We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cannot choose a better place in Ubud”
Review of Villa Sabandari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Sabandari
Ranked #11 of 539 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“You cannot choose a better place in Ubud”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just back from my stay at Villa Sabandari and OMG I have no words to say how perfect it was!
I am very picky when it comes to choose an hotel for my vacation and this time I have to say that i couldn't choose a better one!
First of all the place...an amazingly beautiful villa with just 6 suites just off the main street of central Ubud and set in front a beautiful rice field.
The architecture of the Villa could be described as a "modern balinese concept" and any detail is just perfect...It seemed to browse the Architectural Digest magazine!
Garden, Infinity pool, Rooms, Terraces, Bathrooms, Furnitures and anything else you could think about is super high quality and super beautiful.
Take a look at the picture gallery in their website and think that everything you see there is absolutely better seen in person!
Our suites was big and well furnished with a very nice leaving space and outside on the big balcony with table, chair and a comfy sofa. A well appointed modern bathroom with a typical outdoor shower completed the comfort of this fantastic suite.
Hospitality is also terrific...you cannot ask and get any better treatment.
Everything seems thought around your stay and you feel like you are staying in your own villa.
The staff is super nice and always smiling...they did an excellent job!
Ubud and surroundings are very beautiful but when we were sightseeing temples or even relaxing in a Spa we couldn't help thinking about going back and enjoying the pool and be treated like kings!
Breakfast is different every day but absolutely prepared according to your tastes and whishes.
It is also served at the time you like, where you like it and it is tasty and abundant.
For our 3 days stay we chose to have breakfast on our private terrace and we really enjoyed it.
In the afternoon they also serve a nice afternoon tea/coffee and great cakes/appetizers...once again everywhere you like to enjoy it!
As we stayed for 3 night we also got a free one day tour in private car and we decided to visit the north west part of Bali going to the beautiful temple on lake Beratan, the amazing rice fields of Jatiluwih and the Royal temple in Mengwi.
This offered tour was really a nice plus!
The rate you pay totally worth the value you get and I do suggest this place if you want to live a magnificent experience in the Ubud Area!
If you are still planning your trip to Bali, do not stay at Villa Sabandari less than 3 nights or you will regret it...trust me!
I keep thinking it was a perfect and unique stay and i would have stayed longer...now I am looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZjetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    24
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
260
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Villa Sabandari for a weekend and we were in heaven. We were so lucky to find this place; It is a small bed and breakfast, at the same time it has the same luxury feeling as a 5 star hotel; and just so much more cosy and romantic.They have put love into everything!!!
I love beauty and it made me so happy to be surrounded by it.
It is walking distance to the city center (15 min), nice walk, but they will drive you anywhere if you ask them to, the staff helped us to some great hiking in the area, that I would recommend to do, I had a great massage at their spa, we always looked forward to afternoon tea with home baked cakes.
If you stay here; your Ubud experience is going to be amazing, I guarantee you!!!

ps .....and the sweetest staff ever!! You will be in good hands!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjørg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Vila Sabandari for six nights. Loved it! The villa is absolutely gorgeous - a place you could imagine viewing in Luxe Magazine! Attention to detail is evident (cleanliness, immaculate groundskeeping, nice linens, twice daily housekeeping, turn down service, delicious morning breakfast and afternoon tea served on our villa balcony, large rooms, a car and driver to take us to town, prepared walking itineraries in the rice fields and through small villages, dining suggestions, all day island tour, soothing massage/spa). The staff was generous with their time and attention and friendly. The owner and his daughter were available and helpful. We learned a lot about Ubud and Bali from the entire staff. A five star experience. Highly recommended.
* Private driving tour service (Dewa Tours) available (well worth the money).
* Restaurants we loved in Ubud: Warund Enak, Batan Baru, Terazo, Tutmak Cafe and Ibu Oka (lunch), Nomad (dessert).

Room Tip: All rooms were the same size - check out the internet and choose a room that suits you (upstairs or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My daughter and I spent our final 4 days in Bali in Ubud. After moving around quite a bit, Sabandari felt like an oasis of serenity and greenery, surrounded by perfectly manicured gardens, a beautiful pool and overlooking rice fields and coconut palms. We had a very pleasant room opening out onto the pool and with a view of the rice field on the side. We were welcomed by Dirk, the owner and made to feel at home right away. Always smiling and helpful, the discreet staff were fantastic and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The drivers were available until 10.30 pm to drop us off and pick us up at Ubud, and we both thoroughly enjoyed our massages. We were well fed for the included meals, breakfast and tea, which we chose to have on our terrace. What makes this place so special? In addition to everything already mentioned, it was the feeling of staying in a (dream) home away from home as opposed to an hotel. It was by far our favourite location in Bali and I would definitely go back and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineBanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viseu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Amazing hotel, very helpful staff. The breakfast and afternoon tea were simply amazing. You can use the hotel's bikes to cycle in and around Ubud. This was where I proposed to my fiancee, and will always be an ever-lasting location. If I return in Ubud I'll stay there for sure! (thanks to the hotel staff for preparing such a romantic surprise)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiagoav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at 3 hotels while we were in Ubud. Our second hotel was not what we expected, so we needed to change hotels quickly, and we called Dirk at Villa Sabandari. He sent a driver to pick us up, even just to have a look. The difference was noticeable, starting with the car-it's a newish, well maintained, comfortable vehicle. When we arrived, we were shown each room that was available. Staying here was the best thing we did on our trip.

The Villa is a few minutes drive from the center, close enough to be convenient, far enough to be quiet. The rooms are bright and well maintained. There weren't any mosquitos around to bother us while we enjoyed the outdoor shower. Each room feels private, but very open. The decor is modern and clean. Each of the rooms (there are only 6) has a nice verandah to relax on, and eat breakfast or have a drink if you like. There are also nice common areas to enjoy the view and the peace and quiet. I do appreciate being able to have a drink by the pool (this wasn't available at the other hotels we booked, perhaps because alcohol is quite expensive in Bali). We did not have dinner, but found the breakfasts good (a bit more bread than I like, not always enough of other things on some days), and the light lunch options were enough to fill you up if you decide to stay during the day. The spa was more expensive than other options we used, but clean and pleasant. The staff are helpful, friendly and unobtrusive. I definitely recommend this hotel if you are going to Ubud!

Room Tip: They are all good! If you like a view, there are 2 that overlook on the rice fields at one side. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loerrach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Villa Sabandari is a wonderful place and a hideaway in Bali. Very friendly people and staff and outstanding service.

The Villa is more a private stay than a hotel. Definitely the place to be if want to stay in a quiet place yet close to the heart of Ubud.

Enjoy the breakfast and the afternoon tea in the reception area or in your room. The pool is wonderful located and offers also great views.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EinRuheloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.0 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#29 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#70 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sabandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sabandari

Property: Villa Sabandari
Address: Jalan Pura Gunung Sari 4 | Banjar Ambengan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 539 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sabandari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel hidden in the rice fields, yet at walking distance from the center of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Sabandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sabandari Hotel Ubud
Villa Sabandari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing