We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Amori Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amori Villas
Ranked #2 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the Honeymoon villa for three nights at Amori villa Ubud.

Simply, you could not get better service or accommodations at a seven star hotel.

There was never any fuss of having to sign cheques or mention what room you are in, everything was discreetly noted.

At times you felt like you had the whole place to yourself as it was so peaceful and intimate.

The staff went above and beyond to help with anything, even bandaging up a little scrape from a fall.

The food was very good and the open kitchen was a nice touch, I opted to stay in most nights and just enjoy the house menu.

We will be back every time we come to Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Amori for only 2 nights, and wish it had been for longer. The staff are what makes these places so very special. Of course, the actual accommodation is important, but it's the friendly and helpful service that makes it memorable.
Rooms were lovely, comfy beds, absolutely quiet except for circadas, roosters and birds. Loved the indoor/outdoor bathroom. Breakfast was absolutely awesome, and so pretty to look out over the lush green valley.
Also had really beautiful lunches and dinner's off the menu. Fresh juices are great too.
Our kids wanted to play table tennis so they dragged the old table out from under the pool and we had a fun afternoon of playing on the pool deck. The pool is spectacular with the blind edge dropping away to the valley below. Many photos were taken!!
The staff were great with the shuttle into town, and my husband and I also did the walk along Campuan ridge, where they were more than happy to wait for us at the top of the village. Very pretty and worthwhile.
We definitely need more time in Ubud and less in Seminyak, but now we have a reason to come back.
Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms, but we were in the treehouse as they could set up beds in the lounge for ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jod26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The most outstanding experience during our stay beside the scenery was how exceptionally hospitable the staffs were. We stayed at the "tree house" villa which offers a view to the swimming pool and padi field across the valley. Woken up by a (real) rooster, relaxing on the verandah with the sound of birds chirping and trickling river below. Pampered ourselves in a private open-air tub after swimming and jacuzzi was a luxury. All the city hectic were soon forgotten. Although Wifi was provided hence couldn't help taking a peek on emails.

Onion rings with dips, the welcome tapas, were children's favorite. We can't resists ordering for more. The minty 'Amori sensation' welcome drink was one of a kind, a virgin mojitos.

Breakfast were just right for the family. Staffs were friendly and accommodating. Our Villa was cleaned twice a day by default and they would do it at our convenient time.

We took cooking class of beef rendang Balinese style. Plenty of shuttle service to Ubud. We chose cycling arranged by the staffs. Started a tour on coffee plantation, then dispatched from mt batur, sped down through orange plantation, padi field, and dirty ducks. Ended with lunch at restaurant providing organic food in the middle of padi field. Our family of four were escorted by 2 cars (one carrying extra bikes and another was our transport) with 1 guide providing the tour.

Although this was not the first Ubud experience for the family but it certainly very enjoyable and memorable. You couldn't find the privacy of a boutique hotel and the hospitality of staffs on the regular five-stars resort. Even our 10-years old daughter chose privacy over crowd ness of five-stars. There are still lots to do in Ubud. We would certainly consider staying at Amori Villas again. Thumbs up to Amori staffs and the manager.

Tips: for those movies crazes, you may bring your DVDs although the staffs provide DVDs on loan. Plenty of family games on loan too.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Gmel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This place is fantastic! Intimate surroundings, first class accommodations, great food and terrific service. Can't go wrong. It is simple elegance, drawn from the heart. Hoity-toity exclusive resort it is not. Spent four nights at Amori and could easily have stayed more. Drivers took us everywhere we wanted to go. Very quiet while we were there, so relaxation was easy. With only five rooms, it will never be crowded. It's a couples and small families kind of place. Great view over the valley. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Tree house is largest room. All rooms can fit a day bed for another person except honeymoon suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDI_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This place is magical and after a day wandering through bustling Ubud there was nothing better than returning to the tranquility of Amori. As others pointed out, the secret here is not just the peaceful location and the beautiful villa, both of which are wonderful, but the staff who work so hard to make this place very special. They welcome you in like members of the family and are charming, attentive and utterly delightful. Most seem to be from the local village and we loved getting to know them over a leisurely dinner or in the morning over a cup of Bali coffee. This was a dream stay for us and we look forward to coming back.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank carolynandkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed in the Valley View villa for three nights. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience, and can recommend it.

The location itself is fantastic - set overlooking a lush valley in a quiet part of Ubud. Nearby are temples, rice paddies and a small village – all perfect for exploring. Beyond are roads, traffic, heat, noise & dust. Aside from day-trip adventures and the obligatory visit(s) to town (free shuttle provided), there’s not a whole lot of reasons to leave the resort actually. You may however find that a few days are enough – it’s not a big place and of course has no beach, though there are plenty of jewel-like details to delight the senses for a while.

The infinity pool is fantastic – jutting over the lush green valley, a perfect place to while away the hours while contemplating the view. Space is at somewhat of a premium however, and with a full-house it could feel a little crowded pool-side. Boisterous kids would spoil the ambience for those seeking Zen-like tranquility.

All dining occurs in a central pavilion, which has a fantastic view over the pool and valley beyond. Meals are good, with a mix of Indonesian staples and Western/international (which we didn't try so can't comment on). We did however try the local dishes - sedap!

Staff/service was warmly genuine, attentive yet not obtrusive. By the third day they'd come to remember what I/we liked, which was nice. Kudos to Denny for being an attentive, hands-on GM. He even did double-duty as driver!

The Valley View suite was awesome, from its big-enough (and private-enough) balcony, to big soft bed and luxurious semi-open bathroom beyond. The open-air shower is a nice touch, the presence of small cute frogs adding a chorus of soft croaks. We did however discover that the sunken bath-tub doesn't hold water; and that the hot water runs out fast. The basin meanwhile leaks; while the bathroom floor itself could've been cleaner.

Insects can be a problem in the tropics, and we realized the mosquito net is there for a reason when my wife awoke covered in nasty red welts (which may leave scars, incl. on the forehead). Recommended to keep the netting closed at night.

Light sleepers will find themselves waking early at the Amori, thanks to a combination of chickens, motorbikes and radios. Of our three nights, on two mornings I was awoken earlier than I'd have liked - one day by the hotel's own staff playing music too loudly (and before 8am) in the nearby pavilion. Not that I don't like Rod Stewart, but some consideration would've been appreciated. Root cause of this poor noise insulation is the traditional material (atap) used to roof the villas.

These considerations aside, overall we were pretty happy with the Amori. It fitted the bill - close/easy weekend getaway - well, and with only a few villas has an intimacy and privacy that larger places can fail to achieve. Considering how close busy Ubud itself is, it’s a secluded gem of a place. Be sure to stroll out and explore the nearby temple and rice paddies.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

First stay at Amori and we love it. It's like home for us.

If you were driving by yourself, please asked the management to provide you with GPS coordinate or look at their map in their website. It's located in a remote area, but it's perfect for a retreat. Quite and beautiful view. Our room at Villa #5 was next to the river. You could hear clearly the sound of rushing river.

The villa has 3 rooms. A living room with an LCD TV, DVD player, ipod speaker, cable tv and a sofa bed. A bed with double bed. A huge bathroom with two shower and a bathtub.

They provided a clean and crispy white bedsheets. Wonderful toiletries (like the jasmine fragrance).

Our kid loved their edgeless swimming pool and jacuzzi. They could provide you a cooking lesson too for your kid.

The price of their minibar and laundry were very reasonable.

We loved their breakfast at the main building. They served and treated us very well.

You could have a message by the pool for Rp 135 k ++ per hour.

Denny and his staffs were very friendly and helpful.

You must ask them to arrange a bike tour from Mt. Batur. It's downhill ride for about 25 km. It's fun and fantastic.

Cannot wait to arrange another trip to Amori for longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNW325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
268 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,224 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,085 reviews
2.0 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amori Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amori Villas

Address: Br. Dukuh, Pejeng Kawan, Ubud 80552, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#1 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £188 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amori Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amori Villas can be whatever you choose it to be - a luxury boutique hotel, a yoga and wellness spa retreat, or your secret hideaway for a relaxed holiday, romantic celebration or honeymoon. Or it can be your own exclusive-use villas, serviced by butlers and chefs, to share with family and friends. In harmony with one of Bali's three sacred rivers, Amori is designed for peaceful relaxation, with personal service which is more than you could ever expect. You can choose one of seven luxury suites or villas plus enjoy all the shared facilities and services of a 5-star resort, with amazing views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Amori Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amori Villa Hotel Ubud
Amori Hotel Ubud
Amori Boutique Hotel Ubud
Amori Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing