We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpful so happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merthayasa Bungalows
Ranked #160 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So helpful so happy”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

To be absolutely fair we stayed in Merthayaysa 2 off Hanoman street also run by Winarsih and her family but they don't have a dedicated page yet (will be writing one a review as soon as it does).

The room was cheap 20000irp a night fan cooled clean good quality bathroom with hot water. As a home stay there was a beautiful family temple and calm surroundings. Only critism is there are currently 2 rooms and the walls are pretty thin. We were not a fan of our neighbours who liked to sing pop tunes at 8am.

Winarsih was SO helpful showing us where to go and renting us a bike and lending us a sarong for a local ceremony. We were also told we could use the swimming pool in Merthayasa 1 if we wanted but we never gpt rpund to it. So happy here we really did feel likethert of the family!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    30
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
30
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We knew the place, because we rent a motorbike with them and we decided to stay there for the last 2 days in Ubud!
The room has a nice view to the swimming pool and garden. We had breaksfast at the balcony, and some monkeys appeared to join us! It was a greaaaat experince, we suggest just to take care and advise the staff before the monkeys make a mess with all your food (monkeys know the staff and they are afraid of them!)
The room was pretty good but the bathroom was old! It is funny because seems that the bathroom doesnt belong to the same room. And they arrange a really nice taxi driver to go to the airport!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and love it. It's at the quite end of monkey forest road and there are some nice restaurants very close by.
It is fairly clean and cheap. With a pool!

Didn't like people coming to the door trying to sell stuff while we where having down time. I expect to be bothered on the street but not people knocking on my door.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Freeniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Merthayasa twice on this trip & found it to be an excellent budget place in downtown Ubud. The location is at the 'quieter' end of Monkey Forest rd -a decent walk up to Jl. Raya, but close to excellent coffee (Maha is nearly across the road) and restaurants. Downstairs rooms have great wifi coverage. The pool is really nice to come back to after being out exploring. The rooms are average, good sized, clean and with a comfortable bed and pillows. Definitely no bedbugs here as another reviewer claimed! Staff are friendly and unobtrusive -available to help you if you need, nice & pleasant when they serve brekkie in the morning on your balcony, not pushy (which is a great change). Overall I think this place is well run & a fantastic budget option. Most of their rooms were full the whole time we were there!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elzaren11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Good value for money as the location was good, but can't say I was overly impressed. The pool and garden surroundings were nice. The room was VERY basic. The bathroom could have used a good cleaning. I would definitely recommend bringing a sleeping sheet as I didn't trust how clean the sheets were...

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We originally booked in here for 3 nights as on first inspection the room seemed fine.

We came home from dinner only to find lots of bed bugs crawling on the bed! On closer inspection the sheets had lots of old blood stains and dead bugs squashed into them!! As it was after midnight reception was not open so we had to try and sleep on the tiled floor instead!! We checked out of the room as soon as we saw the reception was open the next morning. When we told the managers why we were checking out and how we had to sleep on the floor he couldn't have cared less!! All he said was "ok" and didn't even apologise!! We showed him pictures and a video of the bugs and he didn't look one bit surprised so I am assuming we weren't the first to complain! We also still had to pay full price for the night!!

We also found the bathroom constantly had a horrible smell and the shower was terrible! The swimming pool was nice but that's the only positive I have about the place. We didn't stick around long enough to try breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rryan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I came here after staying at some very rustic bungalows and checking out some other comparable places that were much more expensive. Kadek was incredibly helpful and was able to get a room ready for me quickly. I waited by the beautiful pool and had breakfast. The room was basic and clean enough. The price was reasonable. I stayed in the room closest to the street. I would not recommend this room if you are noise sensitive. The traffic noise and street conversations are loud. The reason I have given this place such high ratings though is because of the staff! They are all exceptionally helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotus-viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#178 of 196 in Ubud
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#157 of 196 in Ubud
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#159 of 196 in Ubud
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#162 of 196 in Ubud
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kajeng Bungalows
Kajeng Bungalows
#169 of 196 in Ubud
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merthayasa Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merthayasa Bungalows

Property: Merthayasa Bungalows
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Merthayasa Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merthayasa Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing