We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst ever ant infested sweatbox”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merthayasa Bungalows
Ranked #156 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst ever ant infested sweatbox”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Worst accomadation in my history of travels, where do I start? Received 30+ ant bites from lying on the bed, toilet seat broken, fan rotates at a pitiful speed that does nothing to cool the room, paperthin walls you can hear your neighbours stomach grumbling below, beside and across from you, plus for good measure, throw in all the traffic noise from the road and you will kept up until you finally pass out. There is much better places that are the same price and cheaper than here, so my tip would be steer well clear of this place!
CONS: the pool

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
28
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Pros:
- Reasonable & affordable rates. Especially so, if without aircon.
- Daily breakfast included in the rate (I like their banana pancake and fresh fruits).
- Nice swimming pool.
- 5 minutes leisure stroll to Monkey Forest.
- Convenient location, and still can enjoy quietness when back to the room.
- Comfortable bed, and powerful fan (felt very cooling throughout my 3 nights stay).

Cons:
- Dressing table (ie. mirror ~ wobbling). Not too much of a concern to me, since I don't really required it.
- Unfunctional wardrobe. Nil hangers provided; anyway, doesn't really matter since the wardrobe is for "display" only!
- Space/side between dressing table and wardrobe were very dusty. And, I really meant it!

Since my wife wasn't with me during this trip, then the negative areas were still bearable for me. Otherwise, it is a big NO NO!!!

Anyway, wouldn't mind going back and stay if I'm visiting Ubud alone. But, will definitely reconsider if visiting as a couple.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcs747asa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The hotel is located at the busies road, 100m to Monkey Forest. For me, it's a little bit too noisy since you can easily hear the motorbike pass by outside on the road. I wore ear plugs when sleeping during my staying there. Also if other guests talk to each other, even in their own rooms, you can hear them.
Room is simple and acceptable. Breakfast is simple and acceptable.
Judging from the price, if you don't have any other expectation, it is good value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have wet smell. Better to choose a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lian43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

This is a small hotel. We paid 250,000 RP for a double bed and an extra single on the floor for our 3 year old. I wouldn't say they were the crispest, whitest hotel sheets I've ever seen, and I did resort to some incense to try and flush out the musty, wet smell in the room, but the price was fair for what we got. The guys at reception were friendly and ever present. Breakfast of banana pancakes, fresh fruit and tea or coffee was adequate and always served with a smile. The hotel has only 8 rooms (?), which meant the highlight... the brand new and beautiful swimming pool... was never too crowded. It's not a huge resort pool, but still lovely. It was also a delight for our daughter to have some of the local kids from the family come and swim and play in the pool. The position of this hotel is perfect, especially if you have small children who are keen on the monkey forest. It's so close we went twice in three days. It terms of shopping and eating, it is literally right on Jl. Monkey Forest Road (no hellish stairways as in some of the more up market hotels up over the bridge in Tjampuan), close to everything. We did think about moving to something more luxurious after the first night, but to be honest, many of the rooms I looked at were similar, but they did have a TV and maybe aircon, and often more beautiful gardens and surrounds. For the extra $30 to $45 per night, we couldn't really justify it. We were happy enough at Merthayasa for our 3 nights. So no luxury here, but perfect if you want to save a few dollars and still be in the heart of it all... and a pleasant place to cool off.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixeltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#159 of 195 in Ubud
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#172 of 195 in Ubud
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#131 of 195 in Ubud
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#126 of 195 in Ubud
234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#171 of 195 in Ubud
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#151 of 195 in Ubud
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merthayasa Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merthayasa Bungalows

Property: Merthayasa Bungalows
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Merthayasa Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merthayasa Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing