We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, location, price, just let down by some staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Teba House Ubud Guest House
Ranked #73 of 654 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in a lovely twin, ensuite, Deluxe room with a/c. Seemed very new and clean, and the beds were very comfy. Considering it was a room with a/c, we found it strange that there were 2 small open windows in the room which couldn't be closed, and therefore let warm air in, as well as mosquitos.
Good breakfast of tea/coffee, fruit and a different dish every day (eg banana pancake, omelette, banana toasted sandwich).
Lovely grounds with lots of flowers in, and a quiet area - you can't hear the road, or any roosters or dogs like in most places in Bali.
5 mins walk to large supermarket, 10-15mins walk to Monkey Forest, and 15mins to the Main Road.
We organised a day trip through reception which was really good and had an excellent driver. We also booked the shuttle bus to Amed which arrived on time, and was quick and comfy.

The only real complaint we had was some of the staff were really rude and very pushy to sell tours and transport. Every time you left your room or came back to the Guest House, they asked you if you needed tours. When we did actually buy a tour through reception, a very surly man later came up to give us our receipt and said quite aggressively "Next time you buy from me" - so he could get the commission. When we complained about this to the owner, the surly man later came to our room and said "thanks a lot for that, I was already in trouble with my boss" !!

Although we had booked a twin room, they had pushed the 2 beds together with one duvet, and we asked 3 times to get a 2nd duvet, and finally a 4th time quite forcefully before they begrudgingly gave us one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed at the Teba House for 4 nights and the experience was fantastic. It's tucked away just behind the main strip of Ubud, far enough to relax in peace, but close enough to walk to all the main sights. There are plenty of food options nearby, a few massage shops and loads of shops.

The staff all speak pretty good English and are helpful with booking tours or advising you where to get a scooter from. If you need anything, they will bring it pretty much straight away. The WiFi was great and worked in the room, you get unlimited tea and coffee and every morning your treated to a great Balinese breakfast. Hot showers, very good aircon, what more could you want. For sure one of the better places in Ubud.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harvie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at Teba House for 4 nights and really enjoyed it.
It's a beautiful place, with many huts or rooms built around a beautiful garden. Each room/hut gets its own porch where you can relax in privacy and enjoy coffee/tea.

I stayed in a Deluxe room, very good value! Nice, clean, lot of space, with A/C.
My friend stayed for 1 night in the standard room and it was very nice too but no A/C.
If you share deluxe you basically get accommodation at a cheaper price than a hostel!
Fast internet in any room. Only little thing is that a couple of times I had no hot water. Staff fixed it, there is something they have to do with the boiler. You only need to tell them ahead and they ensure everything is fine.

Service is impeccable. Staff is always there to help and assist with anything: they are always nice offering coffee/tea or giving recommendation on what to do. They helped me to decide for an amazing Bycicle Tour in the area, managed by local people. Loved it! (Thanks Mango!)

Location is perfect, a 5-10 min walk to the main road but you walk through all nice restaurant and shops, not a problem at all! It's very close to the Monkey forest and less than 5 min from YOGABARN. perfect for it!

Breakfast was delicious, best pancake I've had so far!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ale_basmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Cheap and clean family BB just outside Ubud city center (5 mins walking)..The owner Kathot, offered us 4 full days of tour (4persons = 1 car) at a very good price, bringing us discovering all the attractions in Bali (itineraries were decided by ourselves) offering us a lot of explanations about Bali culture and traditions.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We weren't expecting anything fancy going here (based on the reviews we'd read) but we were positively surprised! We got our own beautiful little temple-like-hut and were greeted with a welcome-tea on our own porch. The room standard is medium but had AC which was our only demand. Breakfast was yummy but quite small. Location is a bit off (takes about 15 min to get to centre) but the walk into town is nice. Would stay here if i went back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed in this guesthouse with my boyfriend for 5 nights. Room was nice and clean, breakfast was good, every day something else to eat (banana pancakes, toast with eggs, etc always accompanied by a plate of fruit). Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Mangku, for his great customer service . We would definitely go back to this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La_Belgicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had two rooms for two nights. The guest house is about a 10 minute walk to nearby eating places, supermarket, spas and shopping on Jalan Hanoman. Rooms are basic and clean. They have added and upgraded some rooms with air conditioners.
The breakfast is simple but tasty. The rooms are built around a well manicured garden. The owner lives on the premises and responds quickly to requests.
Our room, which was tiny with two single beds, had a nice sitting area outside. The warm water, however, for the shower is inconsistent. It is either very hot or not at all - takes some skill to mix them.
If you are looking for a place to just sleep in, this place is acceptable.

Room Tip: Room 7 is on the top floor. It is bigger and has a bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tebah0use_59, Manajer at Teba House Ubud Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

First of all… Thank you for your time in writing the Teba House’s review page at tripadvisor.

Principally, we really appreciate in every guest comment regarding their experiences. Yes, it is about the experiences… and from those experiences then we will meet our standard to give you the better service to welcoming you back at Teba House Ubud Bali.

Again, thank you for having the experience with us and your sustainability future coming is our main pride.

Regards,
Teba House Ubud Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#61 of 197 in Ubud
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Desak Putu Putera Homestay
0.4 mi away
Praety Home Stay
Praety Home Stay
#52 of 654 in Ubud
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kori Bali Inn
Kori Bali Inn
#223 of 654 in Ubud
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Depa House
Depa House
#30 of 654 in Ubud
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gerhana Sari 2 Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teba House Ubud Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teba House Ubud Guest House

Address: Jalan Sugriwa No.59 | Banjar Padang Tegal Kelod, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £7 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Teba House Ubud Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teba House is an Ubud Guest House set amidst the Balinese Villagers of Ubud - Bali, a famous village with the beautiful nature and Balinese Art. It offers the comfortable accommodation in the center of real Balinese society life in Ubud Bali. It is situated in the form of Balinese traditional village close to the religious, social and art activities. It provides the real budget accommodation and personality of the Balinese charming services for holiday in Bali. The rooms are designed with Balinese architectures and it is surrounded by the lush tropical garden that is dominated by the tropical orchid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Teba House Ubud Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teba House Hotel Ubud
Teba House Ubud Guest House Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing