any request we made of them and overall it felt like we were guests at some lovely host’s home. Whisky the resident dog was such a delight to have around. We were always greeted and accommodated with big smiles whatever time of day or night it was.
The hotel however does not do any of their cooking in house and orders food from the café up the road. The food was quite good but the breakfast was rather basic but tasty.
If we visit Ubud again we are definitely staying here!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatCatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Villa Sarna is a converted private residence. The feel of a private tropical retreat remains and is reflected in the service - we felt like honoured house guests rather than mere hotel clients. All the staff were wonderful with our 12 month old boy (note that being on a steep hillside, the grounds are not really "toddler safe" but with careful monitoring this was not an issue for us).

The hotel cars and drivers are a notable feature. As well as providing a regular shuttle to Ubud, a driver is available for tailored excursions for a nominal hourly fee. We took a five hour tour, stopping in villages and temples and up to view the volcano national park. The driver was very friendly and informative and fantastic with our child.

Room service meals are provided by a restaurant on the entry road. Quality food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perth_Girl_5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

Excellent service with a warm and welcoming staff. The hotel set-up gives a feeling of exclusivity as though you were a guest in a rich friend's home. Exceptional value for the price and location, although a bit far from the center of the city, gives one a true experience of the mountains/forest of Bali. I recommend Villa Sarna to everyone with the exception of those who may have difficulty climbing the stairs.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndonesianQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

We just returned from a lovely stay at Villa Sarna staying in the Ganesha Suite (3 nights). Two extra beds were placed in the room to house the 4 of us (2 adults + 2 kids ages 9 and 13). The Suite was huge - even with the 2 extra beds we had plenty of space. Decoration of the rooms and gardens is beautiful and every thing is very well maintained (spotless). I can't emphasize enough how nice the decor and gardens are. A definite 5 star appear to the facilities. Their website has a video of the property and it is spot on accurate.
The Villa is located a bit out of town and is not walking distance to Ubud but the Villa operates a shuttle to Ubud several times per day leaving every 2 hours starting at 9am with pick-up also provided on the 1/2 hour (9:30, 11:30, etc). We found this very efficient and easy to work with. Takes about 20-30 minutes to get to Ubud proper but this is highly traffic dependant of course. We found that being away from things was very welcome and the setting for Villa Sarna makes a lovely escape from all the hustle and noise in Ubud and the South Bali area in general.
Our kids loved the pool - while small it was refreshingly cool and big enough to allow the kids room to splash and play. The veranda pool side is very large and shaded so it's a great place to relax - we had dinner by the pool which was great. All the meals were delicious and prices are very reasonable. Breakfast is a real highlight.
We hope to return to Villa Sarna in the future. It's a great value and I highly recommend for families - always hard to find nice places that will house a family of 4 in one room in Asia. This place is a real treat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
7.0 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#139 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.8 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
#120 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sungu Resort & Spa
The Sungu Resort & Spa
#96 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Property: Villa Sarna Ubud
Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#72 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#100 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing