We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay!”
Review of Villa Orchid Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Orchid Bali
Ranked #121 of 598 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed 11 June 2013

A fantastic place to stay! It is a bit outside Ubud, but easy to get to by taxi or even by bike. Even though it is only 10 minutes away from the city Ubud, it feels immediately as if you are in the countryside. The villa is located in the beautiful surroundings of rice-fields and you hear chicken, ducks and cows when you wake up. The guest-villa has a very beautiful and spacious interior with a great view from your terrace. You can relax at the private swimming pool and sunbeds. Or explore the area. The German/Balinese owners can arrange day-tours for you with a driver. They can also drop you off in the citycentre of somewhere else.
When you wake up a delicious breakfast is served at the 'main terrace'.
We stayed three nights here on our honeymoon and would definitely recommend this Villa Orchid to others. We would also love to come back here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CariJANne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spent 7 nights at Villa Orchid in the Frangipani bungalow. The beauty of this place is that it is surrounded by rice paddies so you feel a million miles away from everyone and in the heart of true Bali. Gerhard and Yuni are perfect hosts, the breakfasts delicious (and plentiful!), the pool delightful, the bungalow warm and inviting. Whilst it is a 15 minute drive out of Ubud (which we hadn't realised when we booked), transport was always ready to take us into town when we wanted and getting taxis back was never a hassle, once we'd bargained the right price! Watching the rice being harvested as we sat by the pool or on our bungalow deck was fabulous. Happy Warung for a simple, delicious dinner, was a 5 minute walk away. So too the kecak fire dance every Monday night. All in all a real get away from it all. Peaceful, calm, delightful. You feel as if you are a guest in Gerhard and Yuni's home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

A very authentic style villa.
Consists of a beautiful main path along which we find a nice pond, beautiful Balinese statues, all surrounded by beautiful flowers with sweet fragrance.

A very nice pool, made of stone, behind which is a beautiful carved wooden kiosk, where is served a rich and fruity breakfast.

Our bungalow "Frangipani", very spacious with a terrace has a wonderful view over the rice fields of Ubud around us.

Ducks, dragonflies, fireflies, frogs croaking, eventually convince us that we are open circles in a superb Balinese nature.

All the decor is refined and delicate.
The staff is warm and friendly.

A flower fragrance, delicious, is floating in the air.
We are about 15 minutes by taxi. Difficult traffic , inexpensive, but there is a path through the rice fields, it is absolutely necessary to borrow at least once, for its rural charm.

It remains a wonderful stay, recommend to anyone looking for a villa calm and pleasant, a typical beauty of Bali.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My hustband and I had never visited Bali before, (as the thought of Kuta etc did not interest us one little bit!) but finding Villa Orchid on tripadvisor was a real gift. We arrived home yesterday after having spent 7 nights there and we can honestly say that it was an absolutely wonderful Bali experience. Gerhard and Yuni are the most perfect hosts, and Nikitut (spelling?) cooked the most amazing daily breakfasts, and lunch snacks, and Wyan was always available to take us into Ubud whenever we wanted. The bungalow, Frangipani, was wonderful, and we woke up every morning to the view of the rice fields just over our balcony - watching the villagers begin their daily work. The gardens around the bungalows, of which there are only 2, are beautiful, and the pool is always spotless and a welcome sight after taking one of many walks around the local villages. You can walk into Ubud, (about 75 mins depending on how many villagers you stop and talk to), through rice fields and past many little local painters - it is just wonderful, and a true insight into the real Bali life and culture. A visit to Happy Warung about 7 mins walk away is a must for dinner or lunch, right in the middle of rice fields, and highly recommeded. The fire dance on a Monday night in the next village is not to be missed.
Villa Orchid is definately a place to visit. Thank you Gerhard and Yuni, for making our first Bali visit such a memorable one. We really look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I'm Indonesian and I've been to Bali many times yet I never really liked it. I learned that if I want beaches, I can go to many other better places with better and cleaner beaches in Indonesia. Partying is a lot more fun in Jakarta after all. After 7 years of not coming to the island, last weekend I decided to come and stay in Villa Orchid. And it just blew me away.

The place was a gem! Although it took me 2 hours to get there from the airport, but they provided me an airport transfer so it wasn't a problem at all. It's a bit cold there but they provided electric blanket so I could stay warm all night. I felt really close to the nature. And the food was fantastic! The staff are among the amazing people I've ever met. I spent four nights there and I can say I just fell in love with Bali all over again.

Truly, truly recommended. Stay there if you really want to experience the real Bali.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imortelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

In November we went to Bali to write our next book and we needed somewhere that was peaceful and picturesque and Villa Orchid fitted this perfectly. The owners are wonderful and the staff are fantastic. I highly recommend the breakfast and the small lunch that is provided all cooked fresh and delicious. If you want the real Bali stay at Villa Orchid - you won't be disappointed. The villa is about 10 min out of Ubud and the Driver will take you in when ever you want and then you can get a taxi back for around RP35,000. Bring a torch, that way you won't stand on the frogs at night on the path and enjoy Balinese life.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Absolutely gorgeous, lush gardens surrounded our room. Excellent service and perfect for young families. We were there with a 6 month old and 3 year old. The staff was very accommodating and made the whole stay just perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bspess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumah Sungai Villa
Rumah Sungai Villa
#62 of 620 in Ubud
70 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mandala Desa
Mandala Desa
#9 of 598 in Ubud
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#2 of 598 in Ubud
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
2.0 mi away
Villa Wedang Ubud
Villa Wedang Ubud
#105 of 598 in Ubud
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Orchid Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Orchid Bali

Address: Banjar Abangan near Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 598 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £52 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the two traditional villages Kelabang moding and Abangan, amidst a tropical garden, our Villa Orchid Bali nestled in an oasis of calm and reflection, 4 km to Ubud. From breakfast - Bale and from the pool, enjoy a wide and unobstructed view of rice terraces, surrounded by coconut palms and slender tree ferns. The quiet work of Balinese rice farmers in the sawah is for the silent and open-minded observer a meditative experience and inner enrichment. Swimming in the small river flowing by, and wash it women, men and children as ever, we believe time has stood still. Our Villa Orchid Bali and the two bungalows high standards were first conceived only as a private retreat for family and friends . For some time we will also be a good host for people who want to immerse themselves deeper and personal in the culture, religion, and in the landscape with its people. This is for interested people who want to see and learn more than a big Hotel can offer. Ubud, the cultural center of Bali, with its numerous temples and religious ceremonies-solid, with numerous galleries, dance performances and his monkey forest, is just four miles away from Villa Orchid Bali. A shuttle brings guests of the Villa quickly in the busy Monkey Forest Road or overflowing bazaar opposite the Royal Palace. Shopping and dining, stroll and visit, Ubud has much to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Orchid Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Orchid Bali Hotel Ubud
Villa Orchid Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing