We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place, but specify what room you are in”
Review of Villa Sabandari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Sabandari
Ranked #6 of 602 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Definitely specify which room you are getting. We were in the Lebong room. It is dark, and you need to crane your neck to see the rice paddies. It has a walkway running next to it along the side and also the walkway along the front to the upper level rooms, so you have a lot of foot traffic past the room. From reading the other reviews there are bath tubs in some rooms. It also only has air conditioning, not a fan. Which is probably fine for most people, but sleeping in a/c for me is not my personal preference. They probably should consider two tiers of pricing, as this room was quite disappointing.

From what I could see, there are 3 rooms which looked to be worth the price. These are the rooms on the upstairs level, and the room on the ground level overlooking the rice fields. The other two rooms overlook the pool, and when you sit out the front you have people walking by. It is a very small place, so not a huge problem. The room we were in, the Lebong room, sadly for us! - is probably the worst of the lot.

Otherwise, a nice place!! The location is good, and the breakfast is different every day. The pickups, free driver for the day, and service generally is really nice. You need to specify your breakfast time, which of course is needed for the staff to prepare. However, if you are 10 minutes late, expect a phone call inquiring where you are. Not the most relaxing approach for the unplanned sleep in! Having said this, I stress again, the staff were lovely.

I have put is as a good rating, as we came with such good expectations from having read the rooms. I think if we had been in a different room, then the experiences of the other reviews would have been repeated.

Room Tip: Choose the two upstairs rooms, or the downstairs room which over looks the rice paddies.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LotzOfStamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sabandari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

An absolutely incredible experience. Upon arriving ultimate serenity surrounds you, as Dirk, your host welcomes you. When seeing your room you are immediately impressed with the luxurious simplicity and the amenities to meet your every need. Every cell in your body begins to relax. Not to be missed are the superb dinners. Whatever is being served that evening, you may rest assured that it will be perfection, from preparation to service. If you are lucky enough to be there for Quiz Night, be sure to participate for an entertaining ex-pat experience. An indescribable level of excellence awaits at the Sabandari to meet your every need, from the infinity pool to the spa to the car service for the short ride to town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was the third place we stayed on our honeymoon, and our favourite. The location is convenient for walking into town, but also really secluded. The rice paddies had recently been harvested, which meant we looked onto muddy ponds, but the setting was still beautiful. Our room was gorgeous with a great outdoor bathtub and shower, and really comfy bed. The staff here were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and they were always smiling. The breakfasts changed every day which was a nice touch, and afternoon tea was an ndulgent treat. We enjoyed borrowing the mountain bikes to follow one of the suggested routes, and also went for a walk around the rice paddies which was really interesting. The free shuttle into town was really handy for going out for dinner in the evening. It was my husband's birthday while we were there, and the staff made lovely decorations, and gave him a cake and sang - a lovely gesture.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I can't say enough wonderful things about Villa Sabandari. Pictures simply don't capture the true magic of this special place. My husband and I stayed here in early May. Tucked away from the hustle of main street Ubud, Sabandari sits atop a hill overlooking rice fields. It's just close enough to town to easily go shopping or eat in Ubud, but far enough away to feel like a beautiful escape. The architecture, details (outdoor shower, incredible swimming pool, and breakfast on our balcony being highlights) are simply wonderful. This place is so cozy and romantic and was by far our favorite place in Bali. The owners are beyond lovely, and arranged airport transport, welcome shoulder massage, a one day tour with driver to anywhere in Bali (we did Central Bali - Beautiful!) and helped with Ubud transport when we needed it. This is a 6 room B&B with the feel of 5 star luxury. We had zero complaints and find ourselves daydreaming about being back there. Trip Advisor gets it right again - we LOVED Sabandari!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are GREAT- the two best being the ones that sit right against the rice fields. You won'...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rckchlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Look no further – you cannot do better than this or improve upon Villa Sabandari

We were fortunate enough to choose Sabandari to spend a few nights while we explored Ubud and it was a superb choice. It is everything all the 5 star reviewers have said about it. Just look at the photos! It is like having your own private movie star residence in a heavenly location with full service and a chauffeur (for local area) It is just perfect, beautiful, comfortable, and romantic. We had the upper end unit overlooking the rice field and pool and after showering under the stars could spend hours lounging on the deck enjoying the quiet view after a tiring day exploring busy Ubud. The owner Dirk and staff were most efficient and charming and made you feel sincerely welcome; always most accommodating to your desires – whether it be for food, drinks, or suggestions on places to visit. While we only enjoyed the included breakfasts at Sanbandari, which was always good and healthy, we heard from other guests that the dinners were exceptional and sorry we missed out.

The location is great as you are away from the noise and hubbub of Ubud, but close enough that you can easily walk from the Villa to Ubud to explore the many shops, restaurants, open markets, and galleries (don’t miss Antonio Blanco’s), although they will want to drive you and pick you up. Dirk also arranged a driver for us for a custom world wind all day tour of Bali.

I cannot say enough good things about this stay. I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mchcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just back from my stay at Villa Sabandari and OMG I have no words to say how perfect it was!
I am very picky when it comes to choose an hotel for my vacation and this time I have to say that i couldn't choose a better one!
First of all the place...an amazingly beautiful villa with just 6 suites just off the main street of central Ubud and set in front a beautiful rice field.
The architecture of the Villa could be described as a "modern balinese concept" and any detail is just perfect...It seemed to browse the Architectural Digest magazine!
Garden, Infinity pool, Rooms, Terraces, Bathrooms, Furnitures and anything else you could think about is super high quality and super beautiful.
Take a look at the picture gallery in their website and think that everything you see there is absolutely better seen in person!
Our suites was big and well furnished with a very nice leaving space and outside on the big balcony with table, chair and a comfy sofa. A well appointed modern bathroom with a typical outdoor shower completed the comfort of this fantastic suite.
Hospitality is also terrific...you cannot ask and get any better treatment.
Everything seems thought around your stay and you feel like you are staying in your own villa.
The staff is super nice and always smiling...they did an excellent job!
Ubud and surroundings are very beautiful but when we were sightseeing temples or even relaxing in a Spa we couldn't help thinking about going back and enjoying the pool and be treated like kings!
Breakfast is different every day but absolutely prepared according to your tastes and whishes.
It is also served at the time you like, where you like it and it is tasty and abundant.
For our 3 days stay we chose to have breakfast on our private terrace and we really enjoyed it.
In the afternoon they also serve a nice afternoon tea/coffee and great cakes/appetizers...once again everywhere you like to enjoy it!
As we stayed for 3 night we also got a free one day tour in private car and we decided to visit the north west part of Bali going to the beautiful temple on lake Beratan, the amazing rice fields of Jatiluwih and the Royal temple in Mengwi.
This offered tour was really a nice plus!
The rate you pay totally worth the value you get and I do suggest this place if you want to live a magnificent experience in the Ubud Area!
If you are still planning your trip to Bali, do not stay at Villa Sabandari less than 3 nights or you will regret it...trust me!
I keep thinking it was a perfect and unique stay and i would have stayed longer...now I am looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZjetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Villa Sabandari for a weekend and we were in heaven. We were so lucky to find this place; It is a small bed and breakfast, at the same time it has the same luxury feeling as a 5 star hotel; and just so much more cosy and romantic.They have put love into everything!!!
I love beauty and it made me so happy to be surrounded by it.
It is walking distance to the city center (15 min), nice walk, but they will drive you anywhere if you ask them to, the staff helped us to some great hiking in the area, that I would recommend to do, I had a great massage at their spa, we always looked forward to afternoon tea with home baked cakes.
If you stay here; your Ubud experience is going to be amazing, I guarantee you!!!

ps .....and the sweetest staff ever!! You will be in good hands!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjørg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,193 reviews
0.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
764 reviews
1.3 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
1.2 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 199 in Ubud
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sabandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sabandari

Address: Jalan Pura Gunung Sari 4 | Banjar Ambengan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 602 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £81 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sabandari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel hidden in the rice fields, yet at walking distance from the center of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Sabandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sabandari Hotel Ubud
Villa Sabandari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing