We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely and peaceful little place outside of town”
Review of Royal Villa Jepun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Villa Jepun
Ranked #118 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

At the time we made reservation there were no reviews of this place which made us a bit apprehensive. Upon arrival our fears disappeared and this place turned out to be one of our favorites to have stayed on our trip. Although it's about a 5 minute drive from the center of Ubud, it's within walking distance if you have the time and energy. We have a nice bungalow accommodation (1 of only about 8 total) with a Queen bed surrounded by mosquito netting and a lovely outdoor bathroom. No TV's, phones or air conditioning, but the ceiling fan was adequate and the place was very serene. The swimming pool is quite small and had a swim-up bar, which, although not manned, we were allowed to use it for the drinks the staff fetched us. Breakfast was included and although simple, was delicious. The staff was very polite and attentive when needed and we promised that if we went back, we'd be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

I'll just echo Mick below and say that my experience at Sunny Blow was phenomenal. The staff are incredibly hospitable, the rooms charming, and the breakfasts delicious. At night, the pool is lit by candles and paper lanterns, making it a perfect place to unwind and hang out under the stars after a day in Ubud.

The only tidbit I would add is that you're also next to Naughty Nuri's, which is a rib joint made famous by the one and only Anthony Bourdain. While the ribs are only above average (I'll permit myself this judgment being Texan), the Martinis, though pricey, are well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryanyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Despite many trips to Bali and living in the region, this was only my second trip to Ubud after visiting the first time in 1998. Central ubud is now crowded with tourists and traffic, though the area is still very peaceful if you find the right spots. Sunny Blow is one of those spots. It lies on the north fringes of town and is within reach of everything you may want to see, though away from the majority of 'noise'. I came to Ubud for some business and was after a well services place with a reasonable cost and some peace from tourists. I travel constantly and very critical of what to expect in terms of service and facilities in a hotel. This is one of the most understated and value hotels i have ever stayed in (anywhere in the world). As you go through the rustic doors you enter a tranquil paradise fusion of traditional balinese and japanese culture, architecture and hospitality. The many staff which service the small number of cottages have impeccable manners, warmth and hospitality and its easy to believe that they are all there serving you. This is an incredible find for someone who wants to escape (especially from crowded resorts and spas) and relax. The room amenities are modest, though more than sufficient, with traditional balinese fittings and a cute outdoor bathroom courtyard for each room. The outdoor area is fitted with an outdoor shower and pebble lined bath. I found the outdoor hot baths staring up at the sea of green and at night sky the best. The breakfasts are of special mention - absolutely stunning selection and bespoke service and surprisingly inclusive in the incredibly cheap room rate (for such a high standard of service). You can choose to have this on your generous front balcony or eat in one of a few of beautifully fitted dining and lounge areas. You could tell me that Sunny Blow is a 4/4.5 star boutique rain forest resort and I would believe you. Rooms are serviced a few times a day including bed turn down service and lighting of mosquito coils in your room in the evening, as well as on your balcony and in bathroom courtyard. Congratulations to Miho and all staff at Sunny Blow. I hope to be back to enjoy your little paradise again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MickofTourdeTimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

i am surprise not to see any coment on this hotel on trip advisor. This is a japonese hotel, it has evertyhing of it in fact: it is cosy, you feel like in the middle of a forest, few rooms, rather cheap(40$), bed is extra for 2, outdoor bathroom, employees are nice. and i had the best breakfast in Bali ever. A japonese breakfast(never tried that before!) miso soup, rice, roast salmon etc etc.. just so fresh and so nice in the plate. it is a hidden place next to the famous Mozaic restaurant (the only 1michelin star in indonesia) go there, you'll not regret it

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sophNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 텔레비젼이 없습니다.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kyoungmi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didihay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#60 of 199 in Ubud
628 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#101 of 199 in Ubud
218 reviews
2.0 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#58 of 199 in Ubud
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 199 in Ubud
572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Villa Jepun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villa Jepun

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Sunny Blow Villa Jepun)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range: £23 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Villa Jepun 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Royal Villa Jepun With choices of Accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, Royal villa jepun no new player. Formerly known as Sunny blow villa jepun, this hotel has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests – the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.Set within a tranquil and luscious tropical garden, The Royal Villa Jepun is a peaceful, relaxing and revitalizing haven, over looking a sublime rice terrace view. Just over 1 hour from the airport and only a 5-minute drive to centre of Ubud, the villa provides a perfect rural setting for an enchanting and nourishing retreat. Ideal for families, couples and groups alike, our hotel provides a variety of different style and size accommodation to suit your needs. Our rooms provide the perfect combination and balance of modern style with traditional Balinese architecture. Even our most standard rooms are furnished to a superior quality whilst our most luxurious rooms offer an extra degree of space and privacy. Royal Villa Jepun has a highly trained team of friendly and welcoming staff, who are always willing to go the extra mile, ensuring that you have a relaxing, entertaining and memorable stay here in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Villa Jepun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Blow Villa Jepun Hotel Ubud
Royal Villa Jepun Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing