We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay with a delightful Balinese family”
Review of Hibiscus Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibiscus Cottages
Ranked #106 of 615 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Hibiscus Cottages is a five roomed guest house set in the rice paddies of Ubud. My daughter and I had a wonderful five days there. The views are beautiful, the rooms clean, fan cooled and there is a fridge stacked with beer and water. A delicious breakfast is provided each morning, this is included in the cost of room. The family who run this guest house are delightful, they are currently planning to run traditional Balinese cooking classes in their own kitchen. We experienced cooking with them, the food was absolutely delicious and I would recommend anyone to attend the classes when they begin. Our room was $30 Aus per night for two, including breakfast! The cottages are within walking distance of the main area in Ubud, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a more authentic Balinese experience. Helen Murray, Adelaide,Sth Australia

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2009

What can i say, this place is like a hidden gem. Quite far away from all the actions, but it's a very calm & relaxing place to stay. Great sunrise & sunset.

Rooms are very spacious, with amazingly huge bathtub, from the bathroom you will see great view of paddy fields.

The owner & his family are very friendly ppl, joke and always helpful. Their breakfast (included with room) is so delicious and serves to your balcony/lobby...

Not to mention the price is GREAT too... me & other 2 friends stayed in this triple room on 1st floor (best room i think) for only Rp.350,000 a night with breakfast for 3 person. my other 2 frens stayed in double room downstair Rp.200,000. my other fren stayed in single room downstair, only Rp.150,000. definitely GREAT VALUE.

Highly recommended... although location is not too strategic.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights upon our arrival in Bali. And it ended up being the best of all the hotels/guesthouses we stayed in while on the Island. Their quality and value were second to none.

There are five suites (I think) contained within this family-run compound, three on the ground level and two on the upper floors. The two upper suites offer great views of paddy fields and surrounding residences, are bright, spacious, clean and have a shaded porch and catch a nice breeze. We did not stay in one of the garden level suites, but they appear very pleasant and have shaded porches that look out onto the courtyard gardens.

The staff are very friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. Excellent breakfast delivered to your door with fresh fruit, toast, eggs and endless tea are provided as part of the room cost.

The location is great, nicely removed from the noise and clutter that invades much of Ubud. It is a short 5 minute walk to Monkey Temple Road, the bustling heart of Ubud and 10 minutes to the start of the wonderful Campuan Ridge walk.

They also offer reliable airport pickup for an extra fee, which we took advantage.

I'll try to post some photos when I get a chance.

All in all, a very nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balmandir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KatjaK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank nepallife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Paco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#61 of 197 in Ubud
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 197 in Ubud
341 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bali Wid Villa
Bali Wid Villa
#13 of 19 in Sukawati
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bali Moon
Bali Moon
#234 of 654 in Ubud
80 reviews
17.4 mi away
Chillhouse Lembongan
Chillhouse Lembongan
#23 of 143 in Nusa Lembongan
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kama Bisma Cottage
Kama Bisma Cottage
#60 of 615 in Ubud
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Cottages

Address: Jl Bisma Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 615 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £16 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hibiscus Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Cottages Hotel Ubud
Hibiscus Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing