We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs some work”
Review of Ubud Garden Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ubud Garden Villa
Ranked #196 of 620 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Location is good. Close enough to walk down to the main part of Ubud but very quiet and tranquil. Room was big and the bed was comfortable and clean. Breakfast is very basic. The women working in the kitchen were very nice and friendly as were the front desk staff.
My only complaint really is the bathroom. It needs a really good scrub! I don't think the cleaners know how to clean a bathroom. The walls of the shower/bath had mildew growing on them and there was black gunk, which I was able to scrape off with my fingernail, around the base of all the taps.
Considering this hotel is managed by Australians you would think that there would be a higher level o fcleanliness and hygiene.
I didn't swim in the pool because I never once saw anyone doing any cleaning etc and so was not sure whether it was safe to swim in.
I think that with minimum effort these problems could quite easily be rectified.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

i stayed here for two nights in the ginger suite, and wished i could have stayed a bit longer. i had originally booked through expedia and they only had a garden room or a veranda room available. i took the veranda and there was no turning back. the room was amazingly perched above a lovely private pool and i had views of the rice field next door. there are lots of mosquitos so bring repellant and a box of your own coils - they do provide a couple, but you'd want a few burning at once if you want to relax on the veranda. the large window doors were perfect and i though it would be nice to wake up with the sun, however at 6am i went to the windows and closed the curtains, the room gets a lot of light on all sides and it was a little overkill at 6am. the bed was a bit hard and the pillows a bit hard. i had some yellow stains on my sheets and pretended they were not there. so gross. this room provided a coffee maker, refridge and tv with one channel - the asian food network!! you can borrow dvds at the desk to watch instead but i was catching up on cuisine.

the bathroom is another story. it is very very dated, dark and mildewy. the bathtub was very big and is made for three i think but i could never get enough hot water to fill it and had to take rather cold baths. there isn't a shower curtain so the walls have mildew. there are also open holes through the walls like little windows but they let in bugs and the neighbors can get a glimpse of your naked bum. the bathroom isn't open door and should be or at least have more light.

the towels though, smelt really good. i don't know what detergent they were using but it smelt gooood. i have allergies to mold and mildew and i really had some bad attacks in this room but that's my fault for not bringing any medicine.

i would stay here again, and bring safety pins to close the mosquito netting around the bed since it was too small and left big gaps here and there. .

the spa was nice, not amazing, but nice - cheaper than the other places.

the grounds are very romantic, lots of lilly pads, rivers, vines, trellises, privacy!

the manger gave a nice tip for a great view restaurant : Indus
they have a live salsa band on monday nights and lots of dancing along with a great 4 star dinner. you can see the rice fields from the top of the mountain.

breakfast was ok, i would order the nasi 'fried rice' and shy away from the eggs since they are a bit undercooked. the staff didn't know what a wine bucket was either and i saw a cat lying on the kitchen counter one night - a little dirty if you've seen the cats around there.

** this room can catch the free wifi from the front desk, so that's a plus because some other rooms around can't receive a signal.

Room Tip: ask for a veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler60982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

we didnt expect much coming to the domah, as its cheap and one of our guides didnt have a good review about it. the enterence/ driveway is pretty ugly and could do with a make over. after coming into the hotel yard i thought it was quite nice and peaceful. the staff were very friendly and informative. our room was simple but nice, with a big bathroom. had a few swims in the share pool, there wasnt any where to sit or sun bathe after a swim and no towels that we could see.oh and some tiles felt broken on the bottom of the pool. free fast wifi is good. the restaurant was average, and didnt have much of a range.
overall though i really liked staying here, its a 10 min walk into ubud centre and a few places to eat along the road if u dont want to walk all that way.
i think we'll be back

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikiAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Nothing was ever too much to ask the welcoming and kind staff at beautiful d'Omar Hotel. They operated like a family - Thank you for letting us stay and discover the beauty of Ubud!

The rooms were beautifully appointed and gave us a real sense of a well appointed Balinese home, from artwork to indoor/outdoor living - beautiful.

The day spa staff were so professional and I enjoyed my treatment so much I booked a second one on our departure date which was a lovely treat.

The restaurant prepared an authentic home cooked Balinese meal every day - delish!

The grounds were beautifully manicured and the choice of pools was a lot of fun :-).

We will recommend d'Omah to our family and friends and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHoliday12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This place is terribe!
After 9 amazing nights in a private villa in Seminyak, we arrived in Ubud very excited about the next part of family holiday in Bali. My family (myself, wife & 3 young kids) were devastated when we arrived at d'Omah - dirty, dirty, dirty! The pool was green, the koi ponds were brown, the sheets were stained & had holes in them, the headboard on the bed had a hole in it, the bathrooms were disgusting, no security, construction happening out the front, I could go on & on & on...the best thing about d'Omah was that the manager agreed to pay for another hotel that we found in Ubud - The Beji (amazing - loved it!) The plan was to stay 5 nights in the Jasmine Suite - There was no way in the world I was going to let my family stay at this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve_3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Off the main flow of traffic, but only by a matter of minutes; enough though that we enjoyed peaceful mornings reading by the pool or on our room terrace. The staff was gracious and very accomodating. We loved the place because it had character, the rooms were clean, the staff was more than polite and friendly. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

It was a very pleasant experience staying in this hotel for two nights. The food is limited but the fried rice and fried noodle are delicious. It is not far from ubud centre, It took me only 15 minutes walking from ubud centre to the hotel,and close to Antonio blanco's museum. The room is clean and full of bali style. The staff are polite and nice with smile, especially Mandy, thank u for taking me to the beautiful places in ubud.. Btw, I'm from china but always recognized as a Japanese haha. Anyway I like this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlett_Wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Wayan 1
Villa Wayan 1
#273 of 598 in Ubud
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pugig Homestay
Pugig Homestay
#152 of 620 in Ubud
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saka Village Resort Ubud
Saka Village Resort Ubud
#148 of 199 in Ubud
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bali Dream Resort
Bali Dream Resort
#17 of 620 in Ubud
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Munut Balinese Resort
0.1 mi away
The Shift Hotel
The Shift Hotel
#176 of 598 in Ubud
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Garden Villa

Address: Jl. Campuhan | Panestanan Klod, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly d'Omah Hotel Bali)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 620 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £21 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ubud Garden Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud Garden Villa, a retreat place located in Penestanan, a little village just 15 minutes outside Ubud and has been known as an artist’s village where Walter Spies and Arie Smit used to live. Ubud Garden Villa creates an ambiance of complete serenity. In this magical retreat for couples, families and groups, guests will enjoy gracious Balinese hospitality throughout their stay as we have been welcoming guests since Mar 9, 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ubud Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Garden Villa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing