We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If peace and quiet in a great setting is your desire -- go here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Orchid Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Orchid Bali
Ranked #131 of 521 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If peace and quiet in a great setting is your desire -- go here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had a truly great 4 night stay at Orchid Villa. We did little but swim, relax in the cabana , walk in the ricefields and enjoy peace and quiet. We rated the location down but it's really that you need to know how to get around. The owners Gerhart and Yuni were great -- but mostly we felt the place was ours alone. The staff were great . Food v good. A suggestion -- use your free ride to Ubud wisely and do a deal with one of the villa drivers to pick you up from Ubud -- location is tricky to find for some? Warung Madu in Ubud -- v good. Coffee at Sinnanon(?).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILikeIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
53
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Beautiful grounds; great pool; fabulous location. Gerhard and Yuni are wonderful hosts. Suggest you hire a motorbike if you stay here - only 10 mins by bike to Ubud. Internet a bit patchy - but you shouldn't be using it if you are on holidays.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

In July 2013 we have spend a week in the Villa Orchid in Ubud. We got a recommendation from a colleague and it was really very nice. Yuni and all the people really spoilt us.
The whole Villa including the pool and the food was just excellent. While Ubud is sometimes hectical but for sure worth visiting the Villa Orchid ensured a very relaxing week for us.
The hikes through the ricefiels and the tours organized by Yuni were just wonderful and we clearly recommend them to anyone staying there. The thing we will remember for sure are all those noises from the various animals - eg. Frogs, birds, etc.
Thanks again for the womderful time and all the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

A fantastic place to stay! It is a bit outside Ubud, but easy to get to by taxi or even by bike. Even though it is only 10 minutes away from the city Ubud, it feels immediately as if you are in the countryside. The villa is located in the beautiful surroundings of rice-fields and you hear chicken, ducks and cows when you wake up. The guest-villa has a very beautiful and spacious interior with a great view from your terrace. You can relax at the private swimming pool and sunbeds. Or explore the area. The German/Balinese owners can arrange day-tours for you with a driver. They can also drop you off in the citycentre of somewhere else.
When you wake up a delicious breakfast is served at the 'main terrace'.
We stayed three nights here on our honeymoon and would definitely recommend this Villa Orchid to others. We would also love to come back here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CariJANne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spent 7 nights at Villa Orchid in the Frangipani bungalow. The beauty of this place is that it is surrounded by rice paddies so you feel a million miles away from everyone and in the heart of true Bali. Gerhard and Yuni are perfect hosts, the breakfasts delicious (and plentiful!), the pool delightful, the bungalow warm and inviting. Whilst it is a 15 minute drive out of Ubud (which we hadn't realised when we booked), transport was always ready to take us into town when we wanted and getting taxis back was never a hassle, once we'd bargained the right price! Watching the rice being harvested as we sat by the pool or on our bungalow deck was fabulous. Happy Warung for a simple, delicious dinner, was a 5 minute walk away. So too the kecak fire dance every Monday night. All in all a real get away from it all. Peaceful, calm, delightful. You feel as if you are a guest in Gerhard and Yuni's home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

A very authentic style villa.
Consists of a beautiful main path along which we find a nice pond, beautiful Balinese statues, all surrounded by beautiful flowers with sweet fragrance.

A very nice pool, made of stone, behind which is a beautiful carved wooden kiosk, where is served a rich and fruity breakfast.

Our bungalow "Frangipani", very spacious with a terrace has a wonderful view over the rice fields of Ubud around us.

Ducks, dragonflies, fireflies, frogs croaking, eventually convince us that we are open circles in a superb Balinese nature.

All the decor is refined and delicate.
The staff is warm and friendly.

A flower fragrance, delicious, is floating in the air.
We are about 15 minutes by taxi. Difficult traffic , inexpensive, but there is a path through the rice fields, it is absolutely necessary to borrow at least once, for its rural charm.

It remains a wonderful stay, recommend to anyone looking for a villa calm and pleasant, a typical beauty of Bali.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My hustband and I had never visited Bali before, (as the thought of Kuta etc did not interest us one little bit!) but finding Villa Orchid on tripadvisor was a real gift. We arrived home yesterday after having spent 7 nights there and we can honestly say that it was an absolutely wonderful Bali experience. Gerhard and Yuni are the most perfect hosts, and Nikitut (spelling?) cooked the most amazing daily breakfasts, and lunch snacks, and Wyan was always available to take us into Ubud whenever we wanted. The bungalow, Frangipani, was wonderful, and we woke up every morning to the view of the rice fields just over our balcony - watching the villagers begin their daily work. The gardens around the bungalows, of which there are only 2, are beautiful, and the pool is always spotless and a welcome sight after taking one of many walks around the local villages. You can walk into Ubud, (about 75 mins depending on how many villagers you stop and talk to), through rice fields and past many little local painters - it is just wonderful, and a true insight into the real Bali life and culture. A visit to Happy Warung about 7 mins walk away is a must for dinner or lunch, right in the middle of rice fields, and highly recommeded. The fire dance on a Monday night in the next village is not to be missed.
Villa Orchid is definately a place to visit. Thank you Gerhard and Yuni, for making our first Bali visit such a memorable one. We really look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Alam Dania Cottage
Alam Dania Cottage
#26 of 521 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lily Lane Villas
Lily Lane Villas
#19 of 521 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.3 mi away
DD Ubud Villa
DD Ubud Villa
#85 of 521 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ubud Dedari Villas
#35 of 521 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#7 of 521 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa-Ubud
Hotel Villa-Ubud
#36 of 521 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Orchid Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Orchid Bali

Property: Villa Orchid Bali
Address: Banjar Abangan near Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 521 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the two traditional villages Kelabang moding and Abangan, amidst a tropical garden, our Villa Orchid Bali nestled in an oasis of calm and reflection, 4 km to Ubud. From breakfast - Bale and from the pool, enjoy a wide and unobstructed view of rice terraces, surrounded by coconut palms and slender tree ferns. The quiet work of Balinese rice farmers in the sawah is for the silent and open-minded observer a meditative experience and inner enrichment. Swimming in the small river flowing by, and wash it women, men and children as ever, we believe time has stood still. Our Villa Orchid Bali and the two bungalows high standards were first conceived only as a private retreat for family and friends . For some time we will also be a good host for people who want to immerse themselves deeper and personal in the culture, religion, and in the landscape with its people. This is for interested people who want to see and learn more than a big Hotel can offer. Ubud, the cultural center of Bali, with its numerous temples and religious ceremonies-solid, with numerous galleries, dance performances and his monkey forest, is just four miles away from Villa Orchid Bali. A shuttle brings guests of the Villa quickly in the busy Monkey Forest Road or overflowing bazaar opposite the Royal Palace. Shopping and dining, stroll and visit, Ubud has much to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Orchid Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Orchid Bali Hotel Ubud
Villa Orchid Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing