We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really friendly and welcomming Guesthouse in Ubud” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hibiscus Cottages
Ranked #102 of 521 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
1 review
“Really friendly and welcomming Guesthouse in Ubud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I would recommend this place to everyone who wants to stay in a quieter area of Ubud. The staff is really friendly and welcoming, the service great and the rooms are large, clean and nice. The owner is also very friendly and he will help you with whatever questions you might habe!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M4ttz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    38
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
59
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

A top little place very close to everything, yet out of the hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, clean and airy rooms with great views over rice paddies. Quite a few guesthouses in this area so common to see people walking along narrow paths crisscrossing paddies. Lots of ducks frequent the area. Quite cute seeing all the ducks with their babies out for a walk. Ask for front room - for the best views. Booked through booking.com.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voila88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Hibiscus Cottages are located in a rice field off Jl Bisma. You have to walk down a small alley and then across a small rice paddy. Would be more beautiful if it wasn't a building site at the mo but they are expanding so fair enough. The staff are all lovely, the breakfast is good and they upgraded my room as no one else was staying there for free so I had air con and the balcony overlooking the rice field. Clean room, good shower. Take mosquito coils for the balcony, I was eaten alive whilst listening to a symphony of animals at night! Worth a stay. Could prob find cheaper but worth £18 a night. I was a female staying alone and although it is probably very safe, I didn't feel comfortable walking into the town at night so moved to a cheaper, more central guesthouse after the three nights I had booked. Worth a couple of nights here though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridge199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

This is the place if you like a quiet and paddy field view from your room. It is a typical Balinese style cottage. The paddy field view is great in the morning.

The staffs are friendly and they do serve the breakfast outside your room. You can have your breakfast while enjoying the paddy field view.

Tips: bring along a small touch light with you for going out / coming back to the cottage in the night time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecelia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

In Brief: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned everyday. The view was nice. The location was quirky and relatively convenient. Fairly strong wifi in our room (which is unusual in Bali).

We stayed in the only air con room available (its not that we needed air con, it is just that most places in Bali don't have screens on windows, so air con means that the rooms are sealed off, which is the only way to keep the bugs and giant spiders outside). The difference in price was not significant. The room was very cute and had a beautiful view of rices paddies. Breakfast is included and the staff served breakfast right to our balcony that over looked the rice paddies. The green pancakes with banana and coconut inside were absolutely delicious!

The location is a little funny, you have to walk along some rice paddies to get there, but it is safe and relatively close to many restos (Miro's was very close and the best in Ubud) and tucked away enough to be quiet (note there was construction on site, but from our room the noise level was not bad).

We booked at last minute so had been warned that we would have to switch rooms after one night. The none air con room that we were supposed to move to had no window screens and was on the ground floor. It was a little musty and there was a large "waterbug" flying around the room, but I am sure the staff would have been happy to get it out for us. We ended up being about to stay in our original room. We were very happy about this as our room was much nicer. (tip: if the air con room is not available, the "Hibiscus Inn" next door and owned by the same family, has nicer non-air con rooms and for very reasonable prices (~$200,000 rp/night)).

Room Tip: Stay in the only air con room for it's beautiful balcony with a view of the rice paddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Aemilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

After a 30 hr flight/travel time from LA to ubud my husband and I arrived to HC with unexpected construction right outside our room. Having put a lot of time researching hotels before our trip I purposely chose this hotel due to seemingly lack of ongoing construction . It seems October is a popular month for construction as most hotels in ubud had it but were at least upfront about it through the website or email And some even offered a discount because of it. i felt the owners weren't honest about this beforehand. Rooms are very basic. Towels are old and musky after one time use. Showers like a lot of hotels in Indo are weird lacking an overhead shower. No where to sit down comfortably inside your room besides the bed. Rooms on upper level looked better being bigger with a view. Location is in central ubud walking distance to everything. Prices quoted by owner for various activities were a bit higher then found otherwise. Our room was on the inner courtyard with not a lot of privacy. I don't think those bottom inner courtyard rooms are good value for the money compared to other options in ubud.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbelikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Hibiscus Cottages is a nice place with traditional Balinese cottages in the middle of rice fields. The location is amazing, just off Jl Bisma which is roughly 10 mins away on foot from the hustle and bustle of central Ubud. You can walk everywhere, but you can also retreat from the touristy madness. From Jl Bisma you walk a couple of metres through beautiful rice fields. It must be an oasis, if there wasn't construction noise going on at the moment. Unfortunately, I wasn't informed about it in advance or I hadn't booked it. Ketut, the owner is very friendly and concerned about his guests' wellbeing and tries to keep the construction noise to a minimum, but it was too annoying for me (no opportunity to relax and enjoy my terrace during the day), so I checked out and looked for another accommodation after a few nights. The standard cottage was nice, a bit basic and not all spotlessly clean, which is not surprising, as it is only protected from the outside by shutters, no glass windows. I would have liked to stay longer, as it is a charming little place and will for sure be very nice once construction is finished. On the other hand, I found a different guest house for almost the same price but more comfort.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ala's Green Lagoon
Ala's Green Lagoon
#280 of 513 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nick's Pension
Nick's Pension
#60 of 521 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nick's Hidden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#65 of 513 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puji Bungalow
Puji Bungalow
#60 of 513 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Cottages

Property: Hibiscus Cottages
Address: Jl Bisma Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 521 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hibiscus Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Cottages Hotel Ubud
Hibiscus Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing