We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Amori”
Review of Amori Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amori Villas
Ranked #3 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Returning to Amori was so wonderful & truly relaxing. Being pampered with in room massages and swimming in the infinity pool undid all of my stresses. All of the staff were incredible and made the stay perfect. This is definitely a favorite destination & a tranquil oasis!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nickiliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Amori Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and loved our experience. It's out of the beaten path and quiet. It's so beautiful and peaceful! We loved the staff, the chef, the managers, the owners were there with their family who were visiting each other, the drivers, the girls who gave massages, it was all great. The attention to detail of making your stay the best it can be was awesome. We chose to eat dinners here and were not disappointed at all. Recipes were even shared! The fruit drinks were delicious and the pool was inviting. Also, the owner was so helpful when my husband left the ATM card in the machine as he dropped everything and drove him in to try and retrieve it. (This as they were having a BBQ to celebrate a birthday. Thanks so much for coming to our aid so willingly and quickly. It was Heavenly! We found that the activities we wanted to do drove to pick us up from Amori without any problems!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deejayrussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

we picked Amori after reading the rave review from tripadvisor - due to our hobby and business requirements, we travel often over seas for work and pleasure trying out various hotels and villas around the globe, but we were somewhat disappointment as soon as we arrived the property. It is more like a family residency converted 5 suites boutique B&B hotel than a luxury villa resorts. however the owners have done a nice job with taste to make the best of it. it's located outside of Ubud inside of a local village, with a good 15-20 minutes drive if no traffic to down town. the property has a small infinity pool right beneath the front office/reception/public area/breakfast and dinning area. Rooms are sizable, with basic amenities but clean. we had difficulties with the mosquitoes, but the staff helped us some how overcome it and survived with 2 nights of good sleep.

As far as facility goes, we could only give the property a 3 1/2 star or 4 star. let alone there are plenty of luxury hotels /resorts around Ubud area alone - like the Four Seasons, COMO, and Chedi ( we stayed previously and very happy about it). As for the value, I am sure there are plenty smaller hotels/villas around Ubud with all the necessary basics, costing much less.

There is no fitness centre nor spa given it was converted then expanded from a private residency - breakfast was included, simple but healthy - one thing we do need mention is the local staff working on the ground, Musa (the driver) and Mosie & Aries (who worked at reception), they are very friendly and helpful, somehow made up the default. In short we felt the hotel is somewhat over rated and over priced.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank MXHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Love_Bali_Ubud, Owner at Amori Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We do not respond to all reviews but we do want to sincerely apologise to these guests because Amori was not what they expected and not what they believed to be good value for money. We also offer this detailed response as information for potential guests. One unhappy guest is too many for us. So how can we improve?
We cannot offer anything large as we are a small, boutique hotel in a river valley location. We do have an infinity pool which, at 14 metres long, is more than adequate for our capacity of 10-14 guests. We provide massages, facials, manicures and other spa services either in the privacy of our guest’s bedroom or a spare room, or by the pool, if preferred, but we do not have a separate spa building. Our response is to aim for all websites which describe Amori Villas so be very clear on the size of the hotel and the facilities we offer.
Less obvious from our website description is the concept of Amori Villas. Although we are not a converted family home, as suggested, we are certainly proud of the homely feel and service that we have created and instilled in our staff. We see this as our point of difference and what makes us special. Our Amori guests will always be treated as family. Our staff will try to understand your expectations and plans; your preferred food and beverage; where you come from and where you are going to. Are you at Amori to relax from months of hard work or are you wanting to see the highlights of Bali in 2-3 days?
Amori is located 4-5 kms from the centre of Ubud which we are quick to highlight as, for most of our guests, this is a distinct positive. While there are hotel options for those that wish to stay in the centre of Ubud, it will be difficult there to also find the peace, the views, the greenery, the birds and butterflies, the sound of the river and the cooling breezes which come up the valley and sweep across Amori each day. Our butlers happily drive guests in and out of Ubud town centre upon request and it usually takes just 10 minutes.
In terms of pricing, our room rates are deliberately kept 20-30% below those of our competitors such as the Chedi Club who also provide butler service. We continually review our pricing to ensure that we are very competitive but we will not compromise on the upkeep of the facilities and the number and quality of our staff. As a result, we believe that we have the best hospitality team in Ubud and we are very proud of this.
To be considered “over-rated” by any guest is incredibly disappointing for us. We understand that the rating which results from our Trip Advisor reviews is what our guests will benchmark us against. Our Trip Advisor rating is something of which we are very proud and we feel that it is justified. In fact, it is our quality control check and it drives our business. If the rating being referred to is the “5-star” adjective that we use on our website, then this is a more complex question. Our most simple response would be to remove it. In fact, Amori Villas does not have an official star rating. Many hotels in Ubud have chosen not be “rated” because the rating system disadvantages small properties set on the hillside. (It is too complex to explain in this forum.) So why do we use the term? To us, there is no better way to describe the quality standard that we set ourselves. If we fall short of this then we have failed to meet our own expectations and our guests can and will review us accordingly. With limited exceptions, we have performed very well by this measure. So why could we be considered below 5 star? Only, we suspect, if compared to large Singaporean-style “5-star” hotels, based on the facilities offered. Our response to that is that Amori Villa is, and will remain, a small, luxury, family-style hotel providing personal service from loving staff and passionate owners.
Rick & Peta Dunn, Owners, and staff
Amori Villas: Luxury Ubud Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved our stay at Amori! We have 2 small children (2 and 4) and the staff treated out kids like family. The property is beautiful, food was really good, rooms were top notch. The complimentary shuttle service in and out of town was efficient and always on time for pick ups. Mozie and Ari, the two hostesses at the property made our stay amazing! Any wish we had was taken care of with amazing care and effort. We hope to be back to Bali, and if we do, Amori will definitely be on our itinerary! Best stay we had during our entire 3 week trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EGreen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Amor is an amazing Villa and there is not one bad thing I could say about it! The views from the dinning and pool area are breathtaking. They have an infinity pool which looks out over the 'jungle'. I had the pleasure of viewing a few of the rooms and I must say they are all very unique and adorable, with an essence of relaxation and bliss. The rooms are very versatile, whether you are going for a family vacation, a girls trip or a couples trip.

They have a very good menu with lots of options and everything is delicious.

The staff are utterly amazing. They are very kind, sweet and informative. I can't say enough good things about the staff. They are there to help you with your every need. I would honestly go back just for the service they provided.

The location is very good. Just a short distance to the center of Ubud.

This was my second stay at Amori. The first time I stayed for around 10 days and this was a shorter trip. However on my longer trip there were days where I just relaxed at the Villa. It has such an amazing atmosphere.

I will absolutely be visiting again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanaTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Faultless from start to finish. After the relentless hum of Seminyak, Amori is rejuvenating. Beginning with an amazing welcome drink, the rooms are understated luxury with epic bathrooms. Tip...secure the double day bed on the edge of the valley and order the beef burger, your life will be changed for ever...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nice room design and very clean.Good location because it near the nature so the air is fresh.The staff is very helpful at all time and the view is beautiful.I love the swimming pool too,its big and good equipment at there.I give this hotel 5 Star and the price is acceptable too so got no complain for this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannyTheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,193 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,072 reviews
2.0 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amori Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amori Villas

Address: Br. Dukuh, Pejeng Kawan, Ubud 80552, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £195 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amori Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amori Villas can be whatever you choose it to be - a luxury boutique hotel, a yoga and wellness spa retreat, or your secret hideaway for a relaxed holiday, romantic celebration or honeymoon. Or it can be your own exclusive-use villas, serviced by butlers and chefs, to share with family and friends. In harmony with one of Bali's three sacred rivers, Amori is designed for peaceful relaxation, with personal service which is more than you could ever expect. You can choose one of seven luxury suites or villas plus enjoy all the shared facilities and services of a 5-star resort, with amazing views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amori Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amori Villa Hotel Ubud
Amori Hotel Ubud
Amori Boutique Hotel Ubud
Amori Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing