We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility for a good price”
Review of Kajeng Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kajeng Bungalows
Ranked #168 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed in a similar bungalow, but due to smell, poor internet access, and price, I moved to Kajeng Bungalows- a move that I was very happy with.
I have read some of the negative reports here on TA, but I did not have similar experiences ither than the lingrring wet smell in the bathroom.
The staff were very attentive, friendly and far from pushy. The pool is big and clean with plenty of room around it, the breakfast is served on your balony as their is no restrauant, and is yummy (slightly different everyday- even
got eggs!).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank KathyAU_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Kajeng bungalows is a great place. The rooms are basic, but clean. For privacy reasons they only clean your room when you aks for it. Absolutely a plus in Asia if you aks me...
The garden, the view and the staff are great. We specialy liked Bull and Simon. They were realy friendly and really made you feel welkom and at home. They would always do there best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The location is also very good. Kajeng street has some lovely cheap restaurants, so you never have to go far for your dinner/lunch (Gusti restaurant next door is strongly recommended). It's also a short walk to the center of Ubud.

If I could go back to Ubud I would absolutely stay here again. What you get for what you pay is just great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bas_M123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Pretty cheap and pretty poor. Gardens are nice and pool is ok. The room is poor with lumpy beds and terrible pillows. The people are friendly when they bring up breakfast, which was banana jaffles one day and omlette on a piece of today the next. We moved to a better place for less $

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

While it may seem on the surface like this guesthouse with canyon view and swimming pool are a bargain, you are not really saving any money when the staff take advantage of your being distracted by a telephone call after handing over your payment, and then slipping out a few notes when you turn your back, insisting that you owe more.

Besides this, they are always trying to sell you tours. It is obvious they are not interested in their guests, and only in money. Maybe you will be luckier if you don't visit before a big ceremony such as Galungan that requires Balinese to fork out money for offerings and decorations. However, there are always big ceremonies in Bali.

Any contact you give your eyes with the pool water will feel like a million needles stabbing you, or like being sand blasted. Something is wrong with the pool water. Rooms are not cleaned even during long stays.

This place is a bargain that is too good to be true. If you want the canyon view and swimming pool, pay the extra $10 and stay at Gusti Gardens next door where you won't get ripped off.

Room Tip: choose another hotel, or keep a very close eye on your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amygeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

3 of us stayed here after much trekking around ubud to find these fabled ravine views i'd heard of! Its pretty cheap, the room was basic and a bit dark as was the bathroom which smelt a bit. The whole place could do with a.bit of a polish up but the gardens and the pool are beautiful with amazibg views and a short walk to.rice paddies and dance shows and cheap food that are not on monkey forest road. I would definitely stay again!
We were 3 female backpackers and met another group there, but there are lits of.older people that stay there too, and the staff are very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We've spent 6 nights in the Kajeng Bungalows and were having the chance to stay at two different rooms during this time period. First of all the positive things I can tell about these Bungalows:
+ the location is very good, close to the center of Ubud and close to the rice fields
+ the prices for the rooms are very cheap
+ the garden and pool area are very beautiful
However there are more negative things which I could list here and from which I'd make a short summary. The staff consits of a group of zoung men which were very friendly but also very lazy. They tried to convice us first that no wifi is available only because they wanted to use it themselfs for internet gaming and other stuff. Later on when the owner arrived the wifi was suddenly available... The service of the staff was very poor. We didnt get any room service at all (remember, we stayed there for 6 nights)!!! as a consequence the rooms were dirty, especially the bathrooms were ugly due to the humidity.
As a conclusion I'd recommend the Kajeng bungalows for backpackers which are looking for a room in central Ubud with cheap prices but nice pool area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors are having balconys from where you have a nice view on the garden and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swiss_m13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Minimalistic furniture in the room, old bathroom; swimming pool cloudy;
The others guesthouses situated Jalang Kajeng ask for the same price ( RP 350,000 ) for a better quality ( e.g.Gustis Garden Bungalows + in front the new Loka Sari Guesthouse / Padma,...)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudineBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#178 of 200 in Ubud
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#158 of 200 in Ubud
266 reviews
0.9 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#125 of 200 in Ubud
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
0.3 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#157 of 200 in Ubud
113 reviews
1 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#179 of 200 in Ubud
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kajeng Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kajeng Bungalows

Address: Jl. Kajeng no. 29, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range: £21 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kajeng Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Kajeng Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kajeng Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Kajeng Hotel Ubud
Kajeng Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing