We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavishly large, sparkling rooms in their new building”
Review of Hibiscus Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hibiscus Cottages
Ranked #108 of 608 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We've spent a total of 9 nights at this very nice place. The rooms in their new building are great. A large new bed, a comfy sofa, a large terrace and a sparkling bathroom (bigger than some hotel rooms) made our stay very, very comfortable. Another highlight is their rooftop terrace where you can enjoy nice views and where breakfast is served.

The only little downside was the noise of the final construction work - and that's the reason why we give the Hibiscus Cottages "only" 4 instead of 5 overall points.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zyttrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a very nice stay there! The location is great, close to the city centre but quite. Also the rooms are nice. And the breakfast is great, as well as the top terrace where breakfast is served. If you hire a driver with them, be aware that the price has to be absolutely clear as we didn't have a very good experience with that... on top, he also expected us to pay for his lunch, which is a bit annoying...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lss_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Excelent location, Wayan Jr and the driver Putu are great!
I missed a pool sometimes, because of the high temperatures, but everything about these bungalows its great. I recommend the bungalows ovwerlooking the rice terrace
greetings

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diegorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed in Hibiscus Cottages in July 2013 for one night and we absolutelly enjoyed our stay there. We booked for cheaper room (downstairs), but they provided us with the bigger one on second floor for the same price. In general - we were more than satisfied with everything there. Staff is nice and helpful.

Room - Beautiful entrance and bed with wooden artwork. Room was big enough with beautiful bathroom. Big bed with a mosquito net and quite a good mattress. There was also an amazing spacious terrace with a nice view to rice fields. The room has older furniture, but is very clean and well maintained.

Breakfast - simple (but very good) breakfast with a choice of pancakes + fresh juice. The breakfast is served on the terrace (in front of the room) at agreed time. Coffee and tea available for a whole day (you get a thermos with hot water, cups and you make a beverage on your own any time you want)

Surroundings - beautiful, peaceful place in rice fields just 5 minutes walk to the main street. You can enjoy an amazing symphony of tropical sounds (frogs, birds, etc.) from the rice fields in the night, which we very much appreciated.

Negatives - not many, but to be objective - there is a construction of new rooms nowadays, they are little bit hidden, so may be hard to find + a driver can't take you dirrectly to the hotel - you have to walk 200m with the luggage on a bad path (not really a big deal for us).

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are worth the higher price - they have a nice view to the rice fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zdeněk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Good rooms, clean and spacy, good breakfast and some minutes walk to the touristic hotspots, while quite calm situated. All rooms have a kind of terrace. They are also very helpful in organizing a car with driver or a motobike. neighbors are some ricefields.

Room Tip: Take a room in the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulrich m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have been coming here for 8 years for good reasons.
*Staff are wonderful - friendly, available, and helpful with tour ideas and transportation
*Walking distance to everything in downtown Ubud
*Great food - adjacent road (Jalan Bisma) has some of our favorite restaurants on the planet (especially Cafe des Artes)
*Quiet area in the midst of beautiful rice fields (be aware that up to 3 times a year there is harvest and they burn a good amount of the waste - having a/c is espeically good on those days)
*Beautiful new building (will be completed in August) that will have a terrace on the top floor for all of the residents to sit and view the mountains and scenery for miles!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonianSumatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Less than a week since my stay and I want to go back! Owner helped arrange transport for us. We got a free upgrade on our room. We had an upstairs room over looking rice fields. Big relaxing balcony where they delivered our breakfast at our chosen time. Delicious breakfast and banana juice was my favourite! Room was beautiful inside and out. Wood carvings on doors and windows. Big comfy bed. Giant mosquito net kept us bite free. Bath with shower attachment. Hot water! Sometimes hard to come by Indonesia so grateful hibiscus provided it. Quiet and peaceful at night listening to the frogs. Fan no air con, was a little hot at first but cooled down. Staff friendly and relaxed. I would highly recommend the down hill cycle tour the owner sorted out for us (see my other review for that)
Loved this place, I will be comparing every where I go on my travels to it now.
Only small downside noise from construction, but that's in the day. I've read another review that said some rooms were not as nice, this may be true.

Room Tip: Upstairs room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pugsandchimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Bali Moon
Bali Moon
#231 of 629 in Ubud
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kama Bisma Cottage
Kama Bisma Cottage
#56 of 608 in Ubud
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karma House
Karma House
#69 of 608 in Ubud
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rena House Ubud
Rena House Ubud
#172 of 608 in Ubud
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Betutu Bali Villas
Betutu Bali Villas
#125 of 608 in Ubud
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gerhana Sari 2 Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Cottages

Address: Jl Bisma Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 608 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £17 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hibiscus Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Cottages Hotel Ubud
Hibiscus Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing