We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute tranquility”
Review of Villa Sabandari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Sabandari
Ranked #6 of 604 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Sabandari is the perfect place to relax. Photos don't do this place justice, it is the most amazing setting overlooking the ricefields. The view from the infinity edge pool is mesmorizing.
The staff are fantastic, always polite and attentive, they are happy to drive you into Ubud and then come and pick you up when you are ready, although most is within walking distance. Breakfast was always a treat, the only decision was when & where you had it served. A nice touch on arrival along with the cold towels and fresh juice, the owner Dirk personally welcomes you and supplies a copy of the Lonely Planet Guide to Bali for use during your stay. We can't recommend Sabandari highly enough, we will definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sabandari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed in Villa Sabandari for a week, and had an amazingly relaxing week. The service is friendy and attentive while unobstrusive, and the owner is always present in the background if you want to plan trips or ask questions - the local staff are very very good but English is not their second language so if it's complex, speak to the owner. Saying that, the drivers were excellent and happily drove us around Ubud to various places, and their English is very good.

The location is lovely, a short walk out of Ubud and set in paddy fields, very peaceful and with that beautiful pool to lounge in while watching the locals working in the fields or listening to the sounds coming from the temple.

The rooms are large and very pleasant, with balconies for sitting quietly or enjoying afternoon tea or breakfast. We had dinner on the balcony one night, a good, simple meal served very discretely by one fo theattentive staff. This is not a huge hotel, it's very small and personal, so the breakfast and dinners are set meals, however the staff were very accomodating with food preferences and allergies,and the food was lovely.

A couple of small complaints we had were taken note of, by the owner, and appeared to be rectified very quickly.

We would happily go back toVilla Sabandari, and recomend it to anyone looking for a peacful retreat.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for Barong, it's got the best view and light of all the rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have just returned from five weeks in Bali where I had the pleasure of spending a few days at the Villa Sabandari with my husband prior to our return home. The small hotel is situated in a lovely rice paddy at the edge of Ubud, which gives it a far away feel...yet it's actually a very easy walk into town. We stayed in the Barong room, which was lovely. We loved the outdoor shower! The staff couldn't be nicer! We especially want to compliment the drivers who were always willing to take us into Ubud with a smile. The breakfast and afternoon tea were a delight, the food was well prepared and presented and offered a great variety. The room was very serene and light filled. I would perhaps suggest netting over the bed because we did have our wonderful geckos on the ceiling, who would sometimes leave remains on the bed! Also, ants seemed to love the bed, we would have to keep a constant vigil to keep them off in the evenings. Of course, being in Bali, small creatures in a room aren't big deal, but netting would solve the problem. You will thoroughly enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wafwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed! It is just far enough from the main town of Ubud to get away from the traffic and congestion but within easy walking distance. In addition, the staff will drive you into town with a little advance notice and we never waited more than 10 minutes. The location is gorgeous; we had Barong, on the top floor overlooking the rice paddies; it had the most light and the best view! Loved the breakfast and afternoon teas either in your room, the dining area or pool. Also took advantage of the driver/tour, the plotted out hikes, and Quiz Night (even though we "lost" on both evenings--a great way to meet other guests and some expats!) The staff was incredible! Very eager to help and quite friendly! We would both highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Ubud.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor have less light but there really isn't a bad room in the place!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

It is no accident that this lovely boutique hotel is highly rated. it comes close to perfection. We stayed her for four nights at Christmas and cancelled the last leg of our Bali vacation to return for two nights. Although we have traveled all over the world, we do not expect to ever stay at a more perfect "hotel.". There are only six rooms (all of which are nice) and you feel like you are the only ones there. The location is stunning. Fortunately it is about 5 minutes from the main street so you never hear the traffic noise. It sits in the middle of the most gorgeous rice paddies we saw anywhere in Bali--exceptionally quiet and sparkling green. Take the time to walk through them. The grounds are meticulously groomed and lovely. The attention to detail in every aspect is quite amazing. The rooms are lovely and extremely well-equipped. The service is exceptional. Quite surprisingly it is an excellent deal (at least by US standards). The price includes a very large, delicious breakfast, free transfer from the airport, a driver to take you where ever you want to go in Ubud, and if you stay three night,s a driver for a day to take you any where in Bali! The owners are very much in the background but extremely helpful if you need them. They arranged several trips for us and answered our many questions. The staff was very attentive but always in the background. One small caveat--although the staff tries very hard, their English is weak. If it is really important, speak to the owner. We ate one dinner on our terrace and it was excellent. Villa Sabandari really is as good as its reviews.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the two we stayed in are the best--2d floor overlooking the rice paddy and t...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrooklynTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed here for the last leg of our honeymoon in August 2011 and couldn't recommend the property more. We were interested in exploring Ubud (and less hanging around our hotel) but the tranquil villa left us with the feeling that we were the only guests around the place and had rented an entire vacation property. A few notes...the transfer service, pool, facilities, breakfasts and staff are lovely, however the property is extremely difficult to find if you don't specifically arrange a transfer with the owner first. Transfers are VERY efficient however it's handy to have a cell phone to use if you want to change timing. Many locals didn't know of the villa (other than the tourist office) therefore it was tricky to arrange our own transport upon arrival. Make sure to ask for restaurant recommendations...we were happy with each and every meal we had and the owner arranged for an excellent cooking class and provided great local information for interesting walking tours!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the ground floor adjacent to the pool and it was exceptional for it's vi...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schenker_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

...It definitely must be here!! Great, peaceful place just near the end of the Ubud-main street. Just hideaway in a small street up on a small hill. Nice view over the ricefields.
Once they open the door, you will step inside a real small gem. The entire service is great : from breakfast service till transfer into town in the evening; everything is good organised.
The rooms are 5-star with open-air shower, comfortable bed and great terrace/balcony.
The European owner is very helpful to advice and book excursions, restaurants,...
For those who are looking for a small (only 6 rooms) boutique hotel in a great setting with high class service : don't luck further!! This is what you are lucking for!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guyvangent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
767 reviews
1.3 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
1.2 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 199 in Ubud
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sabandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sabandari

Address: Jalan Pura Gunung Sari 4 | Banjar Ambengan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £80 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sabandari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel hidden in the rice fields, yet at walking distance from the center of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Sabandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sabandari Hotel Ubud
Villa Sabandari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing