We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven! Can't wait to return next year :)”
Review of Villa Sabandari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Sabandari
Ranked #11 of 543 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven! Can't wait to return next year :)”
Reviewed 14 April 2011

A big thank you to the owner Dirk for creating a fabulous haven. The detail in this place is amazing not to mention the beautiful rice field views. Amazing service from all the staff.
Breakfast each morning on our balcony overlooking the rice fields will be hard to forget. I haven't felt more at peace as I have staying here. My favourite has to be the outside shower. Just fabulous :)
My husband and I arrived from Legian with an upset stomach and thanks to Dirk's help we were feeling great in no time.
The free shuttle into town was a blessing as we happen to get a few rainy days.
I look forward to our return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anasaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    24
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
260
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We loved the place, it is situated just out of the center of Ubud. It is a short walk to the lifely center of Ubud with a lot of restaurants to choose from. Villa Sabandari at the time we were there, did not have an option to have diner at their place, but we were told that soon this will be available again.
The resort itself it situated in the middle of the Sawa fields, which was a oasis for our eyes.
The room, the shower, the pool, all just perfect, all in harmony. We loved the place!
Also the transport option into Ubud was very well aranged! Good service!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo_Hartog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2011

fantastic location, atmosphere, service, garden, food, pool, view, rest - Bali with a capital B!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2011

***** Totally five star accom for me. While I love the hustle and bustle of Ubud, there's something special about knocking on the giant doors at Villa Sabandari and entering the quiet oasis within. There are just six villas here and the no-children policy was great for us as we left ours at home. Fantastic service, there's always a staff member on hand. I loved the free wifi internet with no stupid logins. I really loved the in-house driver who will take you into town for dinner (3mins away) and call later to have them pick you up! The pool is big enough for laps as is the bed in your villa! The only minor niggle is the toilet is behind a lockable door - ok in the middle of the day but if you're security conscious and want to lock yourself in at night, you have to turn the lock and open the door for a midnight visit to the loo. All in all this is as good as it gets in Ubud.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigersimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

What can we say what hasn't been said before? Superb location at only a few minutes from Ubud center. Best value for money a traveller can get. It is such a nice oasis of tranquility that one would immediately relocate to Villa Sabandari for the rest of their life. The staff are extremely service minded, so nice and gentle that indeed the guests wishes are their commands. We had our personalised breakfast at our room terrace every day, and no day was the same. The 4 'o clock afternoon tea is worth staying for at the villa, so we had ours almost every day at the swimming pool. The rooms are very very very nice and impeccably clean. Towels are changed each time they have been used. Their spa is very exquisite and the masseuse has golden hands (definitely a must-do). We did the 2 walks and the mountainbike tour which were set up by owner Dirk and his wife Saar, and were, amongst others, the highlights of our stay and a fantastic way to see the real Bali life. We used the free shuttle service daily to take us to Ubud center (2 minutes drive). The free Wi-Fi is also a plus. If you are planning to go to Bali, one should definitely stay at Villa Sabandari, you will not regret it. Heaven on earth really exisits....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deurne
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2011

After a four month budget trip through New Zealand and Australia, my partner and I decided to spoil ourselves on the way back home. We chose Villa Sabandari after reading its excellent reviews, and boy these are in no way exaggerated!
Immediately after our arrival we were welcomed by Dirk, the utterly friendly owner who guided us to a gem of a room on the first floor. Here we were overwhelmed by the modern day Balinese aspects mixed with Western quality standards, not to mention by the stunning view over the rice fields.
Furthermore, we enjoyed several spa treatments and swimming in the large pool. The staff is wonderful, attending to anything you need at all times. The availability of several marked walking and biking trails and the available mountain bikes are quite helpful to discover the beautiful surroundings of the Villa. At the end of our stay, we celebrated our fifth anniversary together. Dirk arranged a wonderful dinner, with care for every detail.
In summary, this is a place of dreams that exceeds every expectation!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesje_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Nang
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

If you want to relax in total peace, and in a spectacular setting, then just book in here and you won't be disappointed. It's like walking into a sanctuary. The villas are spacious, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, and the surrounding view of rice terraces and small temple is fantastic. What especially impressed us (apart from everything!) was the staff - discrete, kind, caring, and very professional. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was wonderful, and it was lovely to have breakfast and other meals served on your own balcony, or by the pool, or anywhere you wanted. Every meal we had was beautifully presented with great attention to detail paid to even the smallest feature, like the fruit decoration on the glass of juice. The afternoon tea was a delight, and added one more special touch to this amazing experience. Its location on the edge of Ubud makes for a wonderful setting, and a personal shuttle service to and from Ubud centre is available at all times. Everything about this place is top quality. Excellent!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVKDaNang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.0 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#37 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sabandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sabandari

Property: Villa Sabandari
Address: Jalan Pura Gunung Sari 4 | Banjar Ambengan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 543 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sabandari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel hidden in the rice fields, yet at walking distance from the center of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Sabandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sabandari Hotel Ubud
Villa Sabandari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing