We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is not D'Omah Jogja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ubud Villas and Spa
Ranked #144 of 575 Ubud B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“this is not D'Omah Jogja”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed here simply because I thought that D'Omah Ubud has the same charm as its sister in Yogyakarta. I was wrong.

The room is too small, it's ill-decorated, the flush did not work and I had to carry my own luggage to the reception area upon arrival. And the inspects were bugging me all night long. I don't think it has good value.

I definitely won't stay there anymore.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    127
    45
    10
    9
See reviews for
62
112
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is a good place to stay if you are coming to Ubud for a few days. Although it is not that close to the centre of Ubud (I would guess about a 25 min walk) the hotel can drive you down to the centre on every hour. You do have to arrange your own transport back however. My room was very clean and I was impressed that they have mosquito-proofed everything and provide repellent and a mosquito net for the bed- this is a particularly important for me as I have an allergy to mossie bites. I didn't use the pool as it didn't look very clean; that could possibly be a consequence of the heavy rain that was happening though. The breakfast was pretty mediocre and I was still hungry after it. In comparison to other Bali hotels this place probably fares slightly better than average.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you are booking here after checking out the photos on their website, be aware that they aren`t an accurate portrayal of what you will be presented with! After many emails direct to the hotel enquiring as to what would accommodate 3 adults and 2 children we were instructed to book via Agoda, which we did! When we turned up at the hotel, we were given two bedrooms with a double bed in each. How were we to sleep 3 adults and a teenage boy and girl? When we presented to the reception area to clarify our booking we were fobbed off and pretty much told that the problem was because we had booked through Agoda. The rooms were okay..but very tired and worn looking. Our room absolutely wreaked of mould and damp. There was evidence of damp on the bathroom wall and the pool that was next to our rooms was green and remained that way for the three days we were there. The pool lounges beside the pools were cracked and worn and full of mould. Whilst the rooms were large...having to accommodate 5 of us in 2 rooms was less than satisfactory and something that we do not take ownership of, as we had tried repeatedly to clarify with the hotel what they could provide to accommodate our request! From our emails, we assumed we were getting three rooms but were in fact only given two...so do be careful with your booking. All this being said, the general staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Be aware that the cost truly reflects the condition of the hotel and the photos on their website are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royboyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Whilst I admit that the rooms are a bit 'tired', that's Bali, that's the effect of time and humidity! We loved this place SO MUCH. We stayed at the Jasmine suite and we all adored it. The staff are super lovely and helpful and all in all we were really sad to leave and would come back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Jasmine Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I read some reviews and wonder sometimes if folks forget what country they're in: Indonesia which = subpar sewer systems,(had a tremendous downpour which leaked into the bathroom, but was quickly cleaned by staff and once the rain subsided, no problems.) maintenance and other things those of us from "western" countries take for granted. The overall general cleanliness of the hotel, and more importantly the outstanding friendliness of the staff, made this a nice retreat from the madness of Ubud central.

If you feel you *must* be in the thick of restaurants, shops, and general chaos, this is not the place for you.

I was *very* pleased with our choice, but I will say do book an upstairs room. We had booked the "Veranda" Room and it was a lower level, with no view and the bed was a "double" bed. With a 6'5 husband, I was bound to be on the floor so we asked for another room. We then moved to the "Ginger" Suite and it had an nice view of the rice paddy, with a breeze to boot. The room was large and had wonderful full length windowed doors. Our room also overlooked one of the smaller of the three pools.

The hike into town is just that -- easily 30 minutes, at a leisurely pace -- to/from Ubud Palace. The hotel has a free shuttle to town, and good grief if you will surely find a taxi back if you can't manage the couple kilometer hike.

Not sure about most appetites but I felt the breakfast was more than adequate: coffee, fruit plate, and a choice of eggs or pancakes, etc. Free internet/WifFi. Three pools, Hardly see any other guest. Glad to have found it rather than always choosing something "in the book."

Beware of booking engines, however. I booked first with hotels.com and came out with ~150USD incl. tax but found their website and the same room, incl tax, was 90USD.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravlJini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We were confused by the somewhat disconnected layout of d'Omah - until the staff explained that it had originally been 2 adjacent hotels. The 'Garden Villas' are tiny buildings consisting of a small bedroom/bathroom at each end, connected in the middle by a shared outdoor lounge area. A central stair well leads up to an empty "loft for meditation" (i.e. no furniture, not even a chair). At $130 for the 2 rooms, I guess this would suit a family with 2 older children (although there is no TV/DVD). If you were a couple who did not want to socialize it would be easy to get frustrated from being forced on top of your neighbors.
Follow the path around (to what used to be 'next door') and you end up at the luxurious Veranda Suites - spacious rooms with full-length windows, loads of wardrobes and drawers, quiet effective A/C, quiet mini-bar & TV/DVD. The Upstairs Veranda Suite feature a balcony around half of the building with views to local rice paddies. Downstairs Verandah Suites have large outdoor sitting areas with gardens providing some privacy, but it's only natural that guests look in as they walk past on the way to the pool etc.
The d'Omah would really benefit from some general maintenance - both pools were clean but had tiles lifting. The bathroom towels were well passed their use-by date so we used the pool towels, which were large and new. Our old bathroom sink featured a stain along a lengthy crack, but otherwise the room was kept clean. As others have mentioned, breakfast is included and is sufficient - but nothing to write home about. Cafe Mendez, an easy 5 minutes walk away - is Sensational! It's easy to over order though - a $3 entree easily filled us up. We're both early 50's and the steep 10 minute walk back from Ubud town did not worry us at all.
We consider ourselves easy travelers to please - but we are a little surprised that this hotel gets such rave reviews. D'Omah has it's pros and cons - that said, we were more than happy to return to our Upstairs Veranda Suite and the choice of two pools at the end of each day.
On our first night we were kept awake by the continuous barking of a neighbor's dog. The next morning we wearily mentioned this to Reception not expecting that anything could be done. To our amazement the dog was swiftly "moved to a cousins house" - whatever that means - and from then on we fell to sleep to the sounds of frogs, forest and distant roosters.
We took a hint from another reviewer on Trip Advisor and booked through Bali Friendly and got the room at a 35% discount.

Room Tip: Upstairs Verandah Suites are lovely. All other rooms looked problematic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard-and-Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangaroo Flat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great location, Staff could not do enough for you and we loved the facilities. Our room was very clean and quite big. There were two pools which were more than adequate and the hotel has an awesome new bar at the front (Roundbar, Ubud) which gives ou 30% OFF just for being a d'Omah guest. We will definately be going back.

Room Tip: Villas with two bedrooms are also available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
d'Omah Bali Hotel
#179 of 196 in Ubud
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Dream Resort
Bali Dream Resort
#16 of 575 in Ubud
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Wayan 1
Villa Wayan 1
#262 of 557 in Ubud
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Esa Ubud
Villa Esa Ubud
#388 of 557 in Ubud
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shift Hotel
The Shift Hotel
#144 of 557 in Ubud
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gekkos Ubud Bali
Gekkos Ubud Bali
#151 of 557 in Ubud
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Villas and Spa

Property: Ubud Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Campuhan | Panestanan Klod, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly d'Omah Hotel Bali)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ubud Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Villas And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing