We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but very overpriced”
Review of Amori Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amori Villas
Ranked #3 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite for three nights. Considering we were paying over $300 per night, we expect good things but it simply wasn't worth the money. The staff are lovely and the resort is beautiful. The location is out of town but the shuttle is great.
However, the room smelled terribly of mildew. It was spotless as was the lovely outdoor bathroom but the smell was very strong. The door handle fell off our bathroom door while we were there and even though we reported it, when we came back that evening the door was wide open and the handle had just been stuck back in place to fall off again.
The restaurant was ok but not exceptional. Having to order the day ahead is understandable but annoying. The chocolate dessert of the day was of course not available which I was sure would be the case. My three meals were drowned by the overuse of salad dressing. Breakfast was only average-definitely not at $300 a night standard. Packaged margarine (yuck!) and jams are really a bad thing. Ubud has at least two shops making and selling conserves so why not highlight these? Toast was thinly sliced and crispy and the juice was so watered down that it was more like cordial. These are nitpicking points I know but they shouldn't happen when you pay for this category of hotel. Having come from the absolutely perfect in every way but far cheaper The Damai in Lovina, it was hard not to be disappointed.
This is not a bad place by any means and the number of five star ratings reflects this but I can only assume that all of these people got a much better rate than we did. It was not worth $300++ a night and should lift its game if it wants to charge that. My rating is based on comparing this resort to others in Bali we have stayed in. It is lovely and the staff are very nice and attentive but it is only average in this price range and does need to sort out the room smell and breakfast. It is a very tough review to write as I think as a resort it's lovely but I cannot rate it higher than average when I compare to other places I have stayed that have been of a similar class. I hope the owners take note of my review and see it as positive critisism and not just whining.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite smells strongly of mildew. Not sure about the others though.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelbugextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Love_Bali_Ubud, Owner at Amori Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for your review, feedback and suggestions. Peta and I can assure you, and everyone who reads this, that we do take every review very seriously. We know that it is our passion and personal approach to Amori Villa which makes the difference. We won’t be able to please everyone but we will certainly try.
Firstly, let’s talk about our room rates. You have compared us to the Damai in Lovina. Although we have not stayed there, it is Trip Advisor rated in the top 10 in all 812 hotels in Bali, as are we. So it must be an excellent hotel. However it is in Lovina. The room rates in the north of Bali are lower than in Ubud and the south because it is a far less popular destination. Also the Damai is bigger than Amori are therefore may have some cost savings compared to us. We are definitely a boutique, small hotel with only 5 suites/villas. We keep our rates as low as possible to remain profitable. We are 20-30% below comparable properties in Ubud. For 5 months of the year you can stay at Amori for $220++, and slightly higher in July/August.
We are deeply sorry that the Honeymoon suite had a couple of maintenance issues when you were there. Our housekeeping and engineering staff are now aware that they have to “guest test” any small repairs they do, such as replacing a door handle.
Thank you for identifying the smell which you found to be unacceptable. There is definitely no mildew in any of the rooms. After investigation it was discovered that the smell came from a new air-conditioner. This has now been thoroughly cleaned and deodorised and there is no smell. Peta and I are staying in the Honeymoon Suite during this visit, to do a full quality inspection. We make a point of staying in all the rooms because the Balinese staff, lovely though they are, can never do the quality control like we do when they do not have the Western experiences.
We are proud of our restaurant and our food and drink menu. Our 3 trained chefs do a wonderful job. We can’t please everyone but we can always try. So, our responses to your comments:
• We only require pre-ordering (24 hours) for the slow-cooked Chicken Betutu. We also suggest ordering in the morning for those who would prefer for a beef or fish dish to have the meat purchased fresh that day. Also the fern-tip salad can only be prepared from freshly picked fern tips. These are not available in the supermarket. Otherwise our fairly extensive menu is available a la carte and most dishes can be prepared in 30 minutes or less.
• Breakfast. We need to communicate better that guests can have whatever they want, as much as they want and be served wherever they want. Our menu is just suggestions. We are too small to do buffet breakfast. And we believe that guests prefer to be served at the table and to receive their eggs or pancakes fresh and hot from the pan. As for the butter and jam, for hygiene reasons we choose individual packages - New Zealand butter, local pineapple and strawberry jams, other berry jams from USA. We will consider other options too but are not prepared to put out pots of jams and then throw away what is unused.
• Juice. We add ice to the freshly-made juices so that they are served cold, as they should be in the tropics. This can result is a less-concentrated flavour. Based on your suggestion, we will purchase a juice extractor so that we can offer a wider range of juices.
• Salad dressing. This is the first complaint we have had about our salads. We would have happily re-made it for you with the dressing on the side. We are trying to teach the butlers to be more intuitive and pick up on signals from guests.
• We agree that it is disappointing when a menu item is not available. This week we will be working with Deny and the chefs to ensure that we always have a good chocolate dessert offering to supplement the home-baked brownies (served with ice-cream and chocolate sauce.)
• We agree with you about the bread. Bread quality in Bali is improving but it is not a staple for them. We buy the best available at the supermarket but, yes, it is a bit thin for toast. There are specialty bakeries in Ubud now and so, following your suggestion, we have already started buying the full loaves of bread which we can slice to the appropriate toasting thickness. It is a pity that we didn't know your feelings on this during your stay, so we could remedied it by the following morning.

In conclusion, is Amori Villa a 5-star hotel and good value? Generally our guests believe so. We might not have every little thing that the big hotels in Singapore or Dubai offer, or which the hotel rating formula requires. However 99.7% of our guests believe that we offer 5-star rooms, facilities, food, service and more. We do offer something that other hotels usually do not - truly genuine personal service from local staff who love what they do, love Amori Villa, love Ubud and they love their guests. That said, we have to get the basics right. We always ask our guests if we can improve. Thank you for your review and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Amori Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our family of 6 had 2 villas for 3 nights. It was wonderful. The setting is beautiful, the staff warm and helpful. The accommodations first rate. You feel very comfortable and safe. They will drive you to and from local attractions. It is all very easy and convenient. The food is very good and made to order. The vistas from any part of the hotel are beautiful. There is a great infinity pool. We got massages and one of my kids took 2 cooking classes, they brought him to a farmers market to pick ingredients etc. They took in my family like their own.
The manager Deny is very responsive, Our butler Kadek was incredible, she knew everyone's names and favorite beverages and was always asking what else she and the staff could do to make our stay better. Ari was also wonderful. I would encourage travelers to stay in Ubud and stay here for a few nights of bliss.

Room Tip: Currently there are 5 villas, all seem pretty nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Amori Villas and it was one of the most relaxing places that we have experienced. From the moment we arrived the staff were very attentive to our needs and went out of their way to ensure that we were well looked after. It was very peaceful and the view down the valley was relaxing and we enjoyed watching the kites in the afternoon at the end of the valley. We ventured into Ubud a number of times via the free shuttle service provided and were always pleased to return to the relative tranquility of Amori.
The staff are amazing and very attentive to your needs. One of the best places we have ever stayed at and would be back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanGoodwin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Today is our last day at Amori and we wish we could stay longer! The villas are extremely comfortable, pool side is tranquil set on a beautiful cliff overlooking the river and far side of the valley. The staff are very friendly and always smiling, attentive to your every need. Highly recommend the hour massage, amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EzmayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Me, my wife and daughter just spent two nights at Amori Villa in the poolside villa. Located away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud village, this is a great place to relax. I think the best part was that it was so small and therefore you got to know the staff and other guests very easily. And of course, it meant that we often got the great saltwater swimming pool all by ourselves. The food was affordable and very good, rooms sparking clean, beds comfy and I loved the bathroom so much I had to take some photos so I can copy it for my next bathroom renovation. It's away from shops and restaurants, so this is best for a quiet relaxing holiday where you may want to spend most of the time in the resort. There are free shuttle buses to Ubud at certain times of the day if you want to go shopping, visit temples, the monkey forest, or just fancy a change from the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just a short ride in the complimentary shuttle from Ubud, this has got to be THE place to stay in the cultural hub of Bali. You can do it all from here - Monkey Forest, elephant rides,
traditional Balinese dancing, authentic restaurants, Temples, shopping.
Did I mention shopping? Carvings, batik, jewelry, clothing - you can get it all here. And, yes - you can get a 'genuine' Tag or Guess or Brietlung or Calkin Klein or Rolex for just a handful of dollars.
A walk through the local village from the hotel is very interesting - we were lucky enough to be asked into one of the family compounds to see the venue for a traditional family wedding.
Or you could easily spend several days just relaxing by the spotless infinity pool, reading and snoozing with outstanding river valley views. Sipping on cocktails or coffees or amazing fruit smoothies just seems such a good idea. Again and again.
The staff are incredibly kind and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The regular shuttles to the town centre were readily customised to our individual needs when possible. We were two couples and were lucky enough to have the entire place to ourselves for two nights/three days and all the staff at our exclusive beck and call. Soooo lucky. Sad to leave and felt we had made some genuine friends,
The cooking class is recommended - early start to the markets to purchase fresh ingredients after deciding on a menu the previous day . Then a day lazing around by the pool before starting cooking at 4pm. Enjoyable way to spend the day. And recipes to take home. Awesome.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 1 - beautiful room with awesome bathroom very comfortable bed and plenty of space...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZafKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the Honeymoon villa for three nights at Amori villa Ubud.

Simply, you could not get better service or accommodations at a seven star hotel.

There was never any fuss of having to sign cheques or mention what room you are in, everything was discreetly noted.

At times you felt like you had the whole place to yourself as it was so peaceful and intimate.

The staff went above and beyond to help with anything, even bandaging up a little scrape from a fall.

The food was very good and the open kitchen was a nice touch, I opted to stay in most nights and just enjoy the house menu.

We will be back every time we come to Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,195 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,074 reviews
2.0 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amori Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amori Villas

Address: Br. Dukuh, Pejeng Kawan, Ubud 80552, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £193 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amori Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amori Villas can be whatever you choose it to be - a luxury boutique hotel, a yoga and wellness spa retreat, or your secret hideaway for a relaxed holiday, romantic celebration or honeymoon. Or it can be your own exclusive-use villas, serviced by butlers and chefs, to share with family and friends. In harmony with one of Bali's three sacred rivers, Amori is designed for peaceful relaxation, with personal service which is more than you could ever expect. You can choose one of seven luxury suites or villas plus enjoy all the shared facilities and services of a 5-star resort, with amazing views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amori Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amori Villa Hotel Ubud
Amori Hotel Ubud
Amori Boutique Hotel Ubud
Amori Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing