We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gayatri
Nearby Hotels
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$974
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$843
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$422
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
145
107
29
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
107
29
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoccer fieldoff monkey forest roadswimming poolrice fieldslocal schoolquiet lanecentral locationfantastic locationlovely poolbalinese architecturelarge balconypiece of paradisewalking distancebeautiful gardenhot waterincluded breakfastbanana pancakes
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have been to Bali many times and we have stayed in many places, each offering various levels of comfort. For the first timer, it is easy to see the negative aspects, but have no concept of the battle with nature in maintaining a property in a tropical environment. Bali is hot and humid for most of the year. The wet season is relentless. Things don't dry, they get mouldy and stain. Even the most toxic bleach and a toothbrush won't get it off. Ask anyone who lives in the tropical north of Australia how they manage?
Gayatri Bungalows offers one of the best value, mid- range accommodation in Ubud. They have 3 categories: Standard - Fan only, Standard - Air-con and Superior Air-con. The superior rooms are huge. Two queen beds and room for a party! There were 3 of us, and they kindly set up a big mattress so we all had a bed each. The superior rooms are in a block of 6. 3 levels high. If you are not fit, and can't manage stairs, then ask for room 10 or 11. The stairs to the middle level aren't bad. My friend has bad knees and managed. The last 8 give your butt a bit of a workout!
If you're fit, the views from rooms 14 and 15 are spectacular. Be smart and stock up your fridge!
There are fridges in the superior rooms, stocked with a few items, with prices comparable to the convenience store anyway, so why bother.
Ayu, Bagus and Cinta are doing a great job managing Gayatri. Their staff are friendly, always smiling. They will do what they can to make your stay comfortable. At sunset, they put a candle on the table outside everyone's room. Breakfast was delivered to our room and we asked for another thermos of hot water so we could make our own tea and coffee throughout the day. They would bring us whatever we wanted, lunch or dinner too, to our room. The pool is huge and there is a cool bale (hut) to sit in, if your legs don't go numb like mine!
They have a laundry service and your clothes come back smelling divine!
Gayatri's location is an added bonus. Everything is walking distance unless you want to go out of town. The markets, convenience stores, clothes and art shops, restaurants, cafés, night clubs - my fave is LOL, for reggae on Friday and Sunday nights, just a 10 minute walk down Monkey Forest road, you can stumble back after a big night on the town!
I have recommended Gayatri to all my friends!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lydia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayu I, Owner at Gayatri, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Lydia,

thank you for your kind words! Bagus, Cinta and I really appreciate all feedback and though we are absolutely aware of the shortcomings of Gayatri Bungalows, we are working hard to update the rooms and furnishings.

We truly enjoyed having you stay here and hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards,
ABC Gayatri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend and I were originally staying in a $15/night room in Ubud but we decided to upgrade to Gayatri II because it looked so beautiful. We were not disappointed!!

For 275,000/night (about $25 usd) in low season, we had an airy, spacious room with four poster bed, great views of palms/the village, a decent bathroom, and a private deck with more wonderful views.

The room (facing away from reception) was private and quiet with only the sound of frogs at night. Coffee and tea was provided all day and the free breakfast was wonderful. You could pick from bread, eggs, juices, local specialties and more. Best of all, it was delivered right to our balcony!

The pool is gorgeous and well-maintained and we spent lots of time lounging in the chairs around it. The grounds are lush and well-maintained, staff friendly, and the cook makes a mean special. The architecture is also classic Bali.

The only downside was that the rooms were obviously not maintained--our door was missing a latch and there was a leak in the window. The bathroom door didn't shut properly either. Gayatri needs to keep up with their maintenance or this place is going to go south! However, as a backpacker on a budget, this place was a slice of paradise. Those with higher standards might not be quite as satisfied.

Room Tip: The building across from reception is cheapest. Try to get the rooms facing away from reception on the 2nd/3rd floor for views over the palms/village.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked 4 nights based on positive trip-advisor reviews but were hugely disappointed. We were put in room no. 15 which they said is a "luxury" room and the most expensive one on their property. After climbing steep and dangerous fleet of steps we were shocked to see the room. The toilet doors did not close at all, the toilet has mold growing everywhere, same with the bath-tub, the AC did not work at all and the linens were dirty. I immediately ran down - (there is no intercom either- for every request you need to go down 3 story and up again ) and told them that I won't be paying the price they asked for such a terrible room where nothing works. I was promised that within an hour they will change the room and put us in room no. 13 which according to them was better.
Room no. 13: AC worked better- atleast we could sleep, but out of two beds, one had a dirty stain so I , my husband and my 3 yr old had to sleep in one bed which was not all that comfortable. This room also had all the other problems listed above too - just the AC was better. The room doesnt stay closed either. Even after locking it, there is a big gap inviting mosquitoes.
The breakfast was ok on day 1 but on day 3 of our trip we were served bread with mold on it which was totally unacceptable. I immediately took the bread to show it to the manager and she says "we are sorry but we are only humans" !! This attitude goes on to prove how much they care about their customers. After I blasted them that no this was not acceptable and we could have fallen sick eating their molded bread, some manager guy came to talk to me. He was polite and offered to reduce our total price by one day- which was a nice gesture.
When we checked out this guy comes running behind us saying that we opened a bottle of water from Room no 15 and we should pay for that!! Now- that is quite some service- They FORGET to clean the bathrooms, FORGET to Check the AC, FORGET to Check the sheets or even basically look at their breakfast before serving but DO NOT FORGET to charge you extra!

NOT RECOMMENDED Even to enemies.

Room Tip: DO NOT Stay in Room no. 15. They will assign it to you even when they know that it is not livable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miniz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayu I, Owner at Gayatri, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear miniz16,

Thank you for your review. The harsh words were well deserved and we admit that we are at a fault. Some of the rooms are indeed dated and have not been well maintained over the many years that Gayatri Bungalows has been operational.

We apologise, again, for the terrible experience you had with us and hope that you were still able to enjoy your holiday.

Gayatri Bungalows is 20 years old, and this can really be seen in the traditional style of the buildings and gardens. However, as the owner grew increasingly sick with cancer, his interest in managing the hotel decreased. This is no excuse for the bad conditions, but it does hopefully explain why we, the children of our deceased father, are still struggling with learning the ropes of running a hotel.

We have alredy repaired, fixed, replaced, and improved many aspects here at Gayatri Bungalows, but there is infinitely more to be done. We have begun renovations of the rooms in order to avoid more our customers having experiences such as yours and we are constantly training our staff to match international standards.

We are very sorry to have caused you such distress and I apologise once again on behalf of myself, my brother and my sister.

Thank you.

Kindest regards,
Ayu, Bagus and Cinta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Spotted this place during my last stay at the highly rated and personal Ubud favorite Tegal Sari resort. Thought to give Gayatri a try considering their closer location to shops and cheaper rate for our overnight stay in this trip.

Good :
1. Fair deal for the price. At only USD30 per night, we got what we paid for.
2. Location hidden away from main road yet access is convenient to shops, ubud market, restaurants..etc. however you will need to rent a motorbike at USD5 per day to get to the famous and awesome Naughty Nuri's restaurant for the MUST-TRY barbecued ribs. It gets better with every visit. Miss it already.
3. Friendly service.

Could be better
1. Place is aging and will need some patching up to keep up with competition. The beds are worn, the lights are dim, shower need stronger water flow and better coffee making facility welcome.
2. We booked 2 rooms and one came with aircon while the other with fan only. Yet both were charged same price. Not sure why 1 had an aircon short. We were in room 2 and room 3 downstairs facing the reception. Better views are those facing the paddy field and small swimming pool.

All in all, fair deal if looking for good location at bargain price. However not good enough for us to consider staying here again when so many choices are available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2adults2kidsonBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayu I, Owner at Gayatri, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear 2kids2adultsonbudget,

Thank you for your review!

The place is indeed aging, which is why we have started renovations on the rooms. Perhaps on the next visit you can see for yourself how much effort, time, love (and money!) we have put on the interior of the rooms. The idea is to have a kind of Boutique Bungalow with each and every room individually designed. We here are all very excited to see the rooms!

So hopefully you might still change your mind on staying with us again, as I can guarantee you that the renovated rooms will be stunning!

Kind regards,
Ayu, Bagus and Cinta

P.S. The idea is to actually widen the price range to include truly cheap budget rooms for backpackers as well as the new and improved deluxe rooms for those craving a bit of luxury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Centrally located in Ubud, tucked away at the bottom of an alley, you will find a terracotta and pink group of bungalows in the local architectural style. The gardens are lush, well maintained and peaceful. The pool is clean and large enough, with a lower end suited for small children. The rooms are basic, many in need of repair, but clean, airy and good value for the price you are paying. I recommend the deluxe rooms high up, with beautiful views and cooling breezes. There is a new management which will surely invest in renovations. However, this has already been a very pleasant stay with good quality for the price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Maylis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews