We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Value and Unmatched Service”
Review of Ubud Garden Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ubud Garden Villa
Ranked #205 of 629 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I had the good fortune to stay at the d'Omah Hotel in the Jasmine Vila while vacationing in Ubud and enjoyed every aspect. The grounds are beautiful, the room elegant and every aspect of service was helpful and accommodating. No request was too big and each was met with a smile and the warmth that the Balinese people are well known for. In addition, Manager Rod Harris and staff provided helpful tips about places to see, where to eat, the best times to visit the markets and the Sacred Monkey Forest and etc. d'Omah is located on a side street, at the top of a well-travelled, steep hill where you can find a number of retailers, the Round Bar and several eateries, including Mendes Wyong. When trekking up or down the hill seemed a bit daunting, d'Omah's complimentary shuttle service provided an easy way to get into town. That said, the hotel's location is up and away from the hustle and bustle of central Ubud and is central enough so that no area within this expanding community is too far to negotiate. Adding to the restive aspect of the property is the on-site spa that provides massages, pedicures and etc at rates that are easily affordable and can be provided, upon request, in the comfort of your room. d'Omah is a great choice for those who like outstanding service at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The single rooms are very basic, but include air conditioning, an internal bath and are poolside. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSaidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed for a few nights in a Veranda Suite and found it really good value for money. It was almost like having your own private pool villa, except you shared the pool with 3 other neighbours.

The staff were awesome and helpful, offering unbiased recommendations and suggesting things to do. Check out Bali Eco Cycling which you can book through reception. This was the highlight of our trip.

We hired a moped from reception for about $7 AUD per day and went exploring the surrounding areas and rice fields away from all of the tourists. I would totally recommend this if you end up staying here as Monkey Forest Road is a 5 minute motorbike ride away and there's not too much around D'omah except for other hotels and villas. There are some great restaurants and bars with live music nightly along Monkey Forest Rd and the hotel offer a free mini bus that will drop you off here every hour till 9:00pm.

The room had its own veranda with a full size bar with mini fridge, day bed and views of the pool. The room was a good size with 10 english movie cable channels, air conditioning and a private outdoor garden that you couldn't really use. the bathroom opened up over this garden with a semi outdoor shower and a massive bath tub.

There were other pools around the grounds, breakfast was not that great, and a uber modern cocktail bar out the front of the hotel which really didn't fit in with the local area.

This is a great option for someone wanting the Ubud villa holiday but not wanting to spend hundreds of dollars.

Room Tip: Veranda Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benoz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Thank you to Rod Harris and his team at d'Omah Hotel, Ubud. Rod made sure that our stay was relaxed, happy and gave great personalised service. The location is good - handy to day spas (try Botannica & Sedona - both awesome) and fantastic restaurants like Bridges. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaomiBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

d'Omah was very highly recommended by a local ex-pat and I'm glad it was. My experience of service has been ordinary to poor in Bali but the service here is exceptional. Very accommodating for all needs, late check outs, fixing any problems straight away and recommending local gems like Sari organics, a restaurant surrounded by rice paddies.

Bridges restaurant is just down the hill, it's very elegant and a beautiful three course meal costs less than a third of what it would in Australia.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerri54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent a week at the D'Omah hotel and it was a great Bali experience. The hotel is quite rustic but this style of hotel is not unusual in Ubud and the highly humid, tropical Indoneisan climate. We were here for a wedding taking place at another hotel, and due to the amount of people descending on Ubud for the wedding, i had the privilege of seeing quite a few other hotels in Ubud. I can honestly say that the D'Omah is as good and better than other places, especially the more expensive ones. The service at the D'Omah is excellent and it is also easily accessible to Ubud town and most taxi drivers know it or can find it - something not to be underestimated in a countryside location. Ubud is not small but finding hotels can be a challenge for even the local drivers at the best of times.

The hotel is clean and well maintained but it would be considered 'rustic' by western, 'quality' hotel criteria/standards. Don't let this deter you as the charm of being in Ubud or off-the-beaten-track-Bali works its magic through this hotel. The staff are incredibly helpful from top manager Rodney, all they way down, and everyone is always cheerful - you will soon relax and enjoy the place for all that it offers in no time.

We were a large group with several adult families. We had 3 rooms in the main hotel and 5 rooms in the villa annex, which was accessed via a pathway round the back of the hotel. The rooms are a great size and the beds comfortable. The main gripe some of us had was the cockerel waking us rather too early, hardly the hotel's fault!! The only other gripe we had was the lighting in the rooms. There is simply not enough light, and you can't actually read using the bedside lamps due to too low wattage bulbs. Overall the rooms are comfortable and the decor is atmospheric, but it all gets too dim at night.

I did not use the spa, but several members of our party had massages, which they enjoyed. We went swimming in all the pools. They are all clean. Free wifi is available in all the communal areas and it is true that you can pretty much feel like the hotel is all yours, due to the amount of secluded areas.

Being in the annex had its (somewhat unexpected) advantages. We had a full team in the kitchen at our beck and call. We had a 'butler' in the form of the brilliantly resourceful Cadek, who simply couldn't do enough to make sure everything on our trip was the best it could be. If he could tuck us up in bed at night, i am sure he would! Superman!

I think this was what really made it for us - the personalised hospitality, the unique location of the hotel, the constant cries of cockerels, the weird and wonderful insects, the pet dog who is actually a cat crossbreed, the spicy noodle 'me goreng' for breakfast.... It was like staying at someone's house in Bali - different, indulgent, memorable - altogether our stay in Bali was an unforgettable holiday, not just due to the beautiful surroundings but this wonderfully unique hotel and its staff. Highly recommended if you are looking for something different and special in your holiday in Bali but equally need the usual mod cons.

Room Tip: Rooms in the villa annex are great for groups or large families as you can be together in your own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SashaWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I'm there for a week due to Bali Spirit Festival (yoga) . We rent 3 rooms.

I have unforgettable experience especially night time

The bathroom back door can be see through from outside. On day 2 night , my girl friend while in toilet heard footstep outside and she go near to the door.
She saw a person outside with a small torch. She yelled and I went out to check. But no body. I'm not sure is it a person or other things.

And midnight , our room key is moving rocking side to side when we hang it.

My other friend in other room face same things.

I suggest the place need to cleanse by a Balinese priest.

And please change the bathroom back door that can't be see through especially people shower time.

More light outside the villa. The path road is too dark and can't see the stair case.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChesterTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My partner and I just had 2 days at Hotel D'Omah to celebrate my birthday. I'd like to thank the owner, Warwick Purser - and his lovely staff for making me feel so special and looking after us the way they did. This charming boutique hotel is set in its own very large and lush private compound. If you're after five star modern comforts D'Omah isn't for you. If however you want to experience a truly Balinese setting, and want to be looked after day and night by attentive and lovely Balinese staff then D'Omah is ideal.

"The Round Bar" at the front entrance to the Hotel D'Omah is also a really great place to chill and listen to the great music played by the very handsome Bayu and his friends.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Booking a Verandah room will make your stay even more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaliBoy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Bunga Permai Hotel
Bunga Permai Hotel
#137 of 199 in Ubud
106 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#3 of 609 in Ubud
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.9 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Garden Villa

Address: Jl. Campuhan | Panestanan Klod, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly d'Omah Hotel Bali)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 629 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £19 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ubud Garden Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud Garden Villa, a retreat place located in Penestanan, a little village just 15 minutes outside Ubud and has been known as an artist’s village where Walter Spies and Arie Smit used to live. Ubud Garden Villa creates an ambiance of complete serenity. In this magical retreat for couples, families and groups, guests will enjoy gracious Balinese hospitality throughout their stay as we have been welcoming guests since Mar 9, 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ubud Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Garden Villa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing